We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dalyan, a place for young and old alike!”
Review of Hotel Calypso Plus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Calypso Plus
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Otford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Dalyan, a place for young and old alike!”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband and i (both in ours 50's) spent a wonderful 2 weeks in Dalyan this June. We had booked The Hotel Calypso Plus after doing our usual search through Trip Advisor' or as my husband now calls it, 'the travel bible'! The reports were scarce but sufficient as this is a fairly new hotel (beware not to mistake for the old Calypso Hotel which is a little further along the river and i believe has now been renamed).
The apartment, (we had upgraded to the Suite and on reflection this was not necessary as the only difference seems to be whether there was a door separating the rooms or not!?) although simply furnished, divided into 2 rooms (ours had a door to separate) with the bed in one and the other with a wardrobe and sofa, thus to be used as a dressing room. The room was spotless and our lovely cleaning lady came every day to clean, renew towels and frequently leave us with a wonderful display of flower heads on our bed.
We had room 208 which did indeed have lovely views from the balcony, (which was the door off the bedroom, wonderful) but, i would warn anyone with mobility problems that the stairway up to the room was very steep and narrow. Not a problem for us but could be to some people!?
The Hotel staff, Mete the manager, a most amenable young man who would go out of his way to help with any problems, (we had a problem with our air conditioning unit which was dealt with the same day) Heider at the bar, Tomas and 'Gerrard' in the restaurant saw to our every need and always with a smile.
The breakfast for us was included, a basic choice which consisted of a typical cold laid out affair (tea, coffee, cereal, bread, pastries, boiled eggs, cheeses, meats, salad etc) available until 10 each morning, late enough even for me a 'late riser'!
The Pool was clean and right alongside was a Pool bar, serving drinks as well as a 'mug' or cup of tea or coffee if preferred. The sunbeds round the pool were fine but presumably in busier times more would be bought out? (remember to take your own towels). The umbrellas were on extremely heavy bases and so could not be moved, we would have prefered to be out on the garden areas.
The location was superb, The Hotel has its own restaurant on the river front, perfect for lunch or a quiet evening meal or if you prefer its a 5-10 minute walk along the river side into the main town square which then separated out into walking along the front to see the harbour boats all lined up ready to take you on excursions to local ruins, go down to Turtle Beach,( a 30 mins picturesque boat ride) the Mud Baths, the many lakes or such like. We had a lovely full day excursion sailing round the islands and a night trip to see some ruins and then have supper on the boat out on the Lake looking at the stars and the lights out yonder of the Mud baths. We didnt do them this time as we did them 15 years ago with our children and have the picture on a plate as proof! We also did a short trip out to see the Nile Turtles being fed and then had an hour or so on the beach.
Now the best bit about Dalyan, it is a town that accommodates young and old alike. We were in a lovely quiet area which was perfect for us as we then strolled into town in the evening and depending on what sort of mood we were in we could then stay in the more relaxed area or venture 10 minutes up the road and there you would find a 'high st' with the Market and as many buzzy bars, TV screens for the sport enthuisiasts or restaurants with dancing areas, as you like. We were astounded as we had been in Dalyan a week before we even realised this was all there!
Our verdict on Dalyan, we are looking to return just as soon as we can, we feel we have found a little gem! The Calypso Plus Hotel was fantastic value for money and we would recommend anyone looking to feel like 'part of the family'.
One last note, many, many thanks to our Anatolan Sky Rep, Alison, who was absolutely brilliant at looking after us.

Room Tip: Room 208 for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sutone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    85
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
65
155
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Calypso Plus, Dalyan. We cannot speak highly enough of the hotel, the staff, the food, the resort. Everything was just perfect for us.

The hotel itself is beautiful – very crisp, clean and comfortable. The food was fabulous with plenty of variety and good sized portions. The staff are exemplary; friendly, cheerful, attentive, very hardworking and quite simply, always there. Nothing is too much trouble and the housekeeper even put together beautiful floral displays in our room on several occasions, which was a lovely touch.

Our favourite spot was the cushioned area by the river. From here, we could eat, drink and watch turtles, storks, water snakes, eagles, egrets and herons. Quite simply, a wildlife haven.

We would have no hesitation in returning to the Calypso Plus in Dalyan and would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the staff once again for making our holiday extra special. Thanks guys, from Jim and Christine from Scotland. x

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrislock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed at the Calypso Plus for 2 weeks in July. This was my second visit since the hotel opened last year. The new jetty is my favourite place - for an early morning coffee realaxing on cushions and watching th baots pass on the river and listening to the goats scrambling on the rocks across the river, or for dinner (I have written a separate review on the restaurant). The hotel grounds have matured and lots more plants and grass has grown making the surroundings nicer. Bedrooms are still of an exceptional high standard and the housekeeping on a daily basis was first class. We had a moonlight boat trip organised by the hotel which was one of my highlights - drinking rose in the beautiful setting of the lake with wonderful friends I have met at the hotel what bliss.

The pool wasalways cleaned each morning and there were always plenty of free sunbeds.

The staff at the end of the day are what makes this hotel so special as well as the lovely guests who have become friends.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - it is perfect in everyway.

Thank you Mert and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshvja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Much Hadham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This has to be the most relaxing place to stay. It was our first time at the new Calypso Plus (having stayed at the old Calypso in the past) and can only say that we found everything first class. The accommodation was so much better with not only a bedroom but a sitting room as well which allowed us to "spread" out more. The pool area was fantastic and really clean, the staff and management were most friendly and accommodating but best of all is the location right by the river. To sit at any time of the day (breakfast, lunch or dinner) and soak up the wonderful scenery was truly fantastic. We love this hotel and cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcw38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Just returned from the The Calypso Plus and we loved every moment of it. The atmosphere was so relaxing and sitting on the jetty eating our dinner whilst watching the sun go down was memorable. The staff, as always, were friendly and welcoming and the pool and surrounding areas were kept spotlessly clean. The only down side was that a week was not long enough!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floralart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This hotel was just as it was described. The manager and staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble, very welcoming, attentive and friendly. The hotel and its pool were perfect, a few steps to the river where you could enjoy any meal ( local pides were scrummy!) in a fantastic setting. All waiters (bar and food) were very polite and helpful. Decor of the rooms was sufficient and cleaned to a high standard. Just a ten minute stroll into the town centre, where there were plenty of restaurants to eat and shops to browse. A refreshing change having the river (which provided a welcome breeze) as a backdrop instead if the usual beach. Would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: upper floor, over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawsons76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I stayed at the Calypso a couple of weeks ago. The accommodation is comfortable and smart and the people who work there are superb. Nothing is too much trouble - so friendly, genuine and welcoming.
A big thank you to all at Calypso.

Nikki

Room Tip: Book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68Nikki71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
0.9 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#15 of 64 in Dalyan
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Calbis
Holiday Calbis
#1 of 64 in Dalyan
560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Montana
Boutique Hotel Montana
#23 of 64 in Dalyan
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sedir Resort
Sedir Resort
#7 of 64 in Dalyan
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murat Pasa Konagi
Murat Pasa Konagi
#27 of 64 in Dalyan
130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calypso Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calypso Plus

Property: Hotel Calypso Plus
Address: Gulpinar Mah. 750. Sok. No:71, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Calypso Plus 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Calypso Plus is located between the magnificent Iztuzu Beach and Koycegiz Lake which is famous for its health giving thermal waters. You can easily get to Iztuzu Beach and the mud bath by a boat, which you can take from our hotel’s private jetty. Have a trip around Koycegiz lake and join one of the moonlight tours. Also dine and enjoy a drink on our private riverside jetty. There is a large choice of traditional Turkish food and freshly baked village bread. Turkish pizza and exclusive tastes of mediterrean cuisine are available. You can also enjoy our full a la carte menu. 31 ensuite rooms have a wonderful sight of Ottoman architecture and are located in our beautifully landscaped gardens. Our large swimming pool with sunbeds is perfect for sunbathing with a childrens pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Calypso Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing