We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of heaven on the North Island”
other travellers have booked this property
Milk and Honey Cottage your idyllic cosy spot, nestled in the beautiful Maunganui A Te O Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Milk and Honey Cottage your idyllic cosy spot, nestled in the beautiful Maunganui A Te O Valley
Peaceful walking and beautiful river views to see Comfortable queen bed with a stunning rural outlook
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Milk and Honey Cottage your idyllic cosy spot, nestled in the beautiful Maunganui A Te O Valley
Peaceful walking and beautiful river views to see
Comfortable queen bed with a stunning rural outlook
fully equipped kitchen, microwave/oven also here.
Modern spacious bathroom
no matter the time of day, or the season, the outlook is always great
family friendly
a working farm, with much to see and do, should you choose
Milk and Honey Cottage
Our stunning valley setting
exclusive fishing access
within easy reach of the adventures of the Tongariro National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
portugalt...
Weed, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A little bit of heaven on the North Island”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This was Beverly and I's first trip to New Zealand. We are staying for 3 months and we started our trip by booking into Milk and Honey Cottage. I contacted Meagan months ago to set up the booking because I heard that New Zealand is very busy in it's peak season.

Meagan was so helpful with telling me about the accommodations, the surrounding area and about a farm stay. We decided to stay 2 weeks to acclimate ourselves into the New Zealand culture. That turned to be a fantastic choice.

Upon arriving to John and Meagan's property, which is a beautiful drive outside of Raedihi, we were bowled over by the beauty, the view and the peacefulness of River Bend farm. We were greeted by both Meagan and John and welcomed to the cottage. We took Meagan up on one of her dinners that night and she brought us a wonderful meal of venison, fresh vegetables, salad and dessert. What a great 1st day in NZ. She has great granola, yogurt and coffee also.

For the next two weeks we were treated to feeling like part of their family by being able to go fly fishing, have a farm tour with John, get up and close to the animals, getting to know the grandkids and being part of the spirit and happiness that the Wards have created at River Bend.

To be able to have miles of a beautiful trout stream to myself was a perk that I never imagined. I caught and released some big rainbows and browns and the scenery on the river was stunning and the land felt untouched by humans.

Since we left River Bend, we have said several times that we want to go back and experience the peace and quiet, the beauty and the wonderful experience of being part of this very special place.

Meagan and John, Thank you and no doubt when we come back to the North Island, you will see us again.

Mitch and Beverly

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2018
Thank you so much dear Mitch & Beverly for your great commwents-we consider it a privilege to have met and hosted you both -arriving as guests, leaving as friends. You will both always be most welcome back here. All the best in the South,kind regards Meagan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molenders
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A peaceful and comfortable spot to stay”
Reviewed 14 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Had 2 nights here which is really the minimum to enjoy the whole deal. Hidden away at the end of an unsealed road Meagan, John and family give you the full 5 star welcome and aftercare. You stay in a detached little self contained cottage with views across the valley and into the sunset. If you need some catering, Meagan can prepare a wholesome evening meal and/or breakfast. Our quiet day was spent walking the farm and reading. Lovely place to stay and I can't recommend it enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2018
Thank you Richard. Meeting and hosting you both was a real pleasure, we do hope you return.anytime. Kind regards Meagan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry H
1 review
“Fantastic stay - highly recommend”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had great stay here. Beautiful secret valley and river. Lovely quiet and green. Enjoyed the time out from the Auckland madhouse.
Megan and John are super friendly.
Snowy the orphaned lamb was the wife's highlight! Hopefully Millie the lab can go back to sleeping in her chair by the cottage.
Plan to come back and explore the national park area more and hit the ski slopes next time. So much to do down this way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina C
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Farmstay”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have stayed in many places in the world and Milk and Honey cottage really attracted us is the country side horse riding. My son love horse riding. Lucy Megan's daughter is an excellent horse trainer and my son thoroughly enjoyed riding with her twice. Cost NZ$50 for each 1 hour Ride. I learned from the Farmstay tour they have over 2500 acres of land we were taken to the top of the Hill and was overwhelmed with the beautiful view. Their jersey cows were great first time was so near so many cows. Megan's home cooking was excellent we all enjoyed the lunch and dinner. Both my kids enjoyed their pup Lab and their other dogs. Unfortunately the trip was too short we did not have time to go fishing, walking in the hills and bicycling. We would certainly come back again. You can call Megan any time to book their cottage 64 6385 4366 or email to her at e.riverbendwards@gmail.com. Be sure to call or email to Meagan she will give you very detailed instructions how to get to her place and you must book in advance for the Dinner. Must get there by 5pm hard to find during night time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mesarch
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
“If we could live here, we would”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Milk and Honey cottage is one of those rare places that you are just lucky enough to happen upon, and wonder how you got so lucky. My husband and I stayed two nights at Meagan and John's slice of paradise, but we could have easily stayed much longer. They run a busy cattle and sheep farm, and it is a delight to be amongst the hustle and bustle of a working farm, but the hosts were never too busy to see if we needed anything or to answer our hundreds of questions. One of the friendliest and most generous families that we have stayed with, it almost feels like you are visiting friends. Their breath-taking property is expansive and heavenly, any direction you look, you'll see snow covered mountains, rolling green hills, peaceful grazing sheep and cows, and crystal clear rivers. The self-contained cottage is cozy, clean and well equipped, with fantastic views out of any window. The back patio is very peaceful and a great spot for watching a glorious sunset or star-gazing on a clear night. We hiked a bit around their property, fished in their river and wished we'd had more time for exploring. It was within easy driving distance to Tongariro National Park and other site seeing adventures. It is just a little off the beaten path and the drive up to the farm has some incredible views. We loved our time at Milk and Honey Cottage and would love to go back one day. P.S. Meagan is a great cook! Be sure to order one of her farm-to-table meals while you are here! They also sell incredible, rich honey (which made great gifts to bring back to family)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fgbwj
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My husband and I have lived in 19 countries, visited 106 in the world and this small cottage on a working farm takes a lot of beating! With stunning views, rivers, valleys and mountains we found a little piece of heaven. Meagan and John are the ultimate hosts, giving us inside info on fishing, and taking us to,secluded spots in the bush on their property. If you wish to get away from it all and have peace and tranquility this charming cottage is the place to go. Just wonderful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kezzyl
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Piece of paradise”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A great find! Off the beaten track farmstay with welcoming hosts who were willing to share this part of their world with us. Beautiful views of the valley. Highly recommend you order your dinner from Meagan - delicious food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thank you Keren, for your review, we loved meeting you and your family- great to have you stay. all the best...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing