We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalyan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mehtap Hotel Dalyan
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My wife and I spent a wonderful week at this lovely hotel in September. It was the first time we have stayed at the Mehtap. We chose it after reading the reviews of previous guests and also by having a look at the photos of the hotel. We were made welcome right from the start by Umit ,Serap and Erdem. They made us feel like they had known us for ages.
The breakfast was very good, I particularly looked forward to the " little extras" at breakfast that would suddenly appear. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean for us, and it was a real plus to have hot water whenever we needed it.
Another plus was the how comfortable the bed was. I say this because my wife and I are both prone to bad backs but we both found that we had no problems here.
The only thing I would say is that it did seem a little cramped around the pool area with the number of sunbeds, however that did not spoil our enjoyment.
Dalyan itself is a lovely place to base yourself nd is within easy acces to a lot of attractions, like Turtle Beach, Saklikent Gorge, the mud baths and many more. There are many wonderful restaurants to go to in Dalyan and we tried to visita different one each evening. Aplce we do recommend would be Cafe Iz where you can some wondeful home made cakes and snacks and a proper pot of tea. You will also find some interesting gift ideas here if you want something typicaly Turkish.
From speaking to other guests it appeared that most of them had been several times before, in fact we felt the odd ones out being "newbies" but we were made to feel very welcome by all and certainly will go again to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

This is one exceptionally clean little hotel. We had to endure an unexpected heatwave and the very efficient (and included in the price air con) was most welcome. Very quiet and peaceful yet just a stone's throw from the beautiful harbour and an amazing selection of restaurants. Best bathrooms we have ever had when staying in Turkey, even in very expensive accommodation. Hot water never failed. Whatever time of day or night it was always plentiful. Solidly built hotel which meant we were never disturbed by any other guests moving about either next to our room or above it - something I dread on holiday. Got a bit bored with the breakfasts even with the tasty daily additions provided by the amazingly hard-working lady who cooks and cleans all day long and always with a smile on her face. Would have loved a shady area to sit in away from the pool which has no real shade apart from juggling with umbrellas. OK as long as there is no wind to topple them over and if you are happy to spend hours sitting on a sun lounger, which many of us find difficult with ageing bones. Just a suggestion Umit, maybe you could convert a little of your vegetable garden to accommodate a few comfy chairs under those beautiful trees? Speaking to other guests, it would be a very welcome, popular addition to your facilities. I know your wife is very fond of her garden as it is and there is now a new family of chickens to accommodate, but whenever we have stayed at other small Turkish family run hotels, we have spent many a happy hour in a shady garden. I was very envious of the guests in the hotel next door which has a lovely garden with seating. There is no denying that for a budget rated hotel, you get amazing value for money with excellent, friendly service and attention to detail. To the disgrunted American guests who left such a stinging review a while back, I can only think that they must have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurreyWoodytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Having read the review of 17 August, we returned with some trepidation to the Mehtap. Had the helpful and quietly spoken Umit suffered a breakdown? What had turned this restrained, self-effacing young man into a sreaming tartar? We discovered that ten old friends in the hotel (also returning for the umpteenth time) has all been asking themselves similar questions.
None of us need have worried. Umit is the same gentle person that we know and love. As usual, nothing was too much trouble and both he and Serap ensured that our three week holiday ws as delightful as its thirty plus predecessors.John and Jill.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jilldec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This was our 3rd visit to the Mehtap and it just gets better and better Umit was very busy over the winter and has updated the property in general and the bathrooms especially! One thing that has not changed is the very friendly welcome you get at this hotel. Bearing in mind that it is a small family run establishment and the budget cost. you will not get luxuries in the rooms but you do get spotlessly clean surroundings both inside and out and friendly helpful service from Umit, Serap or Erdem -at least one of whom are on site at all times and happy to answer any queries you may have. Nothing is too much trouble- any small problem with the room etc is dealt with immediately I think it is one reason so many people return to this hotel - indeed we met up with 4 groups of people that we had met there before and they all say the same thing as us- they do not normally return to anywhere but the Mehtap and Dalyan itself have so much to offer. New guests we met also were implying they would be returning We have already booked for next year! See you then

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2jacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Unit and his family will welcome you and we certainly cannot fault our stay.

Rooms always prestinely cleaned , good aircon, sheets and towels changed all the time.

Great pool and never crowded. Breakfast Turkish but with variety each morning.

Erdem the macho pool man is great although he shaves his chest!

Thanks for our great week with you. I am sure we will be back sometime.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Would certainly go back to this hotel. Umit and his family were very friendly and made our holiday very relaxing. Hotel has a great pool,- a must in the high temperatures in August. Very clean everywhere and great value for money. He will even supply you with beach towels if you ask. Food everywhere of high standard and low cost. Easy to change money at local post office which is open for long hours.Market on Saturday good fun. If a few of you go it is cheaper and better to hire a boat for the day privately from on of the many stands- would recommend Timur (the sunflowers boat) as he does a great barbeque .

Room Tip: Just email Umit and tell him what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We were really looking forward to this stay, given all the glowing reviews and the Trip Advisor award. My interactions with Umit ahead of our stay were also very positive and he was very responsive.

This was a family vacation and we booked 4 rooms to accommodate 7 adults and one 3 yr-old. We arrived in the late afternoon and received a lukewarm welcome -- certainly not what I was expecting. Umit and the other young man did help us get bags up to the rooms, but there was a lot of confusion about who was in which room, despite my detailed descriptions of our needs ahead of time. And neither of them did anything to help us figure out the best solutions, just left us to work it out ourselves. The rooms were also blazingly hot, as the AC had not been turned on for our arrival. (Umit arranged our transportation from the airport and knew when we'd be arriving.)

We also were not given any information at our check-in that one would expect to receive verbally or to find on a printed sheet in the room. Such basic information as the time frame and location of the included breakfast, the time that the front door is locked, and how to get into the hotel if you come in late, etc.

While others have reported fantastic and friendly customer service, our experience was very different. At best we were ignored during the 3 days and 4 nights we stayed, in the worst case we were screamed at and berated by Umit.

We became used to being ignored, and were a pretty self-sufficient group, but on the occasions that we did need to ask a question, the answers were perfunctory and clipped. They never approached us to see how we were enjoying our stay or offered any other kind of information on things to do in the area.

The worst of it came though on our first full day at the hotel. We had taken an outing to the beach, and brought our hotel towels with us to dry off. We did not use them for lying out on the sand, only to dry ourselves after showering at the end of our beach time. On coming back to the hotel, we requested new towels for our room, turning in the wet, but still clean and white, towels we had taken to the beach.

Umit was visibly furious that we had taken the towels off the premises to the beach and literally yelled at us about this. We protested that we were not aware that it wasn't permitted and asked if there were other towels we should have taken instead. In a very cutting tone of voice he yelled that he has never had to tell anyone else that this wasn't allowed, implying that we were complete idiots not to have figured this out on our own.

He stomped off to get us new towels, and while he was away, his wife acted very embarrassed about the exchange. When I tried to engage her to ask about the availability of other towels, all she could say was "I am sorry." and "Umit is coming." He basically threw the clean towels at us.

We traveled from the US to come to Dalyan, and are not accustomed to bringing our own towels on vacation. Nowhere on the hotel website is this mentioned, nor did Umit share this information in any of our pre-trip emails. Perhaps the people who come to Mehtap year after year know this already, but this experience of being screamed at and treated as if we were stupid has ensured that we will NEVER come back to this hotel. Nor will we recommend it to any of our other traveling friends or acquaintances.

Other beach hotels I have stayed at in Hawaii, Mexico, Thailand, and Italy have either permitted the use of their regular towels, or provided specific beach towels. I recommend that Mehtap invest in some extra beach towels, in lieu of ruining customer relationships with rude expressions of ill-placed fury.

OK, maybe he was just having a bad day... but no apologies were offered, and he just went back to ignoring us as before. I want to add too that we are calm and friendly people ourselves always with a smile at the ready and positive, constructive attitude that generally invites warm engagement.

On the positive side, the hotel is quite clean, and we were comfortable physically, if not energetically. It is a hotel of hard surfaces and thin walls however, so if you are sensitive to sound, it may not be the place for you.

The rooms we had were reasonable in size, but not terribly well thought-out in terms of function. There were no suitcase stands or tables where you could set a suitcase. A single short rod in the bathroom was the only place to hang towels, and there was not much horizontal space for toiletries or any hooks from which to hang travel bags of toiletries. Overall clean but cold and uninviting.

Also in #301, we had to cover the shower drain whenever it was not in use, as a terrible sewage stench emanated from it if it wasn't actively draining water. This didn't happen the first day, but started and continued for our second and third days there.

Breakfast was nice and tasty, with one or two selections that changed daily and offered in a lovely covered table area. And the young people that provided the service in the morning were pleasant enough.

So some good, mostly average, some downright negative experiences at Mehtap.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms had balconies with clotheslines (except #301 had no clothesline). Only #301 had a separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jdselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuglaMehtap, Manager at Mehtap Hotel Dalyan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Hello dear guest.I am Umit Cakar the owner and the manager of Dalyan Mehtap Hotel.I remember you stayed in our hotel 3 nights( not 4 nights ) and you never tried to talk and know us.We were friendly and ready enough to answer your questions as allways we do to our guests.We have lots of beach towels but you NEVER asked about the beach tovels to have .
When you talk in English to my wife(Serap) she kindly tried to say " sorry I can not speak English and Ümit is coming " ( because she really can not speak English ) If you were expecting 5 star comfort it was wrong choice to come to our hotel, as you know our hotel has 16 rooms and we are a budget,basic, clean and comfortable family run hotel.Last winter we renovated all the rooms and the bathrooms.Your 4 rooms were ready when you arrive to hotel ,Erdem helped to carry your luggages and I was with you till the last person go in to the room.It takes only 5 minutes to get cool the rooms when you press the "on" button on the remote control of the airconditioner( if it was difficult to do it I could do it for you if you remind me ) I am sorry you felt this way.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Calbis
Holiday Calbis
#3 of 64 in Dalyan
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
1.1 mi away
Sedir Resort
Sedir Resort
#8 of 64 in Dalyan
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Calypso Plus
Hotel Calypso Plus
#16 of 64 in Dalyan
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Alla Turca
Club Alla Turca
#9 of 64 in Dalyan
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalyan Doga Hotel
Dalyan Doga Hotel
#10 of 64 in Dalyan
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mehtap Hotel Dalyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mehtap Hotel Dalyan

Address: Gulpinar Mah. 337 Sok. No:4, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dalyan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
#8 Family Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range: £39 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the family run Hotel Mehtap, built in characteristic Mugla architecture. The quiet hotel is in walking distance to the center of Dalyan. We have 16 rooms (twin or double) with toilet and shower, all of them have a balcony.The swimming pool is situated at the front of the Hotel surrounded by chairs, loungers and umbrellas. Drinks and snacks are available at the pool bar throughout the day and evening.Please come and join us to be one of our regular guest... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dalyan Mehtap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing