We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all true!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalyan Garden Pension
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Dalyan
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's all true!”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just returned from a ten day break at this wonderful small hotel. We chose this on the basis of the many good reviews already on TA. Expectations were therefore pretty high and I'm delighted to say were exceeded.

From the point of booking, everything went smoothly. Communication was excellent and the booking confirmed with no deposit - just email confirmation of our flights. Airport transfers were also arranged for us to be paid on arrival. The comfortable Mercedes people carrier was waiting when we arrived at Dalaman. We arrived in the evening, the bar was in full swing and we were made to feel at home straight away.

Rooms are simple but spotlessly clean, the bathroom is spacious with a 'wet room' style shower. There is also a walk in dressing area with plenty of storage. Our room was on the ground floor and had a small terrace with table and chairs. Breakfast was included in the very reasonable room rate and was typical turkish, simple and tasty. Additional items are available on request. There is also free wi-fi

What really makes this place (and many other reviewers have said the same) is the people. Ercan, pronounced Erjan with a soft 'j' although he answers to most things, including 'air con' is a wonderful host. He and the small team really make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The bar in the evening has a great atmosphere, largely down to Ercan who has a great sense of humour and ensures everyone is included. He hosts a Sunday bbq party but there are often other, impromptu events according to demand. While we were there, we had a midweek fish bbq and a lunch following a crab fishing trip when Fatima cooked traditional turkish pancakes (absolutely delicious).

I can't complete this review without mentioning Osman (Fatima's husband) - he runs boat trips and has the widest smile ever! We did two trips with him, one full day which included swimming, lunch, mud baths, river & lake cruise and benefit of his expertise on the local area - excellent value. We also went crab fishing and hauled in a record 27 crabs - we enjoyed a good lunch that day..

In conclusion, if you are looking for 5 star luxury this is not the place for you, but if you value warm hospitality and a relaxed atmosphere, I would absolutely recommend Dalyan Garden Pension, we had a wonderful holiday and met lots of lovely people...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbunny011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
141
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Four of us stayed here recently for ten days (8 - 18th September). We could not have had a better experience from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The rooms are simple, but a good size and very clean. The pool and garden area is breathtaking, we could very easily have stayed at the pension all day every day! But if you do venture into town, I cannot recommend highly enough taking a boat trip with Osman (Ask Ercan, he will sort it for you!), it really was a wonderful day out and very reasonably priced! I would also recommend staying on sunday nights for the barbecue. It's a lovely night where all of the guests come together, eat very good food and there is a bit of dancing involved!

Most people staying at the Pension had been before, which says it all really, it's a wonderful place and we will certainly be going back ourselves.

Many thanks to Ercan, Hussein, Fatima and Yamor (sorry if I spelt any wrong!) for being such wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

After reading so many glowing reviews my expectations were high. But in many ways it exceeded expectations. This is not a plush five star hotel with every amenity. It's a pension. But if such places had star ratings I would give it 5+ stars. The garden after which it is named, might be past it's best in September - then I can only imagine how glorious it must be in May//June. Don't look for manicured splendour. That's not what it's about. What you get is a glorious tumbling mix of palm trees, cactus, bougainvillea and much else, planted in such a way that little oasis of privacy are created to hideaway in for peaceful and delicious breakfasts. The pool wouldn't look out of place in a five star hotel. The rooms are spacious (many have walk in wardrobes) and simply but well furnished - and spotlessly clean. But it's the people who run the place that really elevate it into something special. No servile, uniformed staff here. Just a small team -Yagmur, Hussein and Fatima - all completely charming with nothing too much trouble. Ercan, the owner , is a legendary host and must run one of the most convivial bars in Turkey,if not beyond. He helps make sure you get the most out of Dalyan (lovely place). Don't miss a day out with boatman Osman. All can be fixed with Ercan. It's worth every penny.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maitlands1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Located a 20 minute walk (12L taxi) from the town centre, the pension is a real sanctuary. Don’t really need to say much more than that on arrival at 10:30 pm we were the only people around the outdoor bar who were not returnees. The place has a lovely, laid back feel. Our room (ground floor) was spotlessly clean, simply furnished, with a comfortable bed, large shower and walk-in wardrobe area. Outside a large, lush Mediterranean garden with tables and chairs in various locations, a pool with spacious ‘lounging’ areas – and all for just eight rooms. Plentiful breakfasts served around the quiet garden were a real pleasure.

Unfortunately we were only staying for three days as overspill from a family villa party so we had no time to savour the lunches, weekly BBQ and daytime pleasures of the pension. A few reviews have expressed disappointment at the unmanicured look of the garden and the lack of hotel style facilities, clearly not having read the detailed pension website. If you’re looking for Cliveden grounds, with 5-star glitz and obsequious, fawning staff then look elsewhere. However, if you want to relax in a simple, friendly family run pension and recharge the batteries there are few places as good as Dalyan Garden Pension. We look forward to becoming returnees.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petethepedant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We had a fantastic 8 days here in July and it was every bit as wonderful as I remembered from 5 years ago, only bigger and better. Back then I wanted to keep it a secret as it was so unspoilt and felt very traditionally Turkish. Now I think that it so good it deserves to be recognised as Ercan, Cathy and all who work there have managed to create a totally relaxed atmosphere in and around the hotel, pool and garden. The main activity happens at the bar, which is the center of attraction for most if not all guests, and on the boat trips. My memory of both is that we all laughed so much all the time we were there. And whilst Ercan is king of his castle at the bar, Osman is definetly the captian of his boat. Both know how to throw a really good BBQ and show true Turkish hospitality.The rooms are clean and very comfortable and very good value, my preference are the rooms upstairs overlooking the garden and pool, although like all the other guests we spent the majority of the time outdoors either on a boat, in the pool or by the bar. The moonlight trip is fantastic, the beach is only 10 minutes drive away, the pool was never overcrowded, the jacuzzi was perfect for early evening and nightime was by the bar. Well that was where all the fun and action was and as our fellow guests were so interesting and lovely it made it a very memorable holiday. I have stayed in many 5* and luxury hotels/boutique hotels around the world, however I will always have Dalyan Gardens Pension up there as one of the best holidays we have had. Why? Because of the wonderful professional hosts and staff, great value, friendly guests, comfortable accomodation, good fresh food, lots of activities and it deserves a 4* for all of this.

Room Tip: family room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Thank you Erjan & Cathy for a fantastic holiday, what a wonderful place you have. You and your staff made us so welcome and made our holiday so relaxing. Our drinks in the evening at the bar meeting other quests was great and the boat trips with Osman also a fantastic time both the night time one and day one. We are already looking for flights to come back next year with some friends so see you then. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful spot with fantastic hosts then this is the place for you we stayed for 14 nights 16th aug 2012 in a room upstairs which was wonderful

Room Tip: room 9 & 10 have lovely views of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejohn1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This is a gem of a place! The friendly, helpful and relaxed nature of all the staff made us feel instantly welcome and nothing was any trouble. Erjan the owner was hospitable and knowledgeable offering good advice on things to do and places to eat. He is a professional and worked hard to ensure we and all the guests were well looked after.
The pool area was perfect and not busy so we could swim lengths or chill out as we wished.
The staff worked hard and though the Pension is out of the town centre the taxi was inexpensive, you could walk or ride one of their complimentary bikes in to town.
One night we stayed in with some other guests to enjoy a home cooked BBQ which was delicious with locally produced food and fresh sea bream.
It was tremendous value for money and I would recommend. It is not a boutique hotel or five star hotel but a traditional family run pension that is in keeping with the unspoilt nature of the local area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madmagic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalyan hotels
1.4 mi away
Dalyan Resort
Dalyan Resort
#15 of 63 in Dalyan
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sedir Resort - Hotel Rooms, Bungalows & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Crescent Hasirci Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Calbis
Holiday Calbis
#2 of 63 in Dalyan
547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Safak Apart & Hotel
Safak Apart & Hotel
#1 of 63 in Dalyan
202 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Calypso Plus
Hotel Calypso Plus
#14 of 63 in Dalyan
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalyan Garden Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalyan Garden Pension

Property: Dalyan Garden Pension
Address: Ataturk Mah. Sulungur Cad. 254 Sok. No:4, Dalyan, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dalyan
#17 Family Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run pension in the rural Arikbasi area of Dalyan. Approximately 20 minute walk from the town centre and river. Large Mediterranean garden and pool, bar, shaded seating areas. Breakfast, lunchtime snacks and occasional evening barbecues. Ten rooms, ensuite, A/C, walk in wardrobes. Advice and help booking boat trips and other tours. Garden bar provides social focal point for guests. Recommended for those who want peace and quiet but also a friendly convivial atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dalyan Garden Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalyan Garden Pension Hotel Dalyan
Dalyan Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing