We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradiso Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradiso Del Sol
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Cabo Frio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

We decided to visit Cabo Frio and chose this hotel also based on reviews on tripadvisor but what a disappointment.

The hotel is located in a nice area, slightly outside the city center, it takes 10 mins to walk to there and 15 mins to walk to the main beach.

The mattress comfort and quality is very poor, we did not get much sleep. The room itself is ok, nice view and a balcony, it's very clean, though a bit small. Oh and another thing, the play really loud pop music from the pool bar until they close, it can be quite a challenge if you have a low patience.

Another major let down is the breakfast. There is a variety of choices but the quality and preservance is not worth mentioning, this is actually the first time in a 3 weeks we had such a poor quality of breakfast, a simple pousada would outperform the breakfast at this hotel any time!

All in all an ok hotel but I would probably not return there again.


Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Glam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    166
    52
    9
    5
See reviews for
110
116
10
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Excellent modern hotel, however more geared up as a resort hotel than business hotel. The hotel is only a short walk from the beach and excellent restaurants and nightlife. Most of the rooms are very modern and have a fresh bright colour scheme with a large bathroom and double sized shower. The only downside with the room is the lack of desk space for a laptop and electrical points, unfortunately the wireless coverage didn't extend to my room Rm 114 and there was no wired option.
The Restaurant and bar was pleasant for dinner but unless you’re going for the buffet option it can take a long time to get your meal. Found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
Outdoor pool, gym and surrounding area were very clean and private from surrounding buildings. Overall a good place to stay and possibly one of the best in Cabo Frio
Cabo Frio Airport is a 20min drive away and about 50-60 Rs.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacpG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We have tried a few hotels in the area before coming across the Paradiso del Sol. It is a modern fresh hotel compared to the others we stayed in. The hotel is a little way off the beaten track and you will not stumble upon it. Having said that it is easy walking distance to the canal with all the restaurants and bars. Walking in the other direction takes you to the main beach area within 10 minutes or so. The rooms are good with the facilities expected in a quality hotel. There can be some noise as guests return late at night but the location is extremely quiet. Rooms overlooking the pool have a very good balcony and view. These are a premium price but are excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms ovelooking the pool are good. On the ground floor there are rooms with their own Jacuzzi. Try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

New, elegantly designed, trendy, a great location and value for money. This place has it all as well as super friendly and helpful English-speaking staff. (The female desk clerk brought out a trolley and wheeled my heavy suitcase up to my room despite my protesting that it was not necessary.) You'll have to walk a bit to get to popular Forte beach but the hotel location on a quiet picturesque canal in an area of interesting old houses more than makes up for the slight inconvenience of a 15 minute walk. The hotel has its own beach on the canal anyway. So you may not feel like making the walk. After seeing this hotel, Forte Beach looked decidedly dated and shabby with its huge square apartment blocks and humorless hotels as well as numerous fast-food joints.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeskor49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo Frio hotels
3.2 mi away
Pousada Laguna
Pousada Laguna
#6 of 19 in Cabo Frio
644 reviews
2.0 mi away
Paradiso Corporate Hotel
Paradiso Corporate Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cabo Frio
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marlen
Hotel Marlen
#1 of 19 in Cabo Frio
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mandai
Hotel Mandai
#5 of 19 in Cabo Frio
192 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pousada do Albatroz
Pousada do Albatroz
#9 of 19 in Cabo Frio
158 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oasis Cabo Frio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradiso Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradiso Del Sol

Property: Paradiso Del Sol
Address: Rua Domingos Ribeiro 103 Passagem, Cabo Frio, State of Rio de Janeiro 28906-100, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN Paradiso Del Sol)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Cabo Frio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo Frio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradiso Del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradiso Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Del Sol Cabo Frio, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing