We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything handy”
Review of LKNZ Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LKNZ Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Really modern lodge with comfortable beds. Very friendly managers Amanda and Martin. Excellent value for money and right in the heart of Ohakune. We really enjoyed mountain biking down the Old Coach Road. Lots to see and history to enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonemob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at LKNZ for 2 nights to do the Tongaririo Crossing, unfortunately we had left a bag at home which had all of our warm clothes in it! The staff there were amazing and within 5 minutes they had us all sorted and we didn't have to cancel the trip. The room was lovely and clean, the location was fantastic, we just walked everywhere and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We will be returning to LKNZ for sure.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JenLiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed for a weekend. Its a very clean place with reasonable prices and of variety of rotoms to choose from. The staff and management are very, friendly and helpful and willing to help you organise the many activities they have on offer. I Would reccomend this place to anyone, great environment for families too. I would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annmariejudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

i had stayed here from winter season 2013 till January 2014 . I would highly recommend this place for family trip , special occasion celebration and to fellow backpacker . The staff are more like a family . The staff are extremely helpful and its one of the most cleanest lodging i had ever stayed thru out my journey . We had so much of fun and countless amazing memories . definitely the best experience in New Zealand. Thanks a million to Martin, Amanda , Jochem , Jo and Callum.

Room Tip: the back lodge would be the cheapest stay in town but with a few bucks additional you could have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raj3984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This is the best backpackers ive ever stayed in. By a long way. Great room - me and a friend stayed in the twin room ensuite for 2 nights to do the Tongariro Crossing.
Everything was great quality in the room. Food on offer was great and good value, staff were friendly and helpful. Fantastic location - don't have to walk far to anything.
I'll definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aklnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Was staying in one of the double rooms with en suite and hace to say for the price and the location Could not ask for more!

Won't go into it in depth as my lady posted a review earlier.

One thing she didnt comment on was the cafe. We went for breakfast the next morning and foe the cost it was outstanding! 4 of us ate for what it would have fed only 2 in town and while the offerings were basic the service was great and the food very good!

Dont go past breakfast at the cafe if you stay here!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dylan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

The Lodge is your typical budget accommodation so dont expect silver service or egyptian cotton sheets.

The staff were friendly , the location good being close ro the centre of town and so a short stroll to bars restaurants and the local supermarket.

The room we had was the double with en suite. The bathroom was small but functional and reasonably clean. The bed ok but a little lumpy.

Overall the location is the key along wirh the price.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ohakune hotels
1.3 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
1.2 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.1 mi away
Ohakune TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
202 reviews
65.1 mi away
Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune
0.5 mi away
The Hobbit Motorlodge
The Hobbit Motorlodge
#8 of 22 in Ohakune
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LKNZ Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LKNZ Lodge

Address: 1 Rata Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range: £25 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — LKNZ Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, comfortable and inexpensive hostel at the base of Mt Ruapehu. LKNZ Backpackers is a great base for the Ruapehu Ski Resorts, Tongariro Crossing, Old Coach Road Track, Whanganui River and many other amazing walks and tracks in the Ruapehu area. Convenient shuttle services available for all activities. There is a wide range of accommodation options to suit your budget from New Kitchenette En-suites, Private Doubles, Family rooms, Dorms and Cabins spread over 4 building each with their own kitchens and lounges. Van and Tent site available too. With action packed activities in the area all year round LKNZ have loads of Local Knowledge to share with all of our guest. As far as affordable North Island ski field on Mt Ruapehu and Tongariro accommodation goes, look no further than LKNZ Lodge. We have our own onsite Cafe, a Sauna and two hot tubs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your LKNZ Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing