We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”
Review of Dakune Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ohakune
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dakune Lodge
Kerikeri, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our mountain biking group stayed at Dakune. Host was friendly and helpful despite the cancellations of some other members and he even disposed of our trash for us from our previous location. It was comfortable and good value. I would stay there again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We aim to please! Sometimes things do change at short notice, and if we can sort it out, then there is no problem. All I can say is the members that didn't make it missed out, but maybe they will come some other time as you gave us such a great review. Tasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    16
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
32
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent facilities. Very friendly hosts. We changed numbers attending, the dates, the intended length of stay a number of times - all accommodated without a fuss. We would definitely recommend this establishment

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We try to be as helpful as we can and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come again anytime. Tasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Dakune with my mum, while we were driving from North to South of NZ during a summer holiday. Delightful place- peaceful, quiet, clean, wonderful wooden decor. The host family was really friendly and welcome. Had a pleasant chat with them when we arrived and during breakfast. Highly recommend!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yashka3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
I'm really pleased you thought so highly of our Lodge and us. We try to go the extra mile to make sure our guests get the most out of their stay.
Thank you for your review.

Tasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The best Hostel on our trip. Really beautiful rooms with big windows. Nice kitchen and living room. Contact to the family, you just feel like at home. Really good free breakfast, with everything you wish. Free internet, perfect help with planning activities. Just great for very little money. I would love to come back if I could.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanetta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Yes, it is very quiet here away from the noise of the traffic passing, and really lovely to wake up to the tuis and magpies singing away!
Your thoughts about us are very important and thank you for taking the time to give us a review.

Tasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Such a special place. We spent nearly a week there after planning on a couple of days only, and only left because we had to. Comfortable rooms, nice hot tub, kitchen has everything you could wish for. Just a great place to chill and read a book on the window seats. We had the place for ourselves for most of the time as we visited in the summer months, such a welcome break in the middle of touring NZ. Really well located for accessing the mountain in the winter too though. Nicolas had lots of advice about things to do, we loved the Tongariro crossing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We were beginning to think you had moved in permanently! We would be happy to see you back if ever you came to NZ again.

Tasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marseille
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The perfect place to relax and discover the area.
We stayed 3 perfect nights at the daKune lodge, 1 before and 2 after taking the Whanganui river journey.
Nicolas managed to have us dropped at the lodge and made everything possible to make us feel at home.
The facilities are awsome, from the beautifull kitchen to the amazingly welcoming spa (specially when it is dark and the stars are shinning). Perfect showers, cozy rooms extremely quiet.
Defenetly the best backpacker we've been to so far!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierre_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please tell your friends - everyone is welcome, and thanks for taking the time to let us know what you thought of us and our lodge.

Tasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Dakune Lodge was the most beautiful setting for a wonderful weekend away for such a special occasion as a Wedding! The Lodge was set in a nice location, very quiet. It was clean, and slept many guests in the comfortable beds. The best part of the lodge is the spa pool, which every guest loved! The service was brilliant, we had some great good at the wedding party! I would recommend this lodge to any in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for the great review - we enjoyed hosting the weekend and doing the catering.

Tasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
15.8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,586 reviews
15.9 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
504 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Station Lodge
Station Lodge
#3 of 21 in Ohakune
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakune Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakune Lodge

Property: Dakune Lodge
Address: 42 Park Avenue, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a hectic day exploring the wonders of the Tongariro National Park or the Wanganui river, enjoy a BBQ on the deck or relax in front of the open log fire. Soothe your aches and pains in the Spa or Sauna and forget the rest of the world as you reminisce over your adventures through our spectacular scenery.At daKune Lodge you are welcome to join us with our eclectic mix of kids, cats and dogs – There's never a dull moment! There's nothing we can't try to do to make your stay an experience you won't forget!“Arrive as Strangers - Leave as Friends!” ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing