We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mehtap Hotel Dalyan
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
LEICESTER ENGLAND (UK)
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

We have just spent a fantastic 2 weeks (13th -27th July 2009) at the Mehtap Hotel Dalyan which is within a 10 minute slow walk to the town centre and a vast array of great riverside restaurants serving traditional Turkish and, if you wish, English cuisine.

The Mehtap Hotel is located in a quiet part of Dalyan with the mountains as a back drop. This charming, small and friendly hotel is managed by Umit who speaks very good English and his wife Serap. We found them both very welcoming and hospitable.

We had a room for three people with air conditioning, which was cleaned daily. The young lady who cleaned our room added an artist touch with regards to the way the fresh clean towels were folded and displayed on our beds in the shapes of swans surrounded by purple bougainvillea petals. Fantastic.

The swimming pool which like the rest of the hotel is kept very clean always had plenty of sun beds and umbrellas around its perimeter. If you require a drink or lunchtime snack from the hotel there is a shaded area of grape vines for you to sit under relaxing and contemplating out of the rays of the midday sun.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast bases as we enjoy eating out at the local restaurants, however evening meals are available from the Hotel if required. Do try Umit’s barbeque evening which we found to be very reasonable and a great way to talk and meet with the other hotel guests.

In addition to the above as a small and friendly hotel, myself, my wife and our 15 year old daughter met some lovely Dutch, Turkish and English people during our stay.

To conclude a great hotel which deserves its TripAdviser “Travellers Choice 2009” award. My wife, myself and our fifteen year old daughter would highly recommend the Mehtap Hotel, for its high standards, quality of service, friendliness and value.


We will be back !!!

Andrew, Jane & Laura Whitehouse. (Leicester, England)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WHITEHOUSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    18
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
72
169
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

I've been with my friends for 10 days at Mehtap hotel in June 2009. For me it was the most charming hotel I've ever been. Umit and Serap are really friendly and warm people . We had a room at 'the pool side' and had a lovely view. The room was clean and breakfast was very nice. I certainly go back... Umit, if you read this... how are the cats? :-))

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

Umit and Serap treated us like part of their family on our arrival. It was our 4th time in the Mehtap in June 2009 and will not be the last.We met up with people from previous holidays and enjoyed the company of others who no doubt will be going back to enjoy the delights of Dalyan. the surrouonding countryside, coast and Turkish people.Everyone receives the same personal attention from Umit Serap and their staff with plenty of laughter when trying to learn and use the Turkish language. The hotel is situated in a quiet area with a comfortable walk to the village which has more than enough amenities. The Mehtap is spotlessly clean both inside and out with simply furnished rooms. The Turkish breakfast is plentiful and lunchtime snacks and weekly barbercues good value for money. For the swimmers a super pool. Overall all the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard1Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

It's all been said and everything reported previously is 100% correct.

The hotel was spotless and outside areas hosed down twice daily and the rooms were also cleaned daily. Mention must go to the maid who made up the beds occasionally festooning them with flowers and forming the towels into ornate shapes.

Umit, family and staff were all very attentive without being pushy and as previously stated, nothing was too much trouble.

The barbeque evenings were an excellent way of meeting fellow guests and the 3 courses represent good value for money, Breakfast is another communal meet-up and all nations get on famously despite the language differences.

Only 1 negative issue needs addressing and it is common to many hotels and that is the slippery surfaces in the bathroom when wet. A fellow guest suggested putting down a beach mat or similar and when brought to Umit's attention he did say he would address the problem - but I'm guessing perhaps next year.

Whould we go back - definately. "She who must be obeyed" and yours truely met some great people and even went on a couple of boat trips organised by regular guests, Mike & Carolyne.

A further thanks to Umit, family and staff - the only question now is not if but when we return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

My partner and I returned to the Mehtap Hotel for the third time in just over a year. To say we had counted the days since our last visit was an understatement. The warmth of Umit and Seraps welcome is just the start of what is always an idyllic holiday. We were fortunate enough to meet up with old friends and make new. The atmosphere amongst the guests is always one of friendliness and a keenness to share in the beauties of this delightful place.

it is to their credit that Umit and Serap have been chosen as "Best budget Hotel in Turkey for 2009" they have most certainly earned the accolade.

One of my most enduring memories of this visit is watching a sixteen year old, an eight year old and four year old Kirim, Umit and Seraps son, playing happily together in the pool and, indeed , going off to town together. The cameradie they had belied age and language differentials.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bensonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at the Mehtap with my 16 year old son this month and wanted to say what a lovely time we both had.

I found the hotel on trip advisor, read the reviews and wanted to stay. I had previously visited Dalyan and wanted to base myself there for my next trip to Turkey.

The Mehtap is a small, budget hotel. That is however all that is small and budget about this hotel. The service, the welcome, the friendliness and the attention Umit and Serap pay to their guests comfort and enjoyment is huge. My holiday plans changed at the last moment and thus my 16 year old accompanied me instead of my partner. Ordinarily I would have chosen a livlier hotel and resort if I were taking my family. However I need not have worried - my son loved his stay there!! The sheer friendliness of the staff and guests (many of whom are returnees) was such that it was impossible not to feel welcome and relaxed.

We will definetely be returning and I would have no hesitation in recommending the Mehtap to anyone considering a trip to Dalyan

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumof4Lincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

i visited this hotel back in 01 and 02, just been reading the latest reviews and have been inspired to look at returning after spending the last six years holidaying in bodrum. when i visited it was run by kameron and his wife and his brother in law, kameron's son deniz alp was a little cutie, as was the hotel dog - moonlight! often wonder what happened to them and where they went, if anyone knows i would love to see some info on these dalyan reviews!
will certainly look at a return trip this september and see if it is still as relaxing. (i did not stay in june 2006 but it was the earliest dat that it would allow me to use)

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
0.4 mi away
Safak Apart & Hotel
Safak Apart & Hotel
#1 of 62 in Dalyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Calypso Plus
Hotel Calypso Plus
#12 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
Hotel Keskin Dalyan
#7 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#16 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Berg Hotel
Berg Hotel
#18 of 62 in Dalyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Calbis
Holiday Calbis
#2 of 62 in Dalyan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mehtap Hotel Dalyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mehtap Hotel Dalyan

Property: Mehtap Hotel Dalyan
Address: Gulpinar Mah. 337 Sok. No:4, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dalyan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
#8 Family Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the family run Hotel Mehtap, built in characteristic Mugla architecture. The quiet hotel is in walking distance to the center of Dalyan. We have 16 rooms (twin or double) with toilet and shower, all of them have a balcony.The swimming pool is situated at the front of the Hotel surrounded by chairs, loungers and umbrellas. Drinks and snacks are available at the pool bar throughout the day and evening.Please come and join us to be one of our regular guest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mehtap Hotel Dalyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalyan Mehtap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing