We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low quality food, beds not comfy, kids crib with no mattress”
Review of Hotel Calypso Plus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Calypso Plus
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

pros: location OK, rooms big enough, nice garden area

cons: beds (also pillows) very uncomfortable and noisy, mosquito (no nets at the doors) , no hot water at peak times, baby crib they brought had no mattress but 2 pillows (i mean it, they put 2 very soft pillows and cover it with a sheet, no mattress, worse than sleeping on the hard floor), extremely low quality food (they use cheapest stuff with no brand. Breakfast in Turkey never tasted that bad. We skip it after day 1 because we did not want to get poisoned) Boat tours expensive (150 tl in Dalyan, 250 at the hotel)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Ermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertMete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Sir
Im very sorry that you didnt have very good time in our hotel. And I thought I should answer some of the complains made by you.
Our breakfast is prepared with high quality products, as you said some of them doesnt have any brand. But those are organic olives,tomatos and fruits which we buy from village. On the other hand our hotel is quite popular place in town for breakfast and we have many guests even from outside of the hotel.
Our hotel has a boat and we offer some private trips to our guests.In town center, you can always hire a boat with 50-60 TL cheaper price. But I wouldnt compare our boat with those ones. In the end everything has a price.
We just checked your profile and you have 6 hotel reviews on tripadvisor. All of them is full up with bad reviews. (actually you gave better score to us compare to other places so thank you :-)
Apparently you never had a nice holiday and we felt very sorry for you. So we would like to see you in our hotel again one day, who knows maybe with more stars ;)

Kind Regards
Mert METE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Calypso Plus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

A perfect spot to unwind and relax. The setting is stunning next to the river. Eating breakfast and watching the terrapins & fishes fight for the bread was fascinating and a wonderful way to start the day, plus watching the 'rush hour' of boats going up river.. The staff were amazingly fantastic and most of the guests had stayed several times before which speaks for itself! We were greeted with hugs, as if long lost friends!! Who can we praise individually........no-one, as they were ALL INCREDIBLE & all of them went out of their way to make sure we had a real holiday from the rush of life!!! We have already booked our room, as we will DEFINITELY be back next year..... how can we keep away from paradise!!!. Also if Roskie300 reads this review, I fed Oliver whilst we were there for 2 weeks & have attached a lovely photo of him, for you!!! For those who make comments about there being no fridge in the room, this can be remedied by using the fridge in reception, they don't mind if you do!!! Plus, is television really necessary in your room, isn't it wonderful to switch off from life for a while!! lots of love to you all, Lizz & Robert xx

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bar are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizzlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertMete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you very much and we are looking forward for your 6th time in our hotel :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

First time to Dalyan and first time experiencing the Calypso Plus. Both impressed greatly. The hotel is not too large and never felt crowded. It is kept clean and the rooms are more spacious than I expected. It is not a four or five star property. Towels aren't changed everyday but are often and you should consider bringing your own soap and shampoo unless you don't mind the few (sometimes difficult to open) packets that are supplied in the room. There is good water pressure in the shower and the rooms come with airco (which you'll need in the summer!). A highlight of the hotel is its location. As others have said, it is on the riverside and that's a big bonus point. It is further up the river from the concentrated business/tourist area of Dalyan, which means it is quieter and more restful. Dining at the riverside is a treat as you will see fish, turtles and other water life. Across the river is an untouched hillside with nothing but trees and other foliage to enjoy. Oh and occasional goats, too. The breakfasts were also surprisingly better than I had read from others' older comments. You get more than a 'simple Turkish breakfast'. And if it's the sandy beach you want, the beach (Iztuzu or Turtle Beach) is an easy 20 minutes away by local dolmus bus (for eight lira round trip) or 45 minutes by boat taxi (10 lira round trip) and is worth the visit. The Calypso Plus is a nice pace to return to after a day in the sea. The management at the Calypso Plus is very approachable and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who asked.

Room Tip: Just ask the management if you have particular requirements or requests. They do their best to make...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BackfromBelek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertMete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you so much and we look forward to see you in our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect if you enjoy a peaceful meandering short riverside walk to the harbour and town rather than the bustle of the crowded tourist area. We thoroughly enjoyed this stroll, and stopping for a drink each way at the Riverside Cafe became a ritual. Slow paced and relaxing was the key element staying here with the hotel providing pleasant gardens with a variety of lounging options, a pool, bar area and the restaurant/cafe at its river entrance. Having breakfast at the riverside in the calm blue and white of the jetty cafe was a perfect start to the day, and if booking any boat trips from the harbour you can be picked up there too! The staff were all friendly and hard-working, keen to do their best for you. Haydar manning the poolside bar was efficient, friendly and knowledgeable, and there was the mischievous and energetic Ali to watch out for too! This hotel was built for relaxation and unwinding. If it's noise, partying and crowds you want go into town! We thought this was probably the best hotel choice for us in Dalyan- lovely views and respite from the scorching sun with the liveliness of town not far.

Room Tip: We had room 106 which had the afternoon sun on its balcony. We preferred an upstairs balcony for pri...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nosliwoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertMete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you so much and we look forward to see you in our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

So here we are in Dalyan at Calypso Plus. The owner Matt, and Goosha who work at reception, welcomed us warmly and were pleasant and polite throughout our stay. In fact all the staff were great, particularly Haydar, who worked behind the bar by the pool. Also Thomas, Maître D of restaurant by river. The waiters were attentive and very polite and Soohat would take our breakfast on a tray down to the riverside seating and we could watch the boats and the wildlife most mornings. Our rooms, whilst basic, are very clean and serviced every day. The heat at the beginning of July is fierce if you're not used to it (which I'm not). I'm writing this on the fourth night of our week's stay at 2am in 30 degree heat. I woke up sweating. It's just too hot!!
It's lovely how the rooms all look out onto the pool area and the garden and grounds are generally pretty. Best place to sit is by the river as it's so beautiful. You can watch the terrapins and fish come to feed. I loved that. I throw pieces of my balloon bread (like a huge pitta bread) down in the water and watch the fish etc, feed. We even saw a Loggerhead Turtle come by today, which was exciting.
Do take some boat excursions. I loved swimming in the lake it was the most wonderful way to really stay cool and have fun. The water is so salty that you stay afloat with very little effort.
I would improve the rooms as follows: our air conditioning is barely cooling the room and each time we leave the room and take the room key, all electricity goes off, so we can't leave it on whilst we're out during the day. Also there are very few places we can hang our toiletries and towels, so more hooks please. The final ask is that there needs to be a fridge in the room to keep water cold. I'm not kidding when I say that to quench our thirst through the night, we were drinking warm water because of the temperature. I'm really tired but can't sleep because of the heat, so if you're not good in the heat, be warned. Biting insects are a fact of life here in spite of buying repellant spray and a plug-in mosquito zapper, neither worked and we were feasted on, throughout our time here. Good idea to buy something for the bites.
We booked the holiday through Secret Escapes, an outfit called Just Sunshine and flew Monarch. We had a horribly stressful start to our holiday, when we got to check-in at Gatwick, the clerk couldn't find any evidence of us on any database. Luckily we had the necessary paperwork so we were able to get on the flight, so make sure you have a paper copy of your booked flights. We had to pay some excess on my case, only to find at the Dalaman baggage conveyor belt my case never appeared. We logged the missing case with the airport and were told it never left Gatwick!! I did get it by lunchtime the next day, but it was stressful wondering if I'd see any of my things again. Lesson to me: always carry your meds, jewellery and anything else that's precious in hand luggage along with a swimming costume!!
I'd definitely be back, but next time come a month or two earlier to cope better in less intense heat.

Room Tip: We stayed in 306. Didnt see any other rooms. The tv never worked even though we told reception about...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandyinHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Visited here from 19th-26th June and it was brilliant! We arrived late at night and were shown to our rooms where we went to sleep almost instantly! We woke up the next morning to the most stunning views of the mountains outside. Our room was a ground floor room facing the mountains and stayed nice and cool all day. The air con works well but as the rooms electrics are only activated when you leave the key in it can take a while to cool down when you first get back to your room. The bathroom in our room was spotlessly clean and the shower was amazing although occasionally the pressure reduced. The room was kept clean every day by the friendly cleaners and the towels and sheets changed every 3 days. We had room 105 which had a double bed in one room the 2 single beds in another. The beds were slightly creaky/hard but we were so tired every evening it didn't matter!
The pool and bar area of the hotel, like the rooms, was always clean. The pool was perfect size for the hotel and the view of the mountains from poolside was amazing.
We ate at the restaurant a few times and each time the food was good. Brilliant staff and the breakfast every morning was wonderful, a wide variety of fruits, honey yoghurt, cereal, bread etc and a variety of drinks.
We travelled as me (18) my sister (17) and out mum.
This is a hotel for relaxing and that is what we came for, unfortunately the week we got there one large family came and ruined the peace. This is not the type of hotel for young children running around and screaming.
Overall we had a great stay and will hopefully be back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Shana2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertMete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you so much and we look forward to see you in our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My mum and I stayed in Turkey for a week and one of the best things about the holiday was the hotel. Its right near the town centre but in a quiet location. The staff were so wonderful, friendly, and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean, tastefully decorated, the bathroom was lovely and the hairdryer worked well. Cleaners came everyday and did a great job. The hotel has a good atmosphere and decor and although we didn't use the pool, it looked lovely and was quiet. The hotel's restaurant was stunning and right next to the lake with a beautiful view. Food was lovely and great value, ate there almost every night despite the abundance of nearby restaurants. The negatives of the Calypso were; poor WiFi connection, lack of variety at breakfast, no tv/full length mirror/bathroom extractor fan/tea making facilities in room. Overall this hotel is beautiful and great value and we might even return!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sacha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MertMete, Manager at Hotel Calypso Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you so much and we look forward to see you in our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
1.2 mi away
Sedir Resort
Sedir Resort
#7 of 64 in Dalyan
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Calbis
Holiday Calbis
#3 of 64 in Dalyan
572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#15 of 64 in Dalyan
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Murat Pasa Konagi
Murat Pasa Konagi
#37 of 64 in Dalyan
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Montana
Boutique Hotel Montana
#24 of 64 in Dalyan
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berg Hotel
Berg Hotel
#13 of 64 in Dalyan
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calypso Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calypso Plus

Address: Gulpinar Mah. 750. Sok. No:71, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Price Range: £34 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Calypso Plus 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Calypso Plus is located between the magnificent Iztuzu Beach and Koycegiz Lake which is famous for its health giving thermal waters. You can easily get to Iztuzu Beach and the mud bath by a boat, which you can take from our hotel’s private jetty. Have a trip around Koycegiz lake and join one of the moonlight tours. Also dine and enjoy a drink on our private riverside jetty. There is a large choice of traditional Turkish food and freshly baked village bread. Turkish pizza and exclusive tastes of mediterrean cuisine are available. You can also enjoy our full a la carte menu. 31 ensuite rooms have a wonderful sight of Ottoman architecture and are located in our beautifully landscaped gardens. Our large swimming pool with sunbeds is perfect for sunbathing with a childrens pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Calypso Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing