We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic hotel minutes away from Dalyan”
Review of Holiday Calbis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Calbis
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

First visit to Dalyan (May) and this hotel didn't disappoint. Very quiet at this time of the year with lots of access to both large pools and bars. Staff are very friendly and are keen to try out their English. At this time of the year there is no evening food other than Fri-Sat but Dalyan is a 10min walk away where there is a great selection of places to eat. Rooms are basic but comfortable. I would come back

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank StephenHillcoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This is the sixth visit to Dalyan and the Holiday Calbis. Every year the garden is more beautiful, the amenities improved and the choice at breakfast is increased. This family run hotel is always welcoming. The rooms are basic but comfortable and ensuite. Wifi access is a bit dependent on being near enough to one of the routers. It's a great base for exploring Dalyan: a beautiful walk alongside the river into town or a complimentary evening ride to the many restaurants nearby. A place many guests choose to return to regularly. May and September are particularly beautiful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Janeyvomne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Very nice, clean and tidy. Good grounds, friendly staff. Food & Drink limited.

No room available for late checkout. Had to use shower at swimming pool before coach pick-up at 2300hr. Apart from that all was OK will return again to Dalyan but maybe different hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Aljedaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was our first family holiday in Turkey and we were all a bit nervous as to what to expect; we needn't have been. Holiday Calbis is a wonderful hotel, you feel very well looked after. The rooms are very nice, clean and spacious. We had two rooms that were not overlooking the pool, but we didn't find this to be an issue as we had a good outlook to the distant mountains. The breakfasts were excellent, the kids will remember the chocolate pancakes for ever I think. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. The location suited us very well, just far enough away from the town for it to be quiet, but near enough to walk to the town with your beach stuff for a day out on the boats, or in the evening to go for dinner.

There is plenty to do in and around Dalyan, we went on several trips on the boats, we also went on the jeep safari - a health and safety nightmare, but the best fun. We also went to the local turkish baths which I would highly recommend.

Eating out is very pleasant and economical - there is no need to stay half board (sorry Calbis) as there are so many different restaurants to choose from (although the type of food is similar in most restaurants). we ate in the Calbis probaly three or four times and enjoyed it very much, especially the turkish night which was a barbecue and dancing - we had the best lamb dish of the whole holiday on that night.

The Calbis is a true Gem - I would definitely go back and hope to do so in the not too distant future.

We went in August - its very important to take insect repellent of the strong kind!

Room Tip: If you want a fridge in your room you will need to specifically book a room that has one - they do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Saza_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Having been to Dalyan before we had checked out the Calbis on a previous visit and made a direct booking over email. It's a great hotel, quiet location on the edge of town but in easy reach of everything. Very friendly staff, clean and tidy. It more than lived up to our expectations and we would definitely use it again if we ever return to Dalyan.

Always someone around on reception, and security guy overnight. Everything pretty straightforward and a cashless card issued to allow you to charge food and drinks to your room without needing to carry cash. Entire bill was settled on departure.

Next to reception is a TV/Internet room and a lounge area upstairs with a library of books.

There are three blocks of rooms, one at the front joined to reception, one on the side just past reception, both are next to the first pool. Then comes the dining area and bar. On the far side are gardens, another pool, two villas, a third block of rooms, and volley ball court.

Room: We had a family room on the top floor of the third block which had plenty of space, one double and two single beds, wardrobe, dressing table, fridge and balcony (with table and two chairs). The bathroom was small but functional with shower, toilet, wash basin and hair dryer. Good aircon and comfortable beds. Keyfob (magnetic) required to power the room (we asked for a spare so we could keep the fridge on while we were out). Is a basic safe (chargeable).

Grounds + Pools: Well kept gardens and grounds. Places to chill out. The odd cat or dog "adopted" by the hotel, but no bother to anyone. There are two pools (soon to be a third I hear). The first near reception had water jets late afternoon for the kids. The second pool was a few degrees warmer then the first and a little more sheltered. Floats (woggles) were provided at both pools, and plenty of sun beds.

Food: Breakfast was OK. If you've been to Turkey before you will know that breakfasts at the hotels aren't great. Calbis had a reasonable selection of hot and cold items, fresh bread etc. Was above average. It is possible to ask for an omelette any day, we had quite a few. Once or twice a week they have an omelette and pancake station. Bar food (see photo) was actually pretty reasonable and tasty (see photo of menu). We had lunch at the bar most days. We ate out in the evenings so can't comment on their evening meals, but looked to be hot buffet style.

Wifi: A big plus here is the excellent wifi Internet access which is free and available pretty much everywhere. Multiple access points (eg reception, each pool, the bar) so very good coverage. Might be a little more patchy inside and on high floors depending on where your room is. There is also one PC for general use near reception.

Airport transfer: A minibus pickup/dropoff is offered for a fee. It is a nice bus with aircon and bottled water. Only takes half an hour from the airport, if that. We did have a bit of a problem here on the way out. They were collecting another party from a different flight that was due at the same time. However, their flight was slightly late and then they took an eternity to reach the pickup point. We'd been waiting for an hour by this point and were just about to get in a taxi. The sign board they hold up for Calbis is very small and doesn't stand out against the other 100 or so signs being waved! To reach the taxi/bus pickup keep walking out of the airport and past the cafe into a big square in the car park.

If we went again, we'd just get a taxi. It was the same price and you'd be on your way immediately. We lost an hour, and arriving late into Turkey we wanted to get straight out for dinner, so wasn't best pleased. Going back to the airport wasn't a problem.

Location: If you do arrive late, then open till around midnight or maybe longer, you will find a restaurant just down the road, about 3 minutes walk. Turn right our of reception heading for town, and you won't miss it, on the right hand side of the road. Just over from this is a small corner shop which is open late too. You can walk into town in about 10 or 15 minutes, either by road or river. The minibus does a free drop only run into town early evening too.

Courtesy room: A room was made available to shower and change as we were leaving late in the day. This was a regular twin room in the 2nd block (not a lot of space if you are looking to book one like this). It had been used quite a bit during the afternoon I think. They don't provide towels / soap in the courtesy room, so I'd suggest you hang on to one from your room or take your own beach towel. You can pay extra to keep your room (subject to availability). Making towels available (even at a small charge) for use in the courtesy room would be a good idea, or at least let people know to hang on to the ones from the room.

Overall a great holiday and would go to Calbis again. Came close to a 5 rating, but the edge was just taken off by the bus transfer and courtesy room towels. Small points and easily overcome when in the know. One of our party did have a tummy bug during the stay, although this may have be unrelated to Calbis.

Finally a mention to Yasim (Rinaldo) and Mehmet who worked tirelessly and kept a smile on everyone's face. We saw them out and about in town a few times and they always had time for a chat and joke. Great guys, always happy to help.

Nearly forgot, was a stork nest over reception with a baby stork!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BeenB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here in September (b&b). We found the hotel and grounds to be spotlessly clean . The hotel is about a 10 minute walk in to town.The staff we met were all very polite and friendly making us feel very welcome. The pool area was kept tidy and clean ,and was well maintained.we enjoyed our breakfasts and felt that there were plenty of choices on offer, something for everyone. We also had a few lunches from the bar menu which we found to be great value with a range of choices. We really can't fault this hotel and fingers crossed all being well will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julie200111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We arrived on the 13th September this year, and enjoyed two spectacular weeks at this wonderful hotel.All the staff are special and take great pride in offering a fabulous service 10/10.The breakfast offers a great choice both hot and cold, and I would defy anyone to criticise the selection.The two ladies who prepare the omlettes and pancakes, are truely delightful, and they help to start the day with a smile. This positive attitude embraces you all day, until you arrive in the evening at the bar area when you recieve a top up of Turkish hospitality from Mehmet, Metin, and Ronaldo.The hotel also offers its guests the chance to spend a wonderful relaxing day in the company of Captain Ali and his charming wife Phylis, while meandering the Dalyan river, either to the lake, or the unmissable beach barbecue.This is a fantastic hotel and we will return again. A huge thank you to Gokman the owner of the Calbis a little bit of Turkish delight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank derrick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday C, Owner at Holiday Calbis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

thank you for your nice review derrick,and thank you for all our guests who have stayed with us this year and in the past.
for 2014 we will have a brand new pool,our 3rd one, for adults only.
you can book with us direct, with thomas cook or thomson 's.
greetings from sunny dalyan

gokmen
h.c. manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalyan
21.6 mi away
Blue Palace Apartments
Blue Palace Apartments
#41 of 234 in Marmaris
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Safak Apart & Hotel
Safak Apart & Hotel
#1 of 64 in Dalyan
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Club Alla Turca
Club Alla Turca
#9 of 64 in Dalyan
494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#14 of 64 in Dalyan
414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asur Hotel & Aparts & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Calbis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Calbis

Address: Gulpinar no 75, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dalyan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range: £40 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Calbis 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the best Hotel in Dalyan,we have 3 swimming pools, one is for adults only,our garden is the biggest in Dalyan Come and stay ,you will love our place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Calbis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Calbis Hotel Dalyan
Holiday Calbis Dalyan
Hotel Holiday Calbis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing