We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oakune Oasis”
Review of Manuka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manuka Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Ohakune B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oakune Oasis”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed at the Manuka Lodge with my 2 daughters (7 & 4 years old) for three nights as a base for our ski trip. Alan and Suzie were fantastic - helping us make the most of our brief trip. The Lodge is outstanding - all of the luxury of a hotel with the warmth and character of a home, and the convenience of being only a short walk from the village. It was perfect for us as a family but equally well suited for couples, friends or solo travelers. We will definitely visit again. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eirekiwi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
96
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Manuka Lodge is a perfect B&B when staying in Ohakune. Its close to town and easy to get to the national park from there. The hosts made a great breakfast and were very helpful. They even went the extra mile and gave us a lift to the national park! They made our experience so memorable I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricklirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed four nights at Alan & Susie's superbly designed B&B and we would totally recommend it. The bedroom was extremely comfortable, and the communal areas (indoors and out) worked very well. Alan & Susie are the most helpful of hosts, they are very knowledgeable about the area and gave us plenty of ideas about how to spend our time in and around Ohakune.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Manuka Lodge is quiet, spacious, well-appointed, comfortable and only a short walk to the restaurants and shops at the south end of town. If you need a drying room they have a large one - fortunately, we didn't need it.

Susie and Alan are great hosts. They are interesting, informative, amusing and not at all intrusive. They also provided a great breakfast, arranged our transport for the Tongariro Crossing and managed to retrieve some equipment I left on the bus that brought us back. They recommended good options for other activities and places to eat too.

Flaps the cat was good company.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Manuka Lodge where Susie and Alan made us feel welcome and went out of their way to give us information on the area and to recommend places to eat, etc.
The Lodge is of recent construction, large comfortable rooms, beautifully decorated and include ever comfort. Breakfast was generous, delicious and elegant served. We had only one night there but would have liked to stay much longer and will hopefully come back to this lovely area of the world.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights at Manuka Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. Rooms are spacious, beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. Just a ten minute stroll from the Village centre with excellent restaurants and cafes. Alan and Susie go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay and recommend walks to suit you. Thank you so much for a lovely stay. Mike and Kay

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladdicts48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Spotless, excellent company, good service, great hospitality, what else can a man wish? Alan and Susie, thank you very much for the pleasant stay at your home. Arie & Anne-Marie van de Kreeke, The Netherlands

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
1.1 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.6 mi away
Ohakune TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuka Lodge

Property: Manuka Lodge
Address: 18 Manuka Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defining a new style of accommodation in the township of Ohakune which straddles the southern edge of the stunningly beautiful Tongariro World Heritage National Park. This perfectly appointed, purpose built Bed and Breakfast offers a first-rate alternative to a Hotel with many of the trappings of a Boutique Lodge. We provide 4 star-plus facilities, en-suite hotel style rooms with breakfast fully inclusive of the rates. Manuka Lodge is intimate luxury, perfectly located in a secluded cul-de-sac, 10 minutes walk from the shops, bars and eateries of Ohakune. Also only 40mins from the start of the world famous Tongariro Alpine Crossing and 20mins from Turoa Ski Area. It makes for a perfect get away Winter and Summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Manuka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing