We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like an oasis”
Review of Holiday Calbis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Calbis
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like an oasis”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just come back from a weeks holiday staying at the calbis. It certainly lived up to its reviews. We wished we had booked for 2 weeks !! It is a quieter family orientated hotel.The gardens are beautiful. You have a choice of 3 pools.1 of them is just for adults. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to help you. We stayed in room 310 which had a great view of the gardens, main pool and mountains.The hotel is kept spotless.We loved the towel model with flowers that was done for us one day. Town is only a ten minute walk away . Even though the hotel puts on a complimentary bus at 7pm if you would prefer a lift. We met some lovely guests. We definitely want to come back !!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    85
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
164
300
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent a long time researching hotels in Dalyan and I am sure hotel Calbis is one of the best. We've just come back from a wonderful two week holiday and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. Our 15 year old daughter loved it there and felt safe and comfortable . The staff were very friendly especially the omelette lady and Ronaldo. The place was clean and well looked after (the floor sometimes got a little slippery) and we met some lovely people. We have come home feeling happy and rejuvenated and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales. U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

When we first visited this hotel 8 years ago we met a guest who had been staying there for 10 years in a row. We thought maybe he was a bit 'sad' but here we are - 8 years and counting.
Calbis is a jewel in the midst of a busy life. The staff, from the incredibly helpful Ebru in reception, Igon the night watchman and Ismael the bar manager, are kind, helpful and unfailingly courteous. The hotel is just big enough to feel exclusive and the gardens are magnificent. There is daily yoga and lots of trips available. This place is so relaxing and only a ten minute walk from town. It is very reasonably priced. We were a party of 17, ranging from 8 to 63. We stayed in a mix of one of the villas and hotel rooms and everyone was delighted with the accomodation and service. I almost don't want to recommend Calbis because I want to keep it all for me!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koalanowater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were recommended this hotel, and were not disappointed. Visited Turkey pre-children on a gulet cruise, and remembered Dalyan particularly.

Arrived at stupid o'clock in the morning, with the wonderful air conditioned transfer minibus waiting for us with lovely cold water. Arrived at the hotel and were shown into a very large room with a double, single and 'rock and roll' sofa bed. All very clean and very tidy. Found out we had a mix up of one suitcase, which was thankfully easily resolved the next day by the transfer bus taking me back into the airport to swap! All arranged by the Calbis, so very, very grateful. (Thank you AGAIN!)

Anyway, back to the hotel, very well kept gardens, pools, dining area, reception etc, etc, all very carefully cleaned every day. The gardens are beautiful, with beanbags and hammocks and lovely flowers and little walkways everywhere. There is also a volleyball area, which we did not use.

Breakfast is great, something for everyone, one day European pancakes, next day Turkish pancakes, every day omelette of choice, or fried eggs, every day a selection of fruit, cereals, Turkish breakfast (cheese, a version of salami, boiled eggs, olives, various fried courgette/pepper dishes, etc etc), beans (home made) mushrooms, toast - the list is endless, you can never tire of the breakfasts. The pools are really warm, one large, one medium and one for adults only. All areas are cleaned every morning and the sunbeds are washed over. There is a library and internet room. The bar drinks are a little pricey for the area, but when it comes to 'about that time' in the afternoon when you just need a cold drink, you have to think "oh well" you are on holiday at the end of the day! The trips with Captain Ali are perfect, if Mrs Ali could open a restaurant, I would eat there every day! We did the sunset cruise (which is probably the most relaxing trip I have ever been on) and the all day snorkelling boat trip. Please pass on our thanks for the wonderful boat trips. It is lovely that only guests from the Calbis are on the trips, means they are not overcrowded and you will see everyone at breakfast in the morning! The staff here are amazing, Ronaldo and Tom Cruize - the biggest thank you for looking after us every day and helping with our very minimal Turkish! You were so friendly and welcoming. Gokmen (the hotel owner), you were always friendly and polite and we loved the fact that you ate breakfast with your guests each day, same food, same area, a lovely thing to see. Previous reviewers complained about the German Frosch group, we never had a problem, the group were always polite and friendly. The Frosch are an activity holiday group for families and I wish we could have the same for English families! (any chance Gokmen?) Also, previous reviewers have mentioned views from rooms and noisy stairs. We were right next to the metal stairs, no problem with noise, you can hear people walking up and down, but it beats a noisy lift! Also, all the rooms have a lovely view, we really wanted a pool view, but had booked too late. The room we had was beautiful, stunning mountains in the background, just overlooking a small road, with minimal cars, as this was the access road for the hotel, very quiet and the balcony got the sun in the morning. We even had a stork and an owl sitting on the roof opposite every morning, just to add a final touch!

The walk from the hotel into town takes about 10 minutes, the walk via the river takes about 25 minutes, both lovely. If you walk straight into town, be sure to stop for dinner at Altintava Restaurant, easily missed, but it is on the right hand side, just before the trip agency. There is a large crib in the first room and the meals are prepared by a family, 3 mains and mixed meze, very Turkish and very lovely. If you walk via the river, be sure not to miss the Sevgi Pancake House, serving pancakes and beautiful fresh sea bream, with the fish from the river waiting for bread!

Food generally is of a very high quality everywhere, you will not be disappointed.

The town itself is a few roads lined with shops and restaurants, if you are looking for lively, this is not the place, if you are looking for an easy, hassle free holiday, with the most welcoming people everywhere you go, this is for you.

Thank you Calbis, thank you Dalyan.

Room Tip: All rooms seem lovely, we had a family room, with a fridge, overlooking the road and mountains. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After reading the good reviews of this hotel we decided to go with it. Generally for the price it's reasonably good value, but from our point of view it didn't live up to the outstanding reviews that have been left but everybody has an individual experience, neither did it fail to make a good base for our holiday so I believe this review is quite unbiased and realistic.

Rooms- we stayed in a double room, which apparently we paid more for but it was at the back of the hotel, despite the Thompson website saying they pick the best rooms in hotels! We asked to change rooms but there was nothing else available at that time so we grinned and bared it. The room was clean had enough storage for us both, no fridge tho so we were always buying new bottles of water rather than being able to store it.
Location- the location for us was spot on, it is literally a 10 min pleasant walk to dalyan town, all on the flat, but far enough away to keep it away from the noise of the town in the evening.
Catering- we stayed on a bed and breakfast board, the breakfast was reasonable and had a good enough selection for all, the lunch menu was overpriced, we had lunch on our first day only. Drinks were extortionate in my opinion in comparison to the town and market prices eg: glass of coke 5 lira (£1.50) which was served from a 1.5litre bottle, the market down the road sold a bottle for round 3lira, granted a profit has to be made and if it was from a can or tap it might not be too bad but, as you are sharing a 1.5L bottle between you and whoever else wants a glass for 5 lira each, personally I think it's a rip off. Efes was served from the tap at about 8lira, my partner said it always tasted like the bottom of the barrel and his glass was never filled up. We wanted an evening meal at the hotel one evening but were told no when we asked, yet when the Germans arrived there was a full buffet on for them(to be fair we didn't know what kind of arrangement they had made as they seem to turn up in truck loads at once).
Staff- the staff were friendly enough but the only ones who stood out to have been making a real effort were "Tom cruise" and "Ronaldo" in the restaurant and the night receptionist was nice too.
Service- rooms were cleaned lightly daily, bedding once or twice a week and same for towels. We were having some minor issues whilst away so we asked if there was anyway we could use a phone only to be told no by someone surrounded by phones, so we had to go in to town to do it which I thought was quite unhelpful as we made it quite obvious we were willing to pay if someone helped. On our last day our pick up time was not until 11pm but checkout was at 12pm, there was an option to purchase late checkout for £20 to checkout at 6pm, but unfortunately our room was unavailable for this service, they did however supply us with a room to shower and freshen up in later on, (this is shared with anyone else requiring it) yet when we asked politely for towels as the last couple who'd used the room before us had used the towels provided, we were turned away, this I found to be extremely poor service. Luckily we found a couple small towels in a cupboard in the room and used them, who knows what the next people who used the room dried themselves with!
Hotel- the hotel had 3 pools, a main pool, the German pool as quoted by a member of staff and a adult only pool, we thought they were joking when they called it the German pool but in the middle of our holiday when over 50% of the hotel was German we soon learnt the German pool was not a joke. The grounds were beautiful and very well kept. The hotel had it's own boat which we saw on the river, and it looked very nice, they also did they're own excursions but we didn't do any with the hotel as it was far more expensive than in the town. The hotel also has a minibus, again very nice, they ran a free service at 7pm every evening into town if you didn't want to walk in.
Overall- this hotel was ok, everything seemed to just hover over acceptable service standards. Personally we don't have a problem with Germans but if you do then this probably isn't the place for you as it is quite German orientated. I would say from what we saw this hotel looked like the nicest in dalyan. Just don't be shocked if it doesn't quite meet the standards that you'd expect from the reviews that have been written.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank XMissJayX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday C, Owner at Holiday Calbis, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
there are some points i would like to say,

you say you paid more for a double bed,it is your tour company you are paying this to and not our hotel.
we dont charge more for double beds or pool view rooms.we dont promise pool view rooms either.so there will always be rooms to the pool side and the back side which doesnt mean you had a bad room.

we dont advertise in any brochure that we have fridges in all rooms, (planning for 2015)

we have fridges in family rooms,suite rooms and inter connecting rooms.

on your last day we offer all our guests a late check out no matter if its their own room or another one for an extra charge of 20,- pounds or a shared room with all guests who are leaving ( which our guests are told before ) for having a shower for free.

so it is our guests decission to share the shower room with other guests or to book a late check out room for there own.

we dont provide towels for the shower room and this is what all guests who use this room are told.

prices:

i dont know what you expect,market prices in a 3 star hotel? you can not get it in a pension.
all our prices are reasonable, beer prices are not 8 lira as you mentioned.

we have german guests in our hotel as all other hotels have in dalyan, in the summer holidays ,


''Personally we don't have a problem with Germans but if you do then this probably isn't the place for you as it is quite German orientated''

if we read this, this sounds rassistic.

turkish ,english or german,or other nationalities, all guests are always welcome in our hotel
our hotel is not a german orientated hotel,its a international orientated hotel.

our 3 pools are for all our guests,so there is no pool for germans only,
i dont understand what you want to tell us.

in one thing you are right, holiday calbis is the best hotel in dalyan,thats why my guests are coming back year after year , this is about 70 %.and i want to say thank you to all my guests.

we always try to be nr. 1

thank you


gokmen mihcioglu

holiday calbis

owner and manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from my 2nd stay at Holiday Calbis and I thoroughly enjoyed my holiday there. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens and has 3 good sized pools (one just for adults which is great for peace and quiet) all of which are a lovely temperature and have lots of sun loungers around them. The rooms and communal areas are all immaculate and great pride is taken in the cleanliness and presentation of the hotel. The bar is, as you would expect, more expensive than in the town itself but is still very reasonably priced, serving tasty food and ice cold drinks. Breakfast is excellent with the usual breads, jams, cheeses, salads, meats etc being supplemented by omelettes, crepes and Turkish pancakes made to order each morning. There is also a range of hot food each morning, eggs, beans, cheese pastries etc. We were there for a fortnight and didn't get bored of the breakfast. The staff on this hotel are, without exception, superb. All are friendly, helpful and happy to chat as much as their English will allow. Special thanks to Ebru who was invariably helpful and also to Ronaldo and Tom Cruise who made us laugh every day. I will definitely go back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank TheOncomingStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Holiday Calbis. Still as great as last year, the hotel is clean and all the staff are friendly and helpful. The new pool is wonderful as it is quiet and adults only, I did notice a couple of teenagers with their parents so hope this doesn't encourage others to use it. This is the only hotel and resort that I have ever wanted to visit again and I still feel the same. I love the quietness of the hotel and the resort itself. I hope it doesn't get more touristy as I feel that would ruin it. If you want a lively beach holiday this is not for you. If you want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful part of Turkey where you can eat out and enjoy a quiet good value meal then I can recommend Dalyan and especially the Holiday Calbis Hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank smithylondon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
0.6 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
1.2 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#15 of 63 in Dalyan
399 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sedir Resort
Sedir Resort
#6 of 63 in Dalyan
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calypso Plus
Hotel Calypso Plus
#17 of 63 in Dalyan
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Alla Turca
Club Alla Turca
#12 of 63 in Dalyan
478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Montana
Boutique Hotel Montana
#23 of 63 in Dalyan
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Calbis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Calbis

Property: Holiday Calbis
Address: Gulpinar no 75, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dalyan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Calbis 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the best Hotel in Dalyan,we have 3 swimming pools, one is for adults only,our garden is the biggest in Dalyan Come and stay ,you will love our place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Calbis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Calbis Hotel Dalyan
Holiday Calbis Dalyan
Hotel Holiday Calbis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing