We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riverside Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
shepperton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Riverside Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Hotel is in idyllic setting - I just couldn't believe my luck. Its right by a beautiful river as the name suggests.and a pleasant 10 min walk along the riverside to Dalyan. Accommodation is simple but spotless and the staff are friendly and helpful. Lovely buffet breakfast and evening food pretty good too. I'll be back - can't wait! Its first and foremost a singles hotel (TravelOne group) but there were couples staying as well. I went with the singles group and can honestly say I had one of the best holidays ever. I was lucky to be with a really terrific group of singles and we were very well looked after by TravelOne's rep Bill (Thanks again Bill - see you next year!)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BorgiaShepperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    61
    4
    8
    5
See reviews for
29
62
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

The hotel was very basic, but incredibly clean and the staff could not have been more helpful. I think the hotel has changed managemnt since last year and the new managers will do everything they can to make you feel welcome. The rooms are all bungalows with only one or two steps up to the entrance. It is a great location next to the river. The walk into town takes anout 30 minutes at a gentle pace. Give it a go. I'll go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mags733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

I can not praise The Riverside enough. This was my 4th visit and it will not be my last. It is peaceful relaxing and friendly, could not wish for more.
Food very good and catered well for any dietary needs. Rooms basic but comfortable and clean. What more do you want?!! The setting of the Hotel is beautiful as are the grounds. On a Saturday the Hotel organizes a Beach Bar-B-Q. A trip down the river on their boat.to the Iztuzu Beach. Watch the most amazing sunset, and eat the most delicious B-B-Q....Mezes, meat , fish (freshly caught).
A magical place that draws me back year after year.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacquie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

My two daughters (12 and 16) and I returned from The Riverside Hotel less than 2 weeks ago, after an amazing fortnight there. I chose the hotel and location because it offers a tranquil, up-stream river location - away from the crowds - with stunning scenery and wildlife. The hotel exceeded expectations for me: not only was it all one would want (very clean, personable and friendly), the staff members really were like a family and had probably as much fun alongside us as we did, and were exceptionally caring and hard-working. Couldn't recommend it more highly - and the fellow travellers there were a really interesting and discerning bunch, too - including some Turkish visitors who were wonderful traditional musicians. Utter bliss!

interesting bunch

Room Tip: Basic but lovely accommodation - don't expect anything luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Riverside Hotel. Can't speak too highly of it. If your expecting 4 or 5* treatment then don't come here. If you want a totally relaxing and chill out holiday this is the place for you. Rooms are small but spotlessly clean. Set in lovely tropical gardens leading down to the waters edge. We stayed on a half board basis. Food was good but repetitive. Cooked fresh every night outside in the clay oven. Breakfasts were plentiful with a good choice of traditional Turkish cuisine. All the staff are very helpful but they could do with a few more bartenders as most of the time there was no one there as they were tending to all other aspects of managing the hotel. The walk into Dalyan from the hotel gardens is very relaxing and takes about 5-10 minutes and is very picturesque. This hotel is suitable for singles, couples and families. Very peaceful. We stayed there the first 2 weeks of august and it was lovely at that time..not to loud..no hustle and bustle of big hotels too. We thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys peace and quiet. We stayed in a 5* all inclusive hotel in Marmaris in April and this hotel knocks spots of it.
Travelled as a family of 3.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danikaiandebbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Just spent two wonderful weeks at the Riverside.Do not take any notice of the reviews posted when this hotel was called the Calypso.The setting is fantastic,with it's own jetty where you eat your meals or while away a few hours reading or just watching the fish, turtles or boats .Less than a ten minute walk to Dalyan town ,with all its bars and restaurants, along a well lit path by the river.
The food was adequate with a good selection for breakfast to set you up for the day.
The bar stayed open as long as people were drinking,we enjoyed a few late ones.
You can hire the hotel boat for a trip and they do a great boat trip/barbecue on a saturday night .Well worth the money with a choice of meats and 20 meze's to choose from.
Alp , Umur, Mehmet ,Ufuk and cookie were always up for a laugh and we had some fun with my attempts at speaking certain Turkish phrases.Nothing was too much trouble for them.The rooms were kept clean and tidy and beds and towels changed every couple of days.The pool is big enough and not too deep , there was always enough beds although a few more umbrellas would be nice.This is as good a hotel that we have stayed at in Turkey with this star rating and we have stayed in lots.
We will be going back for sure. Give it a go , you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: We had a room by the bar and pool but were not affected by any noise from either.I imagine the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kev_xjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Made the booking online, but did not put a special request for a twin room so when we arrived at 2am, we were allocated a double room, which we refused, as not appropiate for two girls. We were offered triple room for the night and moved to a twin room in the morning. The room was clean, basic and very small. Too small for two girls, there was not enough closet space, the mirror was above the bed and the lighting bad..not suitable for applying make-up.
That would be the only bad thing I could say about the hotel, the location was great, it was lovely having breakfast by the river, the pool had adequate sunloungers, if not one would be supplied, the staff were helpful and fun, they are what made our stay enjoyable The managers Alp and Ómúr were always helpful, working all hours, Gúnay always with a smile on his face, very funny and would do anything for you! Then there was Mehmet and Ufuk, once they got to know you, they came out of their shell...soaked us with water pistols..it was fun...
We never ate there so can't really comment about the food, except for breakfast which was the same every day, but you could order fresh orange juice with an omlette. On Saturday's the hotel put on a boat trip to the beach, with a B-B-Q, where we ate good food and blue crabs, which were freshly caught.
All in all it was a good hotel, not stuffy but down to earth and fun, basic but clean, the breeze from the river was a blessing and the scenery beautiful, would definitely stay there again if I every went back to Dalyan.

Room Tip: When booking online state if you require a twin room, as you will automatically be given a double ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
0.8 mi away
Berg Hotel
Berg Hotel
#18 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Calypso Plus
Hotel Calypso Plus
#11 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Calbis
Holiday Calbis
#2 of 62 in Dalyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
#5 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
1.1 mi away
Hotel Asur /Assyrian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Gulpinar Mh. Tufan Cad. No:77, Dalyan 48840, Turkey (Formerly Calypso Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing