We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konak Tuncel Efe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Konak Tuncel Efe
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Datca
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Whilst staying in Marmaris recently, we had to go to Datca for a few days to finalise the sale of our house there. We did not book anything in advance but decided to find somewhere when we arrived. We knew this hotel was just recently opened but hoped they would have a room since it was about ten days before the Bayram holiday which we knew would then be a busy time.
Fortunately we were able to book a room overlooking the town square and harbour which was both quiet and idyllic. Our room was beautifully decorated and had everything we could have needed; minibar, telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, aircon', flatscreen television, wi-fi. The bathroom was small but adequate with a powerful shower output and was fully tiled in marble, and everywhere in the hotel was spotlessly clean.
We ate in the hotel restaurant where the traditional Turkish breakfast was delightful, (but would have fed two), and likewise the evening meal was both generous and delicious. The hotel staff were very attentive and with limited English managed to understand us and made us feel completely at home. On our departure the Manager and two of her staff came outside to see us safely into the car and away.
This little jewel of a Hotel was a pleasure to stay in and the staff set an example of superior customer care with their traditional Turkish desire to provide excellence for their guests.

Room Tip: Rooms on the harbour side are quieter but can be quite bright in the morning as the sun comes up on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ella026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
23
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

After spending one night in a tiny pansione, we were so happy to find this new hotel. It had a nice sized room and bathroom. Bed was very comfortable. breakfast was splendid with a great presentation. We were the only guests the night we stayed. Hotel is right at the harbor, but very quiete, We had a room in the second floor overlooking the harbor. Only complaint was the wifi. The seemed to have it behind a firewall and if you were reading an artiCle or typing an email for 10 minutes or so, you lost your connection. you had to go back to the screen for the signin.
NOTE - there is no pool or fitness center, I accidentally hit those in the ratings and can't seem to remove them.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA and South Africa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were so happy to find this hotel after a long drive all day from Selcuk (with stops to visit the fantastic ruins of Priene, Miletus, and Didim) and highly recommend it. Datca is a lovely little harbor town out on the peninsula 1 hour from Marmaris, which divides the Aegean and Mediterranean seas. Much of the peninsula is wild, and the road is long, steep and winding in places, so it has the feeling of being quite remote (which is a welcome change, if you don’t like to be amidst tour groups and big buses – they don’t come here!). Arriving in the evening, we wondered what we would find, and hoped we would find a good place to stay (although reviews on line did not seem to provide many choices). This is a lovely, comfortable, new (opened in July 2013!) 3-storey hotel on the main street in the town of Datca, which we found only because we drove right by it and we thought it looked very nice. (It did not come up in our TA searches, because it was apparently categorized in the wrong category – not under “hotels” but under “specialty lodging” -- strange). I hope that Trip Advisor rectifies this, because this place deserves to be found by more TA travelers. The staff are very nice, and are very eager to please their guests. English is limited – only two front-desk staff spoke any English – but this was not a problem. Our room looked over the lovely little harbor and nearby square (with a mosque on the other side, but happily the call to prayer seems to be quieter in this mosque than most, so that we were not awakened by it at 5AM). The room had 2 comfortable twin beds (which they happily will push together for you), a small fridge, coffee and tea makings, and free Wifi which worked well. The bathroom was lovely and modern, with a large, great strong shower. As another reviewer mentioned, maid service is not necessarily a given, as (I think) the hotel expects guests to put the sign out to request maid service or the maid will not enter the room. We loved our nice bright room, but did find it very bright in the morning with the thin drapes (sunrise is gorgeous over the harbor, but it does get bright quite early) and with the spotlights on the square at night (wish the town would turn off the lights at midnight!). We hung our beach towels up to make it darker, which helped. Breakfast in this hotel (included in the room rate) was a real highlight – the staff bring each person a large meze board with tomatoes, cheese, bread sticks, olives, jam, honey, melon; as well as bread, crumbled feta with olive oil, and hot eggs if desired, and coffee/cappuccino with regular refills (they pay attention, and bring you a fresh one before you even ask for it). We had dinner at the hotel (served on the same open-air terrace next to the harbor, where b’fast is served) one night (very good if a bit expensive), and the next night had drinks and an appetizer there, to enjoy the patio and watch people strolling by along the harbor. We enjoyed exploring Datca town, nearby beaches (lovely water!), and one day drove out to see the Knidos ruins (mostly destroyed and spread over a large area, but in a gorgeous setting overlooking two harbors). We highly recommend Datca and this hotel, and would go back in a minute! It was only a 2-2.5 hour drive to Dalaman airport on our departure day, so although remote, it IS accessible.

Room Tip: Get a room on the water side, up high for view over palm trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selmaunal48, Sahibi at Konak Tuncel Efe, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hello!

First of all, we do want to thank you as "Konak Tuncel Efe" for reserving your time to comment for us, we really do appreciate!

As you said in your post, we are such a brand new hotel and we do try our best to comfort our guests but there always would be deficiencies,as "Konak Tuncel Efe" we will do our best to minimize them in such things as you have pointed out, to get you a better service, and hoping to get them all fixed by the time you visited us next time!

Hoping to see you back again in our little hotel again!

Konak Tuncel Efe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

we preferred this hotel because new and boutique, after arriving, we found out that we made the right choice.
this hotel is right in Datça center, however there is no disturbing noise because Datça is a silent place, really relaxing.
breakfast is served on wooden plates (not open buffet that you have to rush), and the items are really natural and good quality.
staff is really helpful when you ask for help.
there is elevator in the building.

Room Tip: 16-right next to elevator, with sea and palm trees view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estella2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

i've stayed here with my boyfriend for one night, this hotel was really great! Romantic, beautiful sea view, very nice people, owners were nice too. Location is great too, just by the sea, and you can just walk to the restaurants and bars in datca, its the cutest hotel i've stayed, we definatelly advise this hotel, especially for couples, it was really romantic :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ncostante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Datca hotels
0.4 mi away
Orcey Hotel
Orcey Hotel
#7 of 28 in Datca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bora Hotel
Bora Hotel
#3 of 28 in Datca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.7 mi away
Flow Datca Surf & Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Doada Hotel
Doada Hotel
#4 of 28 in Datca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
6.4 mi away
Palm Bay Beach Hotel
Palm Bay Beach Hotel
#16 of 28 in Datca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mare
Hotel Mare
#11 of 28 in Datca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konak Tuncel Efe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konak Tuncel Efe

Property: Konak Tuncel Efe
Address: Iskele Mahallesi Ataturk Caddesi No:55 | Datca-Mugla, Datca 48900, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Datca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Datca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the heart of Datca city centre, Konak Tuncel Efe comes with a garden furnished with tables and chairs. Each unit features air conditioning, while some also offer sea views. Wi-Fi is available in all areas and is free of charge.All units at Tuncel Efe Konak include flat screen satellite TV, and a private bathroom with a shower, hairdryer, slippers and free toiletries. A minibar and an elec ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Konak Tuncel Efe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing