We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for a holiday”
Review of Palme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palme Hotel
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We found ourself in the Palme as part of Thompson's Dalyan checkout day. Seemed the perfect idea before a late flight. Somewhere to rest, eat and freshen up.
We had had a wonderful holiday culminating in a splendid day visiting Dalyan and Iztuzu Beach so it was sad to spend the final hours of it in this terrible hotel. The room we were given felt like some kind of brothel - small, dark, seedy. Bed just fitted the room with almost no extra space. Light bulb in bathroom didn't work. Air con didn't work, No plug in sink. Shower leaked. No shampoo. Towels small and scratchy. Our kids' room was marginally better as it had a TV.
The staff were lethargic and unhelpful. The food was ok, serviceable, but the drinks were extortionately priced and there were no other local options.
I sat on the sunbed for a bit and ants crawled all over me.
Fortunately our flight was at 10 so we were picked up at 7 and didn't have to spend too long here, but I wouldn't recommend it for anything other than an hour or two. And a pretty deflating end to what had been until then a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Don't go there for a holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We, like many others who have reviewed this hotel, were put here as part of a 'Dalyan Checkout' arranged by Thomsons. We had just spent ten fantastic days in Ovacik, visiting Hisaronu, Olodeniz, and Fethiye, and basically having a great time, so we saw no reason for this to be any different, and especially as it was rated a 3star hotel, how bad could it be? Unfortunately Turkish hospitality has yet to make it to this hotel. We felt that as we were there as part of a 'checkout', and only there a short time, there was no reason to make us feel welcome. Rooms were basic in the extreme, and although we had working air con, we had to go and get the remote control to operate it from reception! (Not sure who would steal a remote, but I guess it takes all sorts..) The meal was fine enough, but 5TL for two bottles of water was the most we had spent on water the whole holiday. I know it's still less than a quid a bottle, but that's not the point I'm trying to make. It was more like 'Well you're getting your meal free, so I'll make my money elsewhere'.
All in all a very disappointing end to an otherwise excellent, and very well organised holiday, and if we go back to the same area next year we'll be staying at our comfortable, clean, and friendly hotel until its time to go home, not in a holding pen.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank keithrennie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a few hours whilst on the Dalyan Checkout tour on the way to the airport.

The hotel looks like it has been refurbished and redecorated recently and is a lovely quiet hotel. The rooms are in a horseshoe shape around the central court yard and pool which is really nice,

The rooms are small but have a balcony, They are very clean and tidy with fresh towels, a nice touch too was that they provided British plug adaptors in the rooms. The only problem we noticed was a missing panel above the bathroom door.

Its very quiet and the courtyard and pool area is great, the pool is crystal clear and with lots of plants and flowers around makes it nice and relaxed.

The food was a buffet and was excellent, lots of choice and all freshly made, Drinks are a bit expensive though, The service was great and the staff very helpful too.

We would recommend this hotel and the Dalyan check out trip too,

Room Tip: Chose a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldhamfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Without a doubt the worst hotel I've ever stayed in! We like many others also stayed here as part of our check-out, wish we'd just sat in a bar instead. I had 2 hours sleep due to the staff watching some show at high volume until midnight, after that we endured the bad mannered receptionist shouting at his computer game up until our departure.

The pool was disgusting, I started going down the ladders, until I saw all the slime on the pool walls & dirt floating about in the water!

The shower went scalding hot-cold and the whole thing actually fell off the wall when I moved the shower head.

Terrible, terrible hotel, more like someone's house!! Thompson should be ashamed!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollym9997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stopped over for a late flight . We knew it was NOT going to be the majesty Park Tuana .
The hotel looks really appealing from the outside ; the reception is comfortable and the main feature is the pool area which looks relaxing .
We were shown to our room ; which was soo small and almost fell on top of each other . We had 2 Towels that were put on the bed that were hard and did it seemed that they belonged to the boys on duty . The air conditioning did not work!!
The door to the bathroom did not close, and the water taps in the shower did not work properly .
There was a big gap on the main door underneath .
The bed was hard and the sheets really rough .... Travel Lodge would be more luxury .
We had food which was ok although Luke warm.
The pool had Algee green slime on the side and some at the bottom of the pool .
We were not really made to feel relaxed and it just wasn't very hospitable . We couldn't wait to catch our flight. Thank God we were not staying the night .

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on this hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukhiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here as part of a Dalyan departure excursion. Thankfully we did not have to stay overnight! The reception has been done up to make the hotel look nice but the rooms were gloomy, extremely basic and felt dirty. Don't believe the photos they have put on their website - they have clearly edited them to make the pool area look bigger than it is when in fact there didn't seem to be enough room to put sunbeds around the murky pool. The light in the room did not even work properly and the bathroom had a door which led out to the tiny pool area. Another couple we spoke to were unlucky enough to have a bathroom overun by ants and I expect that this was because the outside bathroom door had a large gap underneath it. Our room did have a balcony which overlooked an overgrown and uncared for garden area. The food was a basic buffet (however, this seemed to be the case in several places in Turkey for half-board), but was not awful. However, while guests where still eating their dinner the staff brought their own dinner out to a table and this looked nicer than the food provided to the guests. Their didn't seem to be many people who had booked to stay there intentionally, and I am not surprised. Their website makes the hotel look decent to stay in but I really would not recomment the Palme Hotel in Dalyan.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a few hours as part of our Dalyan Discovery day whilst waiting for our plane.
The rooms are very clean and all overlook the pool. It has a lovely homely feel to it and the food that was cooked was delicious!! If you want somewhere family run and relaxing this place is brilliant!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princess_jasmine90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
0.8 mi away
Sedir Resort
Sedir Resort
#7 of 64 in Dalyan
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rota Hotel
Rota Hotel
#31 of 64 in Dalyan
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dalyan Terrace Hotel
Dalyan Terrace Hotel
#30 of 64 in Dalyan
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palmeden Hotel
Palmeden Hotel
#59 of 64 in Dalyan
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#14 of 64 in Dalyan
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Han Dalyan Hotel
Han Dalyan Hotel
#33 of 64 in Dalyan
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palme Hotel

Address: Ataturk Mah.Donmez Sok No 6, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Dalyan
Price Range: £24 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellcome to your house in Dalyan.If you want to enjoy the golden sands of Iztuzu beach and the connection point of magical crystal blue waters of Aegean and Mediterranean seas while watching the spectacular beauties of history, you're at the correct address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Palme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing