We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the family”
Review of LKNZ Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LKNZ Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great for the family”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I'm sure this place is buzzing in the winter with skiers (there is a bar onsite) but when we visited in autumn it was a really relaxed place that ticked all the boxes for our family. The 5 bedder was great, the bathroom massive, and with the downstairs kitchen/lounge area and another lounge on the first floor, we had everything we needed to both be with others and away. Breakfast was a little skinny, but overall it was an outstanding venue, just wish we would have stayed longer so we could explore more.

Room Tip: There are several buildings in the group and depending on the style of accommodation you're afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggiau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    34
    6
    10
    3
See reviews for
15
39
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I noticed the sign outside described the lodge as a "flashpackers." I would consider this a very accurate description. The accommodation was basic, but everything was modern, clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bar/cafe/lounge in the main lodge was a very warm environment with a fussball and pool table. I would recommend this place for people of all ages, from all walks of life!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay the lodge is very modern, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic, however the showers are amazing and just what is required after hiking Tongariro.
I would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TSmithNZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were very impressed with Amanda and Martin. They are full of energy and genuinely enjoy people. They were friendly and informative and their place runs smoothly with a nice relaxed vibe. The bikes were great and their food was delicious and very well priced. We were pleasantly surprised, as people in our fifties, to feel welcome and that we "fit" at this backpackers.These people are made for their job !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy_Dale2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to take pot luck when we headed down to Ohakune, we found it hard to find motels with someone on reception but LKNZ not only had reception, but they were extremely helpful.
The rooms are compact, but everything is new and it had a fantastic shower. We didn't have tv but that is work in progress, and with a bike ride down the old coach road planned for the morning it didn't matter.
They cooked us breakfast the next morning which was cheap and great.
We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just spent the weekend at LKNZ Lodge. What a great experience. Clean, modern, well equipped rooms and superb staff made this a weekend to remember. We had breakfast and coffee both days and took advantage of the great little bar and pool table in the evenings. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly and share their extensive knowledge of the area. We would highly recommend this reasonably priced accommodation to anyone!.

Room Tip: Lovely hot showers and fantastic coffee!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stonemob
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Really modern lodge with comfortable beds. Very friendly managers Amanda and Martin. Excellent value for money and right in the heart of Ohakune. We really enjoyed mountain biking down the Old Coach Road. Lots to see and history to enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonemob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
1.3 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune
1.4 mi away
Station Lodge
Station Lodge
#3 of 21 in Ohakune
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hobbit Motorlodge
The Hobbit Motorlodge
#7 of 21 in Ohakune
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LKNZ Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LKNZ Lodge

Property: LKNZ Lodge
Address: 1 Rata Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — LKNZ Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, comfortable and inexpensive hostel at the base of Mt Ruapehu. LKNZ Backpackers is a great base for the Ruapehu Ski Resorts, Tongariro Crossing, Old Coach Road Track, Whanganui River and many other amazing walks and tracks in the Ruapehu area. Convenient shuttle services available for all activities. There is a wide range of accommodation options to suit your budget from New Kitchenette En-suites, Privet Doubles, Dorms and Cabins spread over 4 building each with there own kitchens and lounges. Van and Tent site available too.With action packed activities in the area all year round LKNZ have loads of Local Knowledge to share with all of our guest. As far as affordable North Island ski field on Mt Ruapehu and Tongariro accommodation goes, look no further than LKNZ Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your LKNZ Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing