We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Just Perfect”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalyan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mehtap Hotel Dalyan
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Our first trip to Turkey. We had two teenagers and a 10 year old to entertain and found the hotel's pool, bar and location excellent for a family. My 15 year old daughter enjoyed the shops. My slightly older son the spectacular scenery and exotic creatures and my youngest the pool.
This was simply a perfect break away from the stresses of modern life. Umit, Serap and family are charming hosts and ever ready to lend a hand.
There are lots of activities and trips the whole family can enjoy and the town is large enough to accommodate enough bars and restaurants that you can't possibly visit them all in just two weeks. In short, there's no shortage of choice for all tastes .
The Hotel rooms are comfortable and adequate, and while the bathrooms needed upgrading we understand this was being done this year. The restaurant right opposite the hotel is excellent, as is the pancake bar just a little further into town. The centre of Town is only a 5 minute, flat walk away and can be accessed by main road or strolling along the river front if you prefer. As for mosquitoes, we weren't really bothered by them, but always had plenty of repellent on at night.
We are looking forward to our return visit this year and hope to see some now familiar faces.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guernsey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Mehtap on many occasions and every time we stay it just gets better. We first started going to the hotel on our own, but now our daughter and her partner love the place as well, so much so we will all be returning in June 2011 for another glorious 2 weeks.
Ümit, Serap and their 2 children Ceren and Kerem are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure your stay is a very happy one.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldwasp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We have been meaning to write a review for Umit and Serap and their lovely little hotel in Dalyan for some months. We stayed in July 2010 for two weeks and it was such a relaxing holiday. We met some good people and enjoyed canoeing on the river as well as hiring a motor boat for the day, going up the river to the lake. We were spoilt for choice regarding places to eat and spent many a day just lazing by the lovely pool at Hotel Mehtap before going out and stuffing our faces.
Umit always greets his guests personally and sees them off to the airport too regardless of the time of night. This really sums up the level of hospitality and care you can expect.
Well worth at least two weeks of anybody's time - more if you can do it!!
Thanks Ümit and Serap and family for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Muttley1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

There is very little left that has not been said about the Mehtap - there is a magic about this quaint hotel that captures your heart. Umit and Serap are the friendliest of hosts you could wish for, and their small team of staff ensure that the hotel is spotless, and the breakfast table is always well stocked.

Where else, I wonder, would you get clean towels every day and clean bedlinen every couple of days, when staying in a budget hotel? True the "wetrooms" are dated, but Umit has commenced a programe of refurbishment, so those who do not find the eccentricities of the showers as amusing as my partner and I, should be satisfied next season.

The pool area is spotless and very pretty, and there is an abundance of sunbeds for those who do not wish to venture into the the town and the beautiful countryside surrounding it.

We always arrive at The Mehtap knowing that we will have a charming, relaxing holiday, and I always leave in tears! What more can I say?

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bensonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

The Mehtap hotel is a small hotel five minutes easy walk to the centre of town. There is a medium size pool with lovely, though compact surrounds, plenty of sun loungers and a bar. Umit, his wife, 'Erdem and the team do a fabouous job in a friendly, yet understated way. Erdem has a particually wicked sense of humour, turning the sprinklers on the pool on when 'someone' was floating sleepily on a lilo! To great laughter and smiles all round!
The breakfast is plentiful,but Turkish not Continental or English, so expect tomatoes, cucumber, olives, cheeses, melon, bread and another 'daily special', with instant coffee and tea. The breakfast area is outside, under vines and very pleasent indeed.There is a snack and lunch menu but we didn't try it, too many other places to choose from in town. We had a lovely BBQ at the hotel on the Sunday, which is a weekly occurance, for 30tl a head, £12.50, with soup, meze with bread and a plate of bbq meats with salad. Beers and wines are the same as in town, as is coke. Bottled water is cold and average price, though it can be bought just down the road at half the price but for the sake of pennies the convenience outweighs the extra cost.
The room we had was on the ground floor with a terrace looking on to the pool. The one problem with this was that we weren't particually early risers, missing breakfast a couple of times, (in UK time 6am - 8am!) so were woken by people chatting loudly to other guests, from their sunloungers, right outside our window . Not much point lying in after that!
The room had free air conditioning which we used at night to help us sleep but not during the day as it would have been noisy for guests on the poolside (!) and there was always a lovely breeze anyway. Our room was basic but with plenty of storage space for two and had a hair dryer, a bonus for my teenage daughter. What it didn't have was a bedside light which meant I had to keep the room light on to read by after my daughter had gone to sleep, she didn't mind but if it were the other way round I would have had difficulty getting to sleep. May be Umit could look at this. The beds were comfortable and the room kept spotless, with clean towels daily and sheets every two days.
I didn't like the bathroom much as it passed its best decorwise (the door had swollen and needed slamming to shut) and it was a wet room and as such I had to get in first each morning so as not to have a wet toilet, wet PJ's and wet feet before showering! Umit told me that they are going to upgrade all the bathrooms to include shower cubicles this winter after starting with one this year, so this won't be an issue next season.
Overall I really enjoyed my stay at The Mehtap and look forward to the new improved bathrooms next year.
Dalyan itself was a delight second week of September, but I don't think I would like it so much in the school holidays. Too hot and too noisy by all accounts. The guys trying to pull people into restaurants were gentlemen, every one, taking a polite 'no thanks' happilyish and still continuing to engage you in good natured conversation each time you passed. A perfect town for a mother and 19 year old daughter, we felt safe at all times and there was plenty to do that engaged both of us. I especially recommend time at the Turkish baths for a scrub and polish and the evening cruise on to the lake with mudbaths, thermal pools and bbq. Beautiful. There is something for everyone here, except if you want quaint, rural, village style, may be try somewhere else not so geared up for tourism. I'm not sure how long Dalyan will resist the all out hard sell but at the moment its just right for us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJFSamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

After spending a few days in Kalkan, we were delighted when, after a phone call to Umit, he managed to squeeze us in for a couple of days at the end of our holiday. It was well worth the cost of the hire car and petrol to see Umit and his lovely wife Serap again - and to find that there were some other guests we had met on a previous holiday. The fact that almost everybody was on a return visit ( and for many they had returned numerous times), speaks for itself. The Mehtap provides genuine Turkish hospitality and nothing is too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our all too brief stay and will be returning with friends in June next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovegoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Just returned from another fantastic weeks stay with umit and serap at the Mehtap. Believe me everybody deserves a stay here, its Dalyan personified, Beautiful, relaxing, spotless and very very friendly. everybody returns year on year so its just like holidaying with all your friends. Thank you umit ,serap and everybody else for once again making our holiday so so special.

barry and mary

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt_hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
0.6 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Safak Apart & Hotel
Safak Apart & Hotel
#1 of 64 in Dalyan
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sedir Resort
Sedir Resort
#7 of 64 in Dalyan
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Asur Hotel & Aparts & Villas
0.2 mi away
Holiday Calbis
Holiday Calbis
#2 of 64 in Dalyan
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalyan Doga Hotel
Dalyan Doga Hotel
#13 of 64 in Dalyan
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mehtap Hotel Dalyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mehtap Hotel Dalyan

Address: Gulpinar Mah. 337 Sok. No:4, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dalyan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dalyan
#8 Family Hotel in Dalyan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range: £16 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the family run Hotel Mehtap, built in characteristic Mugla architecture. The quiet hotel is in walking distance to the center of Dalyan. We have 16 rooms (twin or double) with toilet and shower, all of them have a balcony.The swimming pool is situated at the front of the Hotel surrounded by chairs, loungers and umbrellas. Drinks and snacks are available at the pool bar throughout the day and evening.Please come and join us to be one of our regular guest... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dalyan Mehtap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing