We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in heaven”
Review of Hotel Calypso Plus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Calypso Plus
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Just returned from the The Calypso Plus and we loved every moment of it. The atmosphere was so relaxing and sitting on the jetty eating our dinner whilst watching the sun go down was memorable. The staff, as always, were friendly and welcoming and the pool and surrounding areas were kept spotlessly clean. The only down side was that a week was not long enough!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floralart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

This hotel was just as it was described. The manager and staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble, very welcoming, attentive and friendly. The hotel and its pool were perfect, a few steps to the river where you could enjoy any meal ( local pides were scrummy!) in a fantastic setting. All waiters (bar and food) were very polite and helpful. Decor of the rooms was sufficient and cleaned to a high standard. Just a ten minute stroll into the town centre, where there were plenty of restaurants to eat and shops to browse. A refreshing change having the river (which provided a welcome breeze) as a backdrop instead if the usual beach. Would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: upper floor, over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawsons76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I stayed at the Calypso a couple of weeks ago. The accommodation is comfortable and smart and the people who work there are superb. Nothing is too much trouble - so friendly, genuine and welcoming.
A big thank you to all at Calypso.

Nikki

Room Tip: Book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 68Nikki71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We booked with the Calypso with Simply Travel and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is lovely and new, the pool is great (although a little nippy in May). The rooms are lovely and spacious - we had a large double bed with another room adjoining which had a sofa, a tele and a wardrobe. The showeroom was lovely and clean and modern.
The location is brilliant, a short 5 minute walk along the river front into town. The setting is breathtaking, overlooking the cliff face across the other side of the river. The jetty on the river is the best place to have breakfast, lunch and dinner and evening drinks on the comfy cushion area. They also have two other cushioned awnings set away from the river where you can enjoy a snack or a drink. I recommend the Turkish Pide and Turkish pancakes - all made freshly on the premises - they even have their own pizza oven that was in use every night without fail.
The staff were brilliant - very helpful and friendly - the maid even arranged our towels in heart shapes on the bed and decorated the room with flowers from the garden. Lovely touch! Many thanks to Haydar, Temur, Egemen, Mert and everyone else behind the scenes who made our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: Room 208...great views!
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank laura_may85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

When we stayed in Dalyan last year, we initially were staying in the Binlik Hotel - and hated it. We had to complain to our tour operator, and the Hotel Calypso plus was shown to us as an alternative if we wanted to move.

Upon seeing the Hotel Calypso plus we were blown away at the difference. This hotel was immaculate, set in a beautiful quiet area next to the river and surrounded by the mountains. It was a stunning setting and we instantly agreed to move there.

The pool was lovely and big with plenty of sun loungers around for guests. We also asked about the possibility of more loungers if it got busy and the management said they had more on hand if needed which was reassuring to know. They really did look after us. We loved that it was a small hotel and not too over crowded, there was space to chill out and relax without worrying about space, trying to get a sunbed or a table. Everything was smooth running and lovely.

The room was gorgeous, brand new and clean. The shower was wonderful, really powerful and clean - perfect when you want a good scrub after a day at the beach. A clean bathroom is really important to me so the standards here were one of the highest I've seen and probably the best I've stayed in so far.

The beds were comfy and the air conditioning worked well and kept the room nice and cool. We had a separate room with a dresser, wardrobe and sofa which was nice to feel you could spread out, or go in the other room when my friend wanted to sleep for instance.

The cleaners kept the room looking lovely and tidy, they did a great job and we had no trouble.

All the staff were wonderfully friendly, they always made an effort to chat to you, get to know you and this was a really nice aspect of staying in a small hotel. Mert, the manager, also would be around and would say hello and check to see how we were finding our stay. It was really lovely to feel cared for and recognised.

The walk into town at first seemed like it might be quite long, but actually it wasn't. It was about 10 minutes into the centre of town, and a nice peaceful walk by the river. It was dark, but there are streetlamps along the way and to be honest, not any different to most of the streets just outside of the centre - the general area is stony and sometimes a bit wobbly in your shoes. I associate that to the whole area though, so it didn't make a difference to me. We never had any trouble as two girls in our twenties walking alone. The hotel walk also leads you straight to all the boats that take you to the beach and other various trips, so that was handy too!

It was also nice to be away from the centre of town as it was quiet at night and not too close to the speakers for the call to prayer, which in the centre of town is very very loud. We enjoyed the walk along the river, especially in the day when you get all the boats going past and we even saw a turtle swimming along one day. It was very picturesque and relaxing. The hotel also has a jetty so you could sit by the river and eat if you wanted.

We stayed B&B, so I can only comment on the breakfast food wise. It was very fresh and healthy. There was a choice of vegetables and fruit, bread, cake, olives, cold drinks and tea and coffee as an example. You could also pay for fresh squeezed orange juice if you wanted. It was simple, but very nice. The seating area is all outside, but set in a building with no walls so you're covered from the sun, but have the view of the mountains and scenery to enjoy while you eat.

We also often ate at the bar too, I recommend the Pida's! Fresh and tasty, great for sharing if you just want a light snack. The food was always great tasting and fairly priced in comparison to the rest of the area for a hotel.

We also went on a boat trip organised by the hotel which was fantastic! It was 50TL which included a buffet dinner and an evening on the boat. It left at sunset and took us out towards the main lake where they stopped for swimming. The staff joined in and it was a lovely atmosphere. Once it got dark and we'd travelled along more the staff cooked our dinner and after eating they turned out the lights with low music and everyone got the chance to chat, rest and enjoy the incredible view. They also took us to the Mud Baths and Sulphur Springs for an optional nighttime mud bath. It was well organized and a great way to get to know the staff and other guests.

One of my best memories from the trip was coming back on the boat after this, all the lights were out and the moon was behind the mountains - it was truly breathtaking and you had to see it because no photo could capture it. I made sure I told this to Mert, and I recommend this trip to anyone staying with the hotel. Its well worth it!

All in all, I have the fondest and best memories of this hotel. It felt more personal, and we truly loved it there. We hope to go back again this year. The hotel and staff really saved our holiday and we're so glad they did!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Just returned from Dalyan and was really impressed by the Calypso Plus hotel. It is in the best position in Dalyan, quiet, near the river towards the lake end of the town. The rooms are new so are really clean. The maid services the room daily and new laundry every 2/3 days. Breakfast was great, typically turkish with Bread, Olives, Honey, Jam, Cold Meat, Tomato, Cucumber, Eggs, Cake, Cheeses, Cornflakes, Fruit, Cereal and Coffee. Haydar and Burç do a great job behind the bar, and all the staff go out of their way to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This is the first time I am ever writing a review - I am doing this now because I really think this place deserves it.
If you want a clean nice looking place, friendly staff and tasty food this is the place to book, you won't be disappointed.
They are still getting the air condition going, this will be fixed for all rooms by the next season they say. Bear in mind this is a brand new hotel. They take into consideration your advise, if you are not happy with something - jut tell them, the manager's son Murt is very helpful (and so are all the others there) - I personally had no complains whatsoever. Had a really good time there and I will be going there next year again.
Enjoy !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puppy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
0.2 mi away
Club Alla Turca
Club Alla Turca
#9 of 64 in Dalyan
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Calbis
Holiday Calbis
#2 of 64 in Dalyan
589 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berg Hotel
Berg Hotel
#11 of 64 in Dalyan
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#14 of 64 in Dalyan
414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Metin Hotel
Metin Hotel
#20 of 64 in Dalyan
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calypso Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calypso Plus

Address: Gulpinar Mah. 750. Sok. No:71, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Price Range: £28 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Calypso Plus 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Calypso Plus is located between the magnificent Iztuzu Beach and Koycegiz Lake which is famous for its health giving thermal waters. You can easily get to Iztuzu Beach and the mud bath by a boat, which you can take from our hotel’s private jetty. Have a trip around Koycegiz lake and join one of the moonlight tours. Also dine and enjoy a drink on our private riverside jetty. There is a large choice of traditional Turkish food and freshly baked village bread. Turkish pizza and exclusive tastes of mediterrean cuisine are available. You can also enjoy our full a la carte menu. 31 ensuite rooms have a wonderful sight of Ottoman architecture and are located in our beautifully landscaped gardens. Our large swimming pool with sunbeds is perfect for sunbathing with a childrens pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Calypso Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing