We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice if you speak Turkish”
Review of Hotel Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mare
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Datca
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey County, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice if you speak Turkish”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed her for 5 nights in September 2013. Everything was very nice: perfect location right across from the beach, clean and quiet except for the hotel next door which plays music until midnight. The room was small, but had a nice balcony with a perpendicular view of pool and sea. The food, both breakfast and dinner was a cut above the normal Turkish offerings. Only Nescafe, of course. This is a Turkish family hotel, where Turkish families go on vacation. Everyone was very friendly, but no one spoke much English . We had to go next door to get any information about tours or sightseeing. The biggest minuses were deferred maintenance( missing lightbulbs, the bathroom light lacked a cover) and lack of hot water in the shower, which would have been really bad if it hadn't been so hot. All in all simple but pleasant.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pischiello40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    16
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Me and my family stayed in this hotel for 2 times in a row. (Each summer)
What we liked most was the location and the food. Breakfast and dinner are included in the price. If you ask for lunch, they cook for you and you pay it later when you check-out. During the day, you have to give your room number for any kind of drink and ice-creams. They add it to your account.
Dinner was delicious. I still feel the taste in my mouth. I don't know what they use but it is mostly the olive-oil. That's why we chose to stay here for the second time. :) Location was great, There is private beach, which is okay for me. Public beach was not that crowded.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank miracozdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
550 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,017 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This hotel barely makes "average" but on the other hand it can be considered the best place to stay at Datça as somehow, there are no boutique hotels nor nice, local hotels to stay in this lovely town. The furniture in the rooms is limited to bed, wardrobe (beware, there is no cloth hangers inside, make sure you bring yours), TV, mirror and a plastic chair(?)... No shampoos at the bathroom. Minibar exists but it's empty except for 1 bottle of water. Room walls must have been made of paper: you can hear all conversations, even the alarm bell at the next door in the mornings... Breakfasts are the same every morning, nothing fancy, nothing local... Meals are most of the time below average but you usually eat outside, so it's not a major problem. The garden tough is very beatiful, so is the location. The hotel does not have its private beach (the sea shore is open to public in Datça, that's the reason) but the beach is just few steps ahead, so it's not a big deal either. The building is just concrete, soulless piles of stones. The lobby and other common areas are the same: no spirit.... The personnel is definitely not professional (mainly local people working there) but their eagerness to make the clientele happy is worth a praise. Despite all these deficiencies, I would still recommend the place as there are no other decent locations to accomodate in Datça, at least this one is clean and its location is good. As long as you spend your days outside the building and spend only your nights at the hotel (which is the best way to spend time at Datça), you won't have major disappointments here....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TubaKoseogluOkcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last year for about six days. It was located right on the beautiful sea, and we had easy access to swimming every day. There was a serious heat wave in Turkey last year, but the water in the sea was nice and cool. Our stay included the standard Turkish breakfast, which was always filling and fresh. Our room was spacious and clean, and we had a cute balcony with a view of the sea - really beautiful! The A/C in the room was superb on those hot nights. The staff were extremely friendly and always willing to help with anything we needed. The hotel was about a 15 minute walk from the heart of Datca, where there are plenty of restaurants and shops. Also since it is located right on the long boardwalk that follows Datca's beaches, we had lovely walks in the evening and visited many of the nearby tea gardens. This was a quiet and relaxing vacation for us; the Hotel Mare was a no-frills kind of place, but was clean, comfortable, and I would highly recommed it!!

  • Liked — Location right on the sea! A 1-minute walk to swimming bliss in the Mediterranean!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sul2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Datca hotels
6.0 mi away
Palm Bay Beach Hotel
Palm Bay Beach Hotel
#18 of 31 in Datca
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Datca Sapphire Hotel
Datca Sapphire Hotel
#7 of 31 in Datca
51 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flow Datca Surf & Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Orcey Hotel
Orcey Hotel
#6 of 31 in Datca
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Datca Beyaz Ev Hotel
Datca Beyaz Ev Hotel
#10 of 31 in Datca
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kumluk Otel
Kumluk Otel
#17 of 31 in Datca
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mare

Property: Hotel Mare
Address: Iskele Mah. Hurriyet Cad. No:29 Datca Merkez, Datca, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Datca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Datca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing