We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing changes”
Review of City Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Tower Hotel
Alicante, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing changes”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I consider myself a frequent traveler to the Middle East including the UAE via Dubai, I generally only have short stays at the CITY TOWER hotel. Before I begin I will say that some photo's supplied to this page are deceptive and do not portray a true reflection of the subject matter.

I'll will discuss the twin room, there is only one electrical socket available next to the bed in a twin room. which is inconvenient when two people are sharing. There is another socket opposite the beds under the mirror and room furniture and a lamp is plugged in at this point, this has to be unplugged to use the kettle. I now take a plug extension with 6 sockets so I and others can plug in phone chargers, computer chargers and kettle.

The person with the socket next to the bed can lie in bed using any electrical device and relax but others have to sit in chairs that are not exactly comfortable for long periods. The chairs are quite formal and not easy chairs like one would expect in well known coffee chains. To sit in the chairs for any length of time is uncomfortable.

The kettles are cheap probably manufactured in the Far East and I have visited this hotel several times this year and each time when the water boils the kettle does not automatically switch off. On a frequent basis the hot water runs out or so it appears, may be it depends certain floors have priority due to design. The lighting in the bathroom is poor and limited, as there is no light over the mirror for shaving etc. The bathroom has a false ceiling and when the occupants in the room above use water it can be heard quite loudly gushing down the drainage pipes overhead. The windows as are screwed shut and do not open even a little.

I found the beds frustrating as there are no headboards attached, I do not know if this makes a difference but when one tries to sit up and lean back to watch TV the bed slides forward and the pillows drop down the gap created. There is a good restaurant where a buffet is provided with plenty of choice, the only frustrating thing I found is the waiters attempt to acquire a signature for your meal on a receipt in the middle of the meal. The waiters should wait until the guest has finished the meal before pestering for a signature.

There are at least two bars which, are frequented by working girls whether the hotel wishes to admit this or not, like most hotels in the UAE the hotels and authorities turn a blind eye to the activity. As stated in other reviews there can be a lot of noise from the disco bar due to type of music played not necessarily the volume, if R&B music is played which has a heavy base it penetrates floors and walls like a hot knife through butter.

The most annoying and frustrating issue I experience during my visits to Middle East countries is the lack of parental supervision and ill disciplined children. In many hotels and this one is no different is children are permitted to roam the hotel unsupervised, they are allowed to leave the swimming pool without getting dried and changed and walk water along corridors and in the elevator. Children allowed to run a mock in the health club area by yelling and shouting with loud shrilling screams and I am referring to children between 7 and 11 years of age.

These children have no consideration for other guests especially non nationals who visit the gym to train or use the sauna and steam room to relax. The main problem is poor parental supervision and also these children are not taught to respect their elders or non nationals, which is a cultural trait. The health club staff are from outside the UAE and appear to have limited authority to deal with unruly children running riot, I was terribly disappointed with the behaviour and impotence of the staff.

Children disturb guests by knocking on doors and running away or playing with the elevators. This may not be a daily occurrence but appears to be frequent behaviour across the Middle East.

The gym is poor as it is too small for the size of the hotel and the free weights available very limited, the amount of machines is limited. The pool is too small and usually full of children as for sun tanning in this area forget it as there is no roof terrace due to design, high walls and a Heli pad overshadow the sun loungers, which remain in the shade most of the day. This was the most disappointing area in the hotel.

This hotel may be satisfactory for a 24hr stay or if guests do not plan on spending much time indoors.

Room Tip: A high floor above 10 at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    26
    23
    7
    15
See reviews for
24
11
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

It was a very good experience staying at the City Tower, Fujairah.
It was my first time in fujairah and was happy with the the hotel.
The staff was courteous and helpful whenever required.
The food was really good n tastety.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rushaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. The place was quite full, when we stayed there. The food here is actually pretty good with a lot of options available. The room was pretty large. There is a club on the 1st floor and there take a higher floor to avoid the noise. had stayed on the 10th floor and this was not much of a bother. There is a decent pub also on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonyrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abu dhabi, united arab emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

It surprises me that there have been some good comments on this hotel as I am sure these guests have not been through the embarrassment or the unprofessional behavior by the employees of this hotel.

We had 3 rooms booked at this hotel and everything went alright until checkout. At the time of checkout the reception asked us to wait for 10 minutes as they have a room checking procedure before they let their clients leave. Anyways, 15 minutes later the receptionist comes back to us saying that we will be charged for one hand towel which was missing. There was an unwanted 1 hour drama created at the lobby by the hotel staff for solving this case of the missing hand towel which neither of their room service staff could explain or even ignore.

We gladly paid the 10 times market price- charged for the hand-towel to bail us out of the situation, embarrassment and unnecessary arguments which a couple of their managers worked really hard to explain that it is their standard policy to even charge for a mere face towel if it goes missing.

I believe, this practice by the hotel although weird, should clearly be informed to every guest in advance - to check the number of towels and accessories that are given to them at the time of check in, so the guest doesnt feel cheated by the hotel and expects the weird checking and counting of towels that is going to happen on his/ her check out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhatiadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fujairah hotels

Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed there while diving with coastal technical divers. They planned the stay for me. Very much worth the price if booked through CTD. Average rooms. Great service. Request a higher floor room so you aren't bothered by the night clubs! Or else you will be hearing bass all night!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PinkPanda1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Down the street from Coastal Technical Divers, who arranged the stay for me. It's a great comfortable room to stay in, with all the necessities you need. It may get a bit loud at night from the discos on the lower floors though, and the parking in the garage is TIGHT. But for the price, it's a great place. Would stay there again, without any questions asked. Good luck!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors. They're quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkPanda1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The location is very close to Fujairah's airport. The rooms are clean and neat. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was good. Overall, it was a good value for the money spent.

On the negative side, the covered parking is very badly designed. The parking entrance, exit and slots are cramped up and there is a likelihood of your car getting a scratch. My advise is to part outside the hotel on the empty outdoor space.

Room Tip: Rooms are small in size. You may check with them if they have bigger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlineJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fujairah hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Fujairah
Ibis Fujairah
#4 of 18 in Fujairah
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nour Arjaan by Rotana - Fujairah
0.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Fujairah
Millennium Hotel Fujairah
#9 of 18 in Fujairah
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clifton International Hotel
Clifton International Hotel
#16 of 18 in Fujairah
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Fujairah
Novotel Fujairah
#2 of 18 in Fujairah
249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Landmark Hotel Fujairah
Landmark Hotel Fujairah
#12 of 18 in Fujairah
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Tower Hotel

Property: City Tower Hotel
Address: City Tower Hotel Hamad Bin Abdullah Rd | PO Box 9080, Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Fujairah > Fujairah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Fujairah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing