We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"If only"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Asur /Assyrian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Asur /Assyrian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"If only"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I found the wooden frame and wood slat beds so hard - and after three nights of little sleep I had to speak to the receptionists. They did their best for me by trying to pad up the bed using a blanket and cardboard which did help. I then padded it up further with the blanket in the room every night. I would go back if the beds had sprung mattresses as the waiting, cleaning and office staff as well as the setting and location of this hotel is superb. The unfortunate issue about the lovely stray dogs was in the process of being resolved as they were being taken to a rescue centre on the day we left.

Room Tip: All rooms are compact but adequate for a holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    45
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
106
307
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this small, friendly, family run hotel six times. We are fortunate enough to have a couple of holidays a year and this hotel has been our comfort zone since our first visit in 2006.

The outside areas and garden are beautifully kept and there are always sufficient sun loungers etc. for the number of guests. The gardens lead down to the river and the jetty is a very relaxing spot with a couple of swing chairs in which to chill out and watch the world go by on the river.

The chalet style rooms are small but adequate when you consider that the majority of your time is spent outside. Each room has its own little terrace with table and chairs.

You can walk into the town - around 5 mins until you hit the first of the restaurants. Never really timed it but I would anticipate another 10 mins to the main square but with plenty to keep you entertained en route it never seems a chore.

I was shocked to read the comments regarding the treatment of animals at the hotel......I have never witnessed anything but kindness towards the odd stray dog/cat that enter the hotel grounds. At worst, I have seen the odd stray being shooed away from the breakfast area but never with cruelty.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank teapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We chose this hotel for our first visit to Turkey based on the reviews here. Hotel Asur is absolutely beautiful. The grounds are stunning, with hammocks and chairs and a jetty on to the river. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The staff are helpful and friendly. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the start of town, where there are plenty of places to eat. The breakfasts are quite good, with a fair amount of choice, and omlettes and pancakes cooked freshly to order. Our Thomas Cook rep, Huseyn, was extremely helpful in organising trips and meals.

The only downsides were that it would have been nice to have more breakfast options e.g. pastries and croissants and fresh juices, and that the beds in the rooms were extremely hard and uncomfortable (we were initially put in the wrong room and moved the next day, and both matresses were the same!). We dined once at the hotel for dinner and the food was only average (vegetarian options not very good).

Overall, we would recommend this hotel and would certainly return. Dalyan is a fantastic holiday destination, with plenty of things to do, places to see and excellent cafes and restaurants. The local people could not have done more for us and made us feel very welcome.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmaR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Cleaners worked very hard. Good views nice staff. Great bar man in apartments. Food not so good but good service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjjowsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed for a week at the start of June 2012 and were very pleased with our choice of hotel.

Accomodation: We stayed in the 'hotel' part (not the larger apartments), although in reality it's not so much a hotel as several individual 'chalets' of one room. These rooms are small-ish (about 15ft by 15ft octagonal) with an additional bathroom - but plenty big enough for a couple. Clean, tidy and a nice carved wooden ceiling which gives it a bit of character. It's located on the river about 10 to 15 mins walk to the main centre of Dalyan.

Grounds: large, clean, quiet pool right next to the accomodation, with plenty of sun loungers. Free towels to use. Bar close to pool selling hot and cold snacks, ice cream, soft drinks and alcohol. To get out of the sun there is a shady garnen of trees with several hammocks to can relax in. The hotel has its own jetty, again with plenty of seating, where you can look out over the river and watch the boats go by. A good place to catch the sun.

Facilities: Very generous, they do not try to charge you for this and that all the time, which makes a refreshing change. Free safe in room. Free air con in room. Free wifi which covers pretty much the whole of the grounds, not just your room. Internet room with free use of computers, if you need them. Breakfast/eating area was pleasant and shady. Free boat from jetty to beach twice a week. free use of hotel's bicycles, I used one and it wasn't in the best shape but it did the job and is free so no complaints.The breakfast won't win any Michelin stars for quality BUT it is varied (cereal, omlette, pancakes, bread, meat, cheese, fruit, sausage, egg, beans etc) and plentiful, so decent enough. The staff could not be more helpful when it comes to giving advice and helping with any questions, not just the owner and reception staff, but the waiters, cleaners etc - very nice people.

One last thing - there are 4 dogs in the grounds and a couple of cats, all are friendly and great fun to have around and add to the family atmosphere of the Asur.

All in all, a lovely hotel, glad we chose it, would stay again if we were to go back to Dalyan.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Axelariat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Fridges and kettles in rooms. Pool and beach towels provided. Rooms cleaned and fresh towels daily. Owner on site and available to talk with. Staff polite and helpful. Enough sunbeds. Beautiful garden, with hammocks, swing seats, jetty and more sunbeds. Rooms are smallish, but comparable with other hotels in Turkey. It may be a walk too far into town for the less able in the heat of the summer, but we enjoyed it last week.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tumelthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Hotel Asur is beautifully set out in pretty gardens on one level over four blocks of linked octagonal rooms. Each room has a small verandah with table and chairs outside. Inside it's like walking into your Turkish granny's parlour; there's an intricately carved ceiling, shelves full of oil lamps and waterpipes, and net curtains at the windows.
The rooms are quite small but well-equipped with everything we needed; safe, fridge, kettle, phone, and tv. The shower was efficient and the good quality towels were plentiful. If you take everything with you when you travel be aware the wardrobes aren't very big (there are drawers too). Free internet is available in a separate building (take your mozzie spray in there with you).
Everything was spotless, and we've never met such friendly domestic staff on holiday before.
The pool was lovely, a decent size with a small area sectioned off for toddlers, and there were always plenty of sunloungers and towels available.
The food was good - a wide selection of freshly cooked choices on the a la carte menu, and the usual buffet breakfast of toast, cereal, bread, yogurt, jams, honey, cakes, meats, cheese and eggs or pancakes cooked to order.
The bar, located by the pool, was well-used but never particularly rowdy durin our stay.
All the staff were smiley and friendly, even when we couldn't make them understand what we were saying (must learn to speak Turkish!).
The location is just lovely; you can walk through the pretty gardens to the hotel's own jetty and sit in a rocking chair to gaze at the beautiful reed-bordered Dalyan river and watch the boats ply up and down. Three times a week (weather permitting) you can board the hotel's own boat for a free trip to the beach.
It's a walk of about 800 metres to where the restaurants and bars lead into the centre of town, although there is a very good fish restaurant opposite the hotel if you're feeling lazy and don't want to eat in the Asur.
We had a lovely time at Hotel Asur, and would be happy to stay there again, although having looked around the Hotel's other accommodation at the Asur apartments, we might stay there next time purely for the extra space.

Room Tip: We switched from a twin bedded room to a double room after a few days. Our first room was near recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gapdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
1.2 mi away
Safak Apart & Hotel
Safak Apart & Hotel
#1 of 63 in Dalyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#16 of 63 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
#6 of 63 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berg Hotel
Berg Hotel
#18 of 63 in Dalyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
1.2 mi away
Dalyan Garden Pension
Dalyan Garden Pension
#10 of 63 in Dalyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asur /Assyrian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asur /Assyrian Hotel

Property: Hotel Asur /Assyrian Hotel
Address: Maras Mah. Guruncu Mevki No:13 | No13 Ortaca/Muğla, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
#1 Spa Hotel in Dalyan
#11 Family Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Asur /Assyrian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Asur /Assyrian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Asur Assyrian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing