We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great for kids”
Review of Rimu Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rimu Park Lodge
Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great for kids”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

HI
Stayed here with my husband and 5 year old train buff son. He absolutely loved it. The carriages are a little old but charm, character and novelty makes up for this. They are spacious warm and comfy. Had a great overnight stay here and more time would have been fantastic. Great price as well

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renlyn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    14
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

While the carriages are old, they had lots of character and were fun to stay in. The service and communication during booking was excellent.

The carriage was surprisingly roomy with a small master bedroom, two single bunks in a separate room, and two very small foldout beds in the lounge. Also in the lounge was a basic kitchen (fully stocked with crockery and utensils, a fridge, tea, coffee etc.), a table and a small TV. The bathroom/shower was really small, but it had a good supply of hot water.

The carriage had a heat pump and several oil heaters, and we needed them all. The heat pump didn't seem to do too much. The main bedroom had an electric blanket which was definitely needed. We had opted to hire the linen for an extra cost, but I would recommend taking your own especially in winter. The duvet was very thin and didn't do much - it would be fine for summer.

If you were a tall or larger person, I wouldn't recommend staying in the carriages. We're all quite short and little, and we all found the bathroom and the beds small.

Overall, we enjoyed staying here – it was different. I would come back here again, but would probably spend a bit more for one of the other accommodation options.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_RGN_1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narrow Neck, NZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in a 5 bdrm apartment, but only required 3 bdrms, so the bottom level was occupied by different ppl who had their own bthrm, upstairs we had kitchen, dining, lounge, 3 bdrms, 2 bathrooms which we could lock up. It was very warm and was well equipped with great cooking facilities and large fridge space. The master bdrm also had small kitchenette, tv, Eco heater, ensuite and lots of space for extra mattress if you needed. We loved our stay and would definitely stay again, the only feedback we would have is that the wifi connection was poor, the spa could of been warmer and our downstairs neighbours were abit noisy, other than that all in all a great place, nice view of the mountain and close to the bars and restaurants which was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

On the positive, the location of this place is great for the road up the mountain, board and ski hire places, and also for the 'Junction' area of bars and restaurants. The staff were helpful, and I was grateful to Kerie for finding us the room at such short notice and on possibly the busiest skiing weekend of the year!
My boyfriend and I booked a double room in the Lodge for $80 a night, and it was very basic. The room consisted of a 'double' bed and small sofa. We had to bring our own duvet and towels and had a shared bathroom next door- all of this I don't particularly mind, but the bed was small and uncomfortable, I certainly wouldn't have called it a double. My feet were poking off the end, and i'm only 5ft3 so that's saying something! The lock on the bathroom also didn't work, which was slightly disconcerting.
All in all, if you're just after a cheap bed for a night with no frills and close to all amenities, then this is great. Some of the dorm rooms would be perfect for groups of backpackers and/or students. But if you're expecting a comfortable night sleep after a long day on the slopes or perhaps a slightly longer stay, then give this one a miss.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariastone1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Probably would be fine for a group of students, but very basic and uncomfortable (particularly beds). Fire was good and was put on for us each day before we got back from the snow. People very friendly and helpful that ran the place.

Room Tip: They do have other types of accommodation that would be better than the lodge we stayed in. This was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Like a previous review we found this place to very unique and great to visit. The owner was really nice to chat with and looked after us. The were suggested the new apartments and what a place, it was simply an awesome experience. We have stayed in the carriages, very unique and fun, and then to try our the apartments, great value for money compared to what it offered in town. Will be back.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and go for the new apartments, views of mountain are great in the morning, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Thank you Rimu Lodge for looking after us so well. Lovely apartment - got upgraded to a swanky suite for a booking issue entirely of our own making. Convenient place to stay if you're doing the Tongariro Crossing. Nice local restaurants and bars within walking/stumbling distance. We particularly appreciated having our own fireplace to curl up in front of after a long day out and about in the lovely countryside around Ohakune. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
15.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
0.6 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Station Lodge
Station Lodge
#3 of 21 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
16.1 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimu Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimu Park Lodge

Property: Rimu Park Lodge
Address: Rimu Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rimu Park Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimu Park Lodge Accommodation options from backpackers to modern apartments. Situated in the heart of Ohakune Junction and the foot of the Turoa mountain road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rimu Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing