We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family gem”
Review of Holiday Calbis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Calbis
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Normally we stay, as a couple, in the fabulous Dalyan Garden Pension, but this year the kids insisted on coming, too! It wasn't fair to inflict them on the Pension so we looked for a more family oriented hotel and came across the Calbis. Although much, much bigger, it made us feel part of the family.

Great service, particularly at reception. With two pools and a relaxed atmosphere it was a perfect family retreat. Everyone loved the nesting storks on the roof!

After we left, the hotel got in touch to say that we had left a newly purchased bracelet behind and did we want it sent on. It has just arrived and that really is good service.

Room Tip: If you are OK with climbing stairs, we'd recommend a high up room for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Third time staying here. Stunning grounds, super pool, rooms simple but oh so clean and comfy with good sized power shower room/bathroom, owner and all the fabulous team can't do enough for you, amazing choice at breakfast, reasonably priced lunches, beautiful new restaurant area and a choice of very reasonably priced trips on the hotel's own boat (which is the best boat in the harbour!) ... why wouldn't you stay here?

(* no room service or fitness centre that we knew of)

Room Tip: If you book direct you can book a triple, family adjoining rooms or suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GaryHelenLymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Just back from a lovely week staying at the Holiday Calbis in Dalyan and thought it was fab.
This was my first time in Turkey after hearing a few bad stories but now very glad I came.
There's not much to say that won't generally echo what everyone else has said but I'll confirm anyway:
- 2 pools = lovely. We went later on in the season so had absolutely no issues getting sun beds where we wanted. Pool was a tad cold but this was actually quite refreshing when it was really hot!!
- rooms = basic but fine. Had everything we needed - bed, good shower, wardrobe/drawers, safe and air con. Yes it would've been nice to have a fridge but as someone else has pointed out, the electricity cuts out when you're not in the room so there's only so much you could keep in there
- Breakfasts = great. Always 3 different hot items (1 was always a boiled egg) plus 2 ladies making omelettes/fried eggs and fresh crepes. There was also the usual meat, cheese, coffee, juice, etc. The omelette lady was lovely - always made them perfectly!
- Dinner = pretty good. We stayed twice during the week, mainly from necessity (once there was a thunder storm so we didn't want to venture out and second time we were leaving that night so again, didn't want to go far.) Dinner was a buffet with 3 different hot options as well as a couple of starters, some bread, dips, salad, etc. As well as one choice of pudding (rice pudding both nights we were there). All very nice and just as good as in town but cheaper (£10 for buffet!) - only difference you'll find is there's never steak and obviously not choice on what to have
- Bar - Ronaldo who ran the bar was always very helpful and always had a bit of chat, really nice guy

The hotel ran a minibus into town each evening which was great and driver would do more than one run if needed. Town was only a ten minute walk which really isn't much and actually quite pleasant but free minibus trips always win me over!

Only downside to the hotel really was the cats and dogs milling about but it's the same for Dalyan all over really. They generally stayed out your way and if you just ignored them, they let you be.

Dalyan itself was lovely - lot more choice in restaurants and bars than I'd thought when booking so we never struggled for somewhere nice to go. Recommendations for dinner - the hidden garden and chefs steakhouse. Saying that, most places served the same food at mostly the same prices. I found that for 2 people you could have a 2 course meal with a bottle of wine to share for around 140 Turkish lira (including tip) which works out at roughly £47 at the moment - felt like we were ripping them off a lot of the time! Fillet steak cooked perfectly for £10? Yes please!
Few shops around the town centre aswell mostly selling a mix of the same thing - Turkish delight, shisha pipes, jewellery, (fake) designer handbags (mulberry, Michael kors, etc) and hoodies/shirts, etc (hollister, converse, Ralph Lauren, etc.)

We also took a couple of boat trips - one to the Turkish mud baths which were great fun and another to go along the delta turtle spotting which was lovely. We also spent one day at iztuzu/turtle beach which was just beautiful (get the dolmus there for a laugh!).

Absolutely fab holiday and would definitely return! I'm not one for going the same place every year so would prob wait a few years but genuinely had a great time , lovely part of the country.

If only Thomson hadn't let us down on our return journey, would've been a perfect holiday but that's another story (and a complaints letter still waiting to be written!!)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lp056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I want to say a very big thank you to Gokmen and all the staff at the Calbis for making our recent stay so special. We had to change our holiday dates and hoped that we would still be able to stay. We were so pleased when we received an email saying that there was space and looked forward to seeing all the staff again.
Okay so we are biased, we have been so many times, it feels like 'home' to us, so we may not 'see' what newcomers 'see' but if anyone takes time to read through the reviews they will note there are many of us who return every year, so something must be right. I am quite fussy, but I can't find fault with rooms. There is a bed or beds, wardrobe and drawer space, a private shower and wc. We don't want a TV in the room, why would we want to spend time in the room when the sun is shining and there's so much to do. We don't want loud music at the bar we can find that in town if required. Instead we can sit with our friends or other hotel guests and talk together and hear what they have to say. Or we can sit quietly and have a drink on our own. Soft drinks and coffee are available options. The staff work so hard to keep the rooms and all areas spotlessly clean and cannot be faulted for their kindness and interaction with all guests. I have watched the grounds mature and this year it all looked spectacular, the garden staff are to be congratulated on their efforts.
Owing to our own personal circumstances we made use of the evening meal at the hotel on most evenings this year, what an amazing meal. We saw that someone else had reviewed the hotel and said that the food was as good as anything in town. We would agree, I think it is the best I have tasted locally. I am getting fed up with the restaurant cartel menus in town, all much of a muchness. The hotel food was far superior and such good value, I don't understand why others haven't recognised this gem. It's a shame because it will only be available twice a week next year. The kitchen staff should be congratulated for their outstanding contribution to the hotel. Again nothing is too much trouble and if you make a request they will do their best to help.
We have already determined that we shall be going back next year and hope to see all our old friends again. This is a wonderful hotel, we thoroughly recommend it, it may not be in everyone's taste but please don't let the reviews put you off, it really is somewhere special.

Room Tip: The rooms are well maintained and always kept to a very high standard. If you have a disability the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy_constable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We spent two weeks at the cablis and will return next year. The grounds are stunning, the gardener has certainly earned his pay. The pools are well kept and there was always plenty of sun beds.The bar staff were very friendly and were very helpful.The monday evening BBQ was well worth the money (40 TL ). The belly dancer was brilliant, getting people up to dance by saying come on Phylis,the second week we realised she was saying please not Phylis.The receptionist couldn't have been more helpful and the night porter always greeted you with a smile.
Dalyan is in a stunning location with mountains all around and the river ( which is very clean) with lots of fish and if your lucky turtles.The boats at the harbour can take you up and down the river or to the beach and they don@t try to rip you off.The market on a saturday has a variety of things for sale from friut and veg to handbags, watches and lots more well worth a walk through. It's not a place to go if you want night clubs and raves but if you want a peaceful holiday where the locals treat you as if your happiness is their concern then give it a try. Oh yes the only reason i didn't give sleep quality top mark's, was the old man snored.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Spent a week at the Calbis for some late summer sun. The room was basic but clean although I would recommend when booking to request a room looking on to the pool area and not on to the fairly busy road. The grounds and pool area are really well kept with plenty of sun beds so there was no early morning towel raids.

The pool bar was a bit quiet and could have done with a bit of effort to liven things up although all the bar staff were very friendly and helpful.

It could have been a perfect holiday if it wasn't for the packs of dogs roaming the resort. After a while their behaviour became rather intimidating and made for some uncomfortable moments.

I did complain to the Manager of the Hotel about the number of dogs hanging round reception, who spent their time, barking, fighting, chasing cyclists and generally making a nuisance of themselves. Unfortunately nothing seemed to be done about it.

However, we still had a great holiday as we were determined not to allow this to spoil our time.

Room Tip: Get an inward looking room away from the reception and busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair-M56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our third visit to Dalyan but our first stay at the Calbis. I've rated it as excellent but will mention two minor, for us, niggles. First the standard rooms do not have a fridge, although fridges may be standard next year. Secondly the breakfast is more than adequate with a range of hot and cold options including eggs cooked to order, it would however have been nice if a better selection of cereal had been available, we bought our own in the end.
Having started with a niggle I'll now mention what for me will see us returning next year -
The staff are all very helpful and friendly, working hard to ensure you have a great holiday
The rooms are a good size, and are very clean.
The two swimming pools always have plenty of sun beds available, for once there doesn't seem to be the rush to get a towel on a bed at "stupid o'clock" in the morning. Just a note on the pool for those with small children, there are two small paddling pools but the main pools are a uniform 1.60m deep.
The gardens are beautiful, with hammocks and sun beds dotted around, but beware the sprinkler system which caught us a couple of times after an evening in Dalyan - you need to be good at dodging

Looking forward to our next visit

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 701SueB701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalyan
0.6 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
1.1 mi away
Sedir Resort
Sedir Resort
#7 of 64 in Dalyan
172 reviews
21.6 mi away
Blue Palace Apartments
Blue Palace Apartments
#42 of 234 in Marmaris
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#14 of 64 in Dalyan
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calypso Plus
Hotel Calypso Plus
#16 of 64 in Dalyan
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Alla Turca
Club Alla Turca
#9 of 64 in Dalyan
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Calbis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Calbis

Address: Gulpinar no 75, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dalyan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range: £36 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Calbis 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the best Hotel in Dalyan,we have 3 swimming pools, one is for adults only,our garden is the biggest in Dalyan Come and stay ,you will love our place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Calbis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Calbis Hotel Dalyan
Holiday Calbis Dalyan
Hotel Holiday Calbis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing