We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel - would consider returning when it's not so hot”
Review of Hotel Calypso Plus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Calypso Plus
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

So here we are in Dalyan at Calypso Plus. The owner Matt, and Goosha who work at reception, welcomed us warmly and were pleasant and polite throughout our stay. In fact all the staff were great, particularly Haydar, who worked behind the bar by the pool. Also Thomas, Maître D of restaurant by river. The waiters were attentive and very polite and Soohat would take our breakfast on a tray down to the riverside seating and we could watch the boats and the wildlife most mornings. Our rooms, whilst basic, are very clean and serviced every day. The heat at the beginning of July is fierce if you're not used to it (which I'm not). I'm writing this on the fourth night of our week's stay at 2am in 30 degree heat. I woke up sweating. It's just too hot!!
It's lovely how the rooms all look out onto the pool area and the garden and grounds are generally pretty. Best place to sit is by the river as it's so beautiful. You can watch the terrapins and fish come to feed. I loved that. I throw pieces of my balloon bread (like a huge pitta bread) down in the water and watch the fish etc, feed. We even saw a Loggerhead Turtle come by today, which was exciting.
Do take some boat excursions. I loved swimming in the lake it was the most wonderful way to really stay cool and have fun. The water is so salty that you stay afloat with very little effort.
I would improve the rooms as follows: our air conditioning is barely cooling the room and each time we leave the room and take the room key, all electricity goes off, so we can't leave it on whilst we're out during the day. Also there are very few places we can hang our toiletries and towels, so more hooks please. The final ask is that there needs to be a fridge in the room to keep water cold. I'm not kidding when I say that to quench our thirst through the night, we were drinking warm water because of the temperature. I'm really tired but can't sleep because of the heat, so if you're not good in the heat, be warned. Biting insects are a fact of life here in spite of buying repellant spray and a plug-in mosquito zapper, neither worked and we were feasted on, throughout our time here. Good idea to buy something for the bites.
We booked the holiday through Secret Escapes, an outfit called Just Sunshine and flew Monarch. We had a horribly stressful start to our holiday, when we got to check-in at Gatwick, the clerk couldn't find any evidence of us on any database. Luckily we had the necessary paperwork so we were able to get on the flight, so make sure you have a paper copy of your booked flights. We had to pay some excess on my case, only to find at the Dalaman baggage conveyor belt my case never appeared. We logged the missing case with the airport and were told it never left Gatwick!! I did get it by lunchtime the next day, but it was stressful wondering if I'd see any of my things again. Lesson to me: always carry your meds, jewellery and anything else that's precious in hand luggage along with a swimming costume!!
I'd definitely be back, but next time come a month or two earlier to cope better in less intense heat.

Room Tip: We stayed in 306. Didnt see any other rooms. The tv never worked even though we told reception about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandyinHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Visited here from 19th-26th June and it was brilliant! We arrived late at night and were shown to our rooms where we went to sleep almost instantly! We woke up the next morning to the most stunning views of the mountains outside. Our room was a ground floor room facing the mountains and stayed nice and cool all day. The air con works well but as the rooms electrics are only activated when you leave the key in it can take a while to cool down when you first get back to your room. The bathroom in our room was spotlessly clean and the shower was amazing although occasionally the pressure reduced. The room was kept clean every day by the friendly cleaners and the towels and sheets changed every 3 days. We had room 105 which had a double bed in one room the 2 single beds in another. The beds were slightly creaky/hard but we were so tired every evening it didn't matter!
The pool and bar area of the hotel, like the rooms, was always clean. The pool was perfect size for the hotel and the view of the mountains from poolside was amazing.
We ate at the restaurant a few times and each time the food was good. Brilliant staff and the breakfast every morning was wonderful, a wide variety of fruits, honey yoghurt, cereal, bread etc and a variety of drinks.
We travelled as me (18) my sister (17) and out mum.
This is a hotel for relaxing and that is what we came for, unfortunately the week we got there one large family came and ruined the peace. This is not the type of hotel for young children running around and screaming.
Overall we had a great stay and will hopefully be back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Shana2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertMete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you so much and we look forward to see you in our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My mum and I stayed in Turkey for a week and one of the best things about the holiday was the hotel. Its right near the town centre but in a quiet location. The staff were so wonderful, friendly, and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean, tastefully decorated, the bathroom was lovely and the hairdryer worked well. Cleaners came everyday and did a great job. The hotel has a good atmosphere and decor and although we didn't use the pool, it looked lovely and was quiet. The hotel's restaurant was stunning and right next to the lake with a beautiful view. Food was lovely and great value, ate there almost every night despite the abundance of nearby restaurants. The negatives of the Calypso were; poor WiFi connection, lack of variety at breakfast, no tv/full length mirror/bathroom extractor fan/tea making facilities in room. Overall this hotel is beautiful and great value and we might even return!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sacha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertMete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you so much and we look forward to see you in our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our first time at the Calypso hotel and it wont be our last. Staff were all really friendly, remembered our names and nothing was too much trouble. Loved sitting on the jetty having our breakfast watching the terrapins in the river and large turtles when we were lucky. The hotel is in a nice quiet location but very accessible to the town, just a 10 minute walk to the town where there are lots of very nice , reasonably priced restaurants. We visited the turtle hospital which is a must if you go the the local beach, also the local ruins of Kaunos which is reached via small rowing boat in the town. Cant speak too highly of this lovely resort and hotel. We will definitely revisit , hopefully next year.

Room Tip: We had room 207 which overlooked the pool but was a very peaceful and quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HAZEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertMete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much and we are looking forward to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A perfect spot to unwind and relax. The setting is stunning next to the river. Eating breakfast and watching the turtles swim by was a delight. The staff were lovely and most of the guests had stayed several times before which speaks for itself! The small town is relatively quiet and authentic - a great market on a Saturday. We enjoyed the boat and dolmus journeys to the beach - stunning scenery everywhere! Take a fishing rod if you like to fish and a good book to curl up on the hammock or sit on the cushions overlooking the river. This is a special place, I would thoroughly recommend and hope to return before too long!

Room Tip: We stayed in 106 which had a separate room with a large TV and sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jevans10032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our first time at the calypso hotel, will not be our last loved it, as soon as we arrived it was like we were regulars to the hotel, we were made to feel so welcome, the staff asked our names and every day greeted us by our names never once did they forget. so friendly could not do enough for us, our room was very clean and flowers on our bed each day was lovely, as for the restaurant on the jetty Beautiful and great food,even did a bit of fishing and court one, just so relaxing, next year we will book 2 weeks 1 is just not enough, I so did not want to come home :(
see you next year. best restaurant is The White House had 3 visits there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barbara312014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just returned from my fourth stay at the Calypso Plus and again it didn't disappoint. New additions were a plastic zipped curtain around the bar which as it is an outdoor bar suffers when the wind is cool in the evening or if there is the odd rain storm. My room was spotless as always, and the staff as ever welcoming and cheerful. Meals on the peaceful riverside terrace are a delight and you can always pedalo over to the thermal spring on the other side of the river. Get Haydar the barman to show you where it is.
Could visitors please look out for my little cat who is eventually going to come to his forever home with us in Northumberland. His name is Oliver, he is a tabby and he has a red collar. He has already had his vaccinations for rabies and is microchipped and is very friendly. He is wormed and tick free so although he looks a little threadbare it is because he has been very ill at sometime and when I first found him at the beginning of June he was near death. He is fond of the spam they serve at breakfast so please give him as much as you can remembering he has no source of regular food.
Hopefully he will becoming over to the UK in October.

Room Tip: The rooms that have WiFi are near the bar so if you don't like bar noise and music - sometimes u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roskie2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalyan
0.9 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#14 of 64 in Dalyan
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Montana
Boutique Hotel Montana
#22 of 64 in Dalyan
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Calbis
Holiday Calbis
#2 of 64 in Dalyan
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Club Atrium Apartments
Club Atrium Apartments
#1 of 27 in Armutalan
1,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Metin Hotel
Metin Hotel
#20 of 64 in Dalyan
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
#6 of 64 in Dalyan
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calypso Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calypso Plus

Address: Gulpinar Mah. 750. Sok. No:71, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Price Range: £25 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Calypso Plus 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Calypso Plus is located between the magnificent Iztuzu Beach and Koycegiz Lake which is famous for its health giving thermal waters. You can easily get to Iztuzu Beach and the mud bath by a boat, which you can take from our hotel’s private jetty. Have a trip around Koycegiz lake and join one of the moonlight tours. Also dine and enjoy a drink on our private riverside jetty. There is a large choice of traditional Turkish food and freshly baked village bread. Turkish pizza and exclusive tastes of mediterrean cuisine are available. You can also enjoy our full a la carte menu. 31 ensuite rooms have a wonderful sight of Ottoman architecture and are located in our beautifully landscaped gardens. Our large swimming pool with sunbeds is perfect for sunbathing with a childrens pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Calypso Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing