We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Time at the Assur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asur Hotel & Aparts & Villas
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing Time at the Assur”
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Lyn and myself arrived at the Assur on a very hot Friday afternoon, the setting of the hotel is great being the last hotel on the river to the south of the town. The room itself though small was adequate for our stay, and the decor of the room was nice. The bathroom in particular had an extremely efficient shower - just what is needed to wash all the suntan lotion off before going out for the night. After unpacking we made our way to the poolside bar, well I know some people have complained a bit about the music from the bar though I myself never experienced this. The barman at the time generally had the volume at such a level that this would not be heard from the rooms, and in general at this time of year the bar could be shut before we got back to our rooms after a night out. For some people I would say that the noise of the crickets at night is far louder, and more persistent, my wife witnessed one guest shaking a bush outside his room because the crickets were driving him barmy. I prefer to think of the noise of crickets as a little bit of night music singing myself to sleep, viewed like that then they are not an annoyance.
Our first night we decided to eat at the hotels reataurant. Lyn and myself both had the fillet steak in mushroom sauce. This was extremely tasty, and the head waiter reccomended a very good local Turkish wine to go with this. The hotel prices for food seemed to be extemely competitive with what could be found in town. However, as I am a bit of a foody and wanted to try other places in town this was the only time we ate at the hotel in the evening. The walk into town is a pleasant 15 minute stroll.
There is no need to take beach towels as these are provided by the hotel, just make sure you get to the cupboard where these are kept early to secure the better ones. The pool area looked marvelous, though Lyn and myself did not ever once go in the pool, instead preferring the beach and the sea. The hotel provides 3 time a week (Sundays / Tuesdays / Thursdays) a free river boat trip to the beach leaving at 10:15 and returning at 13:15. This may not seem like long, but after 13:15 the big ships come in from Marmaris unpacking hoards of holiday makers and turning a lovely quiet beach into something else!
For myself a particular pleasant part of my stay was mornings at the jetty before breakfast, just relaxing and watching the world go by. From here one could see on many occasions wildlife such as Kingfishers and Marsh Harriers. The river itself had many fish to the delight of the local hotel cats who would eat the fish caught by other guests. The stars of the hotel menagerie at the time I was staying were the 6 kittens who lived in the grounds, though my own personal favourite was the big ginger tom who was always down by the jetty. Just behind the jetty were nice quiet gardens with hammocks for those wanting to escape the sun a bit and relax.
Breakfast at the hotel was excellent, there was a wide variety to chose from and in particular the omelettes and pancakes went down a treat.
Our stay at the Assur was extemely relaxing, just what we were looking for and I would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mnbHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    47
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
108
319
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We had a lovely stay during September and will always have fond memories staying in the Azur Hotel. We arrived in the early hours of Saturday morning and were quickly shown to our compact but lovely room. They are small but there is enough room to be comfortable for two weeks....the more you pack, the more difficult it becomes. So, if you can travel light, all the better. Whils't my better half sorted things out (her speciality) I wandered down to the jetty, just as dawn was breaking, to see the glorious gardens and river. I wasn't disappointed...and neither was my wife when she came down later.....with a beautiful veiw across and down the river. We actually spent quite a lot of time down on the jetty chilling out and also on the amazing hammocks in the gardens (the double one is best) which afforded some shade in the afternoons.
The pool was smashing and was cleaned thoroughly every morning by a well organised staff.....not just a single chap plodding round but by the whole staff, maids and all.
Breakfasts were excellent. If you couldn't find something there to satisfy your appetite you would have to be very pernickity. Particularly enjoyable were the omelettes and pancakes which were made to order.....must admit to visiting the omelette station more than once. While on the subject of food, if like me you couldn't walk into town every night, then the meals served in the restaurant in the evenings were also very good and compared quite favourably with the town restaurants. (The lamb on Sunday evenings is EXCELLENT).
The staff were brilliant. Very attentive (particularly with myself as I was hobbling around on crutches for the fortnight) and couldn't do enough for the guests. Nothing was too much trouble and they would always be willing to go the extra mile to ensure all were happy. Rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day with fresh linen changed very regularly (if not everyday....cannot check as other half isn't here).
On the downside (and I think it was only due to my crutches) I became extremely tired at having to walk the 10 to15 minutes into town and back in the evenings for dinner. Not the hotels fault, it is a little way but the road is a good one.
There was unfortunately some noise coming from the pool side bar at night, and on the odd occassion it went on till quite late (02.00 a.m). Some rooms would find it more disturbing than others, depending on their position. Sorry, we are not party-poopers, but if it's early to bed you're looking for you could be in for a shock if your room is close to the bar.
Having said all that, we would definitely return to the Azur if we were to holiday in Dalyan again, but would ensure to book a room away from the bar.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank casbar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Just returned from a two week stay at this hotel and I have to say it is first class. On arrival at 4.00am we were greeted by two friendly, warm and welcoming staff members who very quickly sorted the formalites and got us to our room, no lenghty waiting or officaldom here, and the same can be said for the rest of the staff, friendly, efficient and professional and ably led by Habib (my big brother)

The rooms whilst compact and bijou are perfectly adequate, spotlessy clean throughout the stay and everything worked.

We ate in the restaurant twice during our stay and the food was superb, the Leg of Lamb night is a must for meat eaters, (never had lamb tasting so good) and great value at around £25 for two people. Breakfast is superb with an array of delights to suit the most discerning of tastes.

The grounds and pool are idillic and perfect for relaxing and switching off and if you fancy a trip to the beach there is a free boat from the hotel jetty three times a week.

Dalyan is a fantastic resort to visit and their is plenty to explore, great for walkers, but if you are going to tackle Kanous do it in the early morning (otherwise its too hot).

All in all this is the best holiday hotel I have ever visited, and we cannot wait until we return next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canary70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

This was our first sun holiday and we loved it. The extra expense compared to other hotels i think was worth it. It was exactly what we wanted, Quiet but close to town and plenty of activities.
The hotel was clean, bright, breakfast was great. The staff were great and always helpful. The facilities were great with free WiFi as well as an internet room with 3 computers, hammocks, swings and plenty of plastic seating. There is also an onsite Turkish Bath and Masseur fo a small cost but its well worth it. Get the turksih bath the first day so your tan can build up.
Downside was the room was compact and the bathroom was certainly compact expecialy for me. The meals in the hotel were expensive and the lamb was not worth the cost (the land is a waste there are so many good restaurants on the way to town. Turning right out of the hotel past the apartments the land is a waste land and awful but its a shorter way to town.
Great place and wish we had stayed longer than a week. Hope to be going back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darknessfalls09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Asur (should definitely have stayed for two weeks). It was one of the best holidays that we have had. What a beautiful setting, right on the river. So peaceful and relaxing. First time in Turkey and definitely must have picked one of the best resorts. Local people are some of the nicest and friendliest on the planet.
Breakfast at the hotel was brilliant . The hotel rooms may be a bit tight for storage but everything else about them made up for this. They are so quaint and very very clean. The gardens are absolutely beautiful with plenty of places to sit in the shade if necessary and also the hammocks in the gardens are a very nice touch. The staff at the hotel are so helpful and friendly and go out of their way to assist you. Not forgetting their two lovely Spaniels! A place you will fall in love with.
Food in the restaurants in Dalyan really good with plenty to choose from and the service equally good.
Our favourite restaurants were Saffron and Caretta Caretta (both on the river). Also had brilliant meals at Barbeque Garden and Sini.
The best trip of our week was definitely the Jeep Safari (with Brilliant Tours). Prepare to get wet but the most brilliant fun. Also 12 islands cruise, the Gorge and a trip across to Kaunos. Lovely meals included with all our trips. Couldn't fault them.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbag88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Have recently returned from this hotel. Had a good week, but after reading the rave reports, must admit was rather disappointed. Rather than waffle on, have listed in simple terms, the good and then the bad points.

Good Points
1. Clean and spotless
2. Lovely garden - lovely setting by river, and always plent of sunbeds./hammocks.
3. Lovely pool of good size and always sufficient sun beds and free pool towels
4. Free internet access in internet room
5. Good buffet breakfast (in my experience Turkey is not usually very good on breakfasts) - - omlettes were particularly good.
6. Owner was constantly in attendance with watchful eye on his staff - particularly in restaurant
7. General nice appearance of hotel.
8. Free bike hire (if required)
9. Friendly staff - cleaning staff were always around
10. Fresh towels every day

Bad points
1. Small, dark, cluttered very poky bedrooms with little storage space.
2. No proper comfortable lounge/bar. The only bar was the pool bar, which after spending day outside in sun and heat, it would have been nice to escape to comfortable chairs in an air conditioned lounge/bar.
3. Rather unpleasant bar attendant who actually asked my husband "how many women he had had". Apparently the bar attendant had had over 200 - we really did not wish to know that
4. On arrival at the hotel, you arrive at the kitchen entrance - the hotel did not really seem to have a front to it although reception is round the side.
5. The whole hotel (including restaurant and rooms) are outside - there is no proper "building" as such. This is nice in some ways, but after a few days, we did begin to feel that we were "luxury camping"
6. Rather scruffy road to walk on up to from Dalyan to the hotel -
7. As many Dalaman flights are night time, although the hotel does offer late check outs, we were first quoted 30 TL and then when it came to it, we were charged 60TL.
8. DO NOT book for the Sunday lamb dinner. This was a rip off. One other table actually sent their lamb back saying the sheep must have been on a diet! Ours was particuarly stringy and not at all pleasant to eat - cannot remember how much it cost, but it was expensive and no where near worth the money - We did not have dinner in the hotel again.
9. Constant loud daytime music from pool bar. We escaped to the jetty by the river!

We did enjoy the week and would say that this hotel is best suited for couples of all ages who want a nice relaxing holiday with no loud music or rowdies. We will not be returning as we have stayed in other hotels nearby which have had a better all round "ambience" - but would generally recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovelyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We recently stayed at asur hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained..
This hotel is the perfect place for a perfect relaxing holiday. We ate at the hotel on our
first evening and the food was fine. We chose to eat out on other nights as we liked to walk into the town which is about 15min walk.
One of the bonuses of asur is definately the jetty where we sat most mornings and watched the turtles and wildlife bliss
We spent lunchtime at the bar where Mustafa and his sidekick ahmed kept us amused.
All in all a perfect holiday in a perfect place.We will be back for sure

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexHappyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Calbis
Holiday Calbis
#2 of 64 in Dalyan
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#15 of 64 in Dalyan
399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sedir Resort
Sedir Resort
#7 of 64 in Dalyan
167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Calypso Plus
Hotel Calypso Plus
#16 of 64 in Dalyan
276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Club Alla Turca
Club Alla Turca
#12 of 64 in Dalyan
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asur Hotel & Aparts & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asur Hotel & Aparts & Villas

Property: Asur Hotel & Aparts & Villas
Address: Dalyan Mahallesi, 116 Sokak No: 13, Dalyan 48840, Turkey (Formerly Hotel Asur /Assyrian Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
#1 Spa Hotel in Dalyan
#11 Family Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Asur Hotel & Aparts & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Asur Hotel & Aparts & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Asur Assyrian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing