We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy bathroom, hard beds, weird vibe - had to leave early.”
Review of Antik Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Antik Apart Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Datca
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Filthy bathroom, hard beds, weird vibe - had to leave early.”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My husband and I are discerning travelers and generally look for places with character, but the vibe at this place was just weird. The plusses: it looks cute and almost castle-like from the outside, and the outdoor pool seems newly renovated and is very nice. Based on the other reviews, I'm not sure if we just got a bad room, but our bathroom was filthy. It was as if we had been given the room in which the maids stored all the cleaning supplies, dirty sponges, etc. The glass cup that was provided in the bathroom had a layer of white residue that was disgusting. The bedroom was clean and sparse, but the twin beds (we are a married couple- not sure why we were given twin beds) were like concrete slabs. The kitchen area was mostly clean, but the furniture and amenities all seemed old, rusty, just kind of from another era - an eastern bloc kind of feeling.

The proprietor was friendly, and the breakfast was adequate, but to be frank the woman serving breakfast had such overpowering body odor that it turned my stomach every time she came near the table and ruined the meal. This place is not near the waterfront; it's in a neighborhood about a 10 minute walk from town, but the walk is through the dusty back roads of the neighborhood- not unsafe feeling, just not picturesque.

We were supposed to stay three nights and we had to leave after the first night. There also seemed to be a large family living there that was hanging out on the eating area/outdoor patio all the time kind of dominating the outdoor space. Not sure if that's just a Turkish thing, but it definitely made us feel a little like outsiders infringing on their space. The lobby is like a cluttered old antique shop. We probably could have asked for a room with a cleaner bathroom, or for a different bed, but by that time we were just over it and checked out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KariFromSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    2
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raalte, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here just for 1 night to discover the beautifull area of Datca with 4 persons coming from Holland and England. If you look for a accommodation for just B&B stop searching. The hotel is charming, clean and very nice on just a 10 minute walk from the town center. Most excellent is the service of the owner and his wife. A free ride into town or to the beach, a drawn map of the peninsula, free water when leaving, etc. Most of all they were just very nice and helpfull people to talk to in good English and German trying to make our stay as comfortable as possible. In spite of the fact that the pool area was small it was enough for us to relax and have a nice drink from the bar. Breakfast was very nice with a good combination of continental and Turkish. The rooms were a bit outdated (or antique), but very comfortable, spacious ans clean. A very nice stay with a very nice surprise when we got the bill ! We will come again!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank THAM F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed in these apartments on 7th & 8th September this year and found them to be superb. They are about a 10 minute stroll from the sea front and furnished to the highest standards. The proprietor (Yektor) is a real gentleman who even made arrangements so that we could visit Knidos by boat. A lovely local place to stay.

Room Tip: All really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We went to this hotel in june and it was very nice. The area is quiet and beautiful. You will get a little apartment with kitchen,livingroom,balcony,bathroom and bedroom. All very clean. Owner was very nice, he spoke turkish and german and english. He was very helpful. At 9 he served a delicious breakfast (for a very small price). Restaurants were only 5-10 minute walk and then you would be in a restaurant which was located at the middle of a beach, in the sand -- only 3 meters from the water. such a nice experience. Datca is a very nice area with a nice beach and good restaurants and exactly what you're looking for if you want to escape the crowded south-cities.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jla20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Datca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mare
Hotel Mare
#11 of 32 in Datca
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Datca Beyaz Ev Hotel
Datca Beyaz Ev Hotel
#12 of 32 in Datca
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Citi Hotel
Citi Hotel
#2 of 32 in Datca
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bora Hotel
Bora Hotel
#6 of 32 in Datca
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Datca Sapphire Hotel
Datca Sapphire Hotel
#7 of 32 in Datca
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kumluk Otel
Kumluk Otel
#19 of 32 in Datca
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antik Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antik Apart Hotel

Property: Antik Apart Hotel
Address: Iskele Mah. Nuri Kolcu Sok. No:53 Datca Merkez, Datca, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Datca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Datca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antik Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Antik Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing