We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rimu Park Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$191
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peaks Motor Inn(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ohakune Court Motel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
US$47
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Park Hotel(National Park Village)
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Adventure Lodge & Motel(Tongariro National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
14
16
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
16
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managerstwo bedroom apartmenttongariro crossingthe kitchencarriageunitsbedslodgeaccommodationshowerfacilitiesmattressalpinefridgeheatinghikinghost
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

HI
Stayed here with my husband and 5 year old train buff son. He absolutely loved it. The carriages are a little old but charm, character and novelty makes up for this. They are spacious warm and comfy. Had a great overnight stay here and more time would have been fantastic. Great price as well

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renlyn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

While the carriages are old, they had lots of character and were fun to stay in. The service and communication during booking was excellent.

The carriage was surprisingly roomy with a small master bedroom, two single bunks in a separate room, and two very small foldout beds in the lounge. Also in the lounge was a basic kitchen (fully stocked with crockery and utensils, a fridge, tea, coffee etc.), a table and a small TV. The bathroom/shower was really small, but it had a good supply of hot water.

The carriage had a heat pump and several oil heaters, and we needed them all. The heat pump didn't seem to do too much. The main bedroom had an electric blanket which was definitely needed. We had opted to hire the linen for an extra cost, but I would recommend taking your own especially in winter. The duvet was very thin and didn't do much - it would be fine for summer.

If you were a tall or larger person, I wouldn't recommend staying in the carriages. We're all quite short and little, and we all found the bathroom and the beds small.

Overall, we enjoyed staying here – it was different. I would come back here again, but would probably spend a bit more for one of the other accommodation options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_RGN_1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in a 5 bdrm apartment, but only required 3 bdrms, so the bottom level was occupied by different ppl who had their own bthrm, upstairs we had kitchen, dining, lounge, 3 bdrms, 2 bathrooms which we could lock up. It was very warm and was well equipped with great cooking facilities and large fridge space. The master bdrm also had small kitchenette, tv, Eco heater, ensuite and lots of space for extra mattress if you needed. We loved our stay and would definitely stay again, the only feedback we would have is that the wifi connection was poor, the spa could of been warmer and our downstairs neighbours were abit noisy, other than that all in all a great place, nice view of the mountain and close to the bars and restaurants which was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

On the positive, the location of this place is great for the road up the mountain, board and ski hire places, and also for the 'Junction' area of bars and restaurants. The staff were helpful, and I was grateful to Kerie for finding us the room at such short notice and on possibly the busiest skiing weekend of the year!
My boyfriend and I booked a double room in the Lodge for $80 a night, and it was very basic. The room consisted of a 'double' bed and small sofa. We had to bring our own duvet and towels and had a shared bathroom next door- all of this I don't particularly mind, but the bed was small and uncomfortable, I certainly wouldn't have called it a double. My feet were poking off the end, and i'm only 5ft3 so that's saying something! The lock on the bathroom also didn't work, which was slightly disconcerting.
All in all, if you're just after a cheap bed for a night with no frills and close to all amenities, then this is great. Some of the dorm rooms would be perfect for groups of backpackers and/or students. But if you're expecting a comfortable night sleep after a long day on the slopes or perhaps a slightly longer stay, then give this one a miss.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariastone1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Probably would be fine for a group of students, but very basic and uncomfortable (particularly beds). Fire was good and was put on for us each day before we got back from the snow. People very friendly and helpful that ran the place.

Room Tip: They do have other types of accommodation that would be better than the lodge we stayed in. This was our first choice and should have stayed with that choice
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews