We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home stay”
Review of Dakune Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ohakune
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dakune Lodge
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent home stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

+ Clean and tidy
+ Friendly owners have some pets to play with
+ Good prices. I would say it's one of the best value for money in Ohakune
+ Warm rooms and lounge
+ Lots of space in lounge for everyone
+ Excellent shared bathrooms that are always clean
+ Continental breakfast included
+ Drying room for ski equipment
+ BBQ on deck available for use in summer
+ Owners always bake delicious cakes :)

- Wooden walls don't hold noise very well. Not an issue for me at all, but if you are a light sleeper than take earplugs with you.

Verdict: One of the best places to stay in Ohakune.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demitriy_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. The new puppy is loving all the attention & learning to be a good "Lodge Dog". Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the walls but earplugs are a good remedy for light sleepers. Tasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    16
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
32
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed 2 nights in early July with a 9 year old grandson. Very impressed with hosts Nick and Tasha. Very welcoming. Great optional evening meals at good prices - we ate in both nights .Good bunk rooms and clean amenities. Communal bathrooms are good. Sufficiently distant from noisy Ohakune nightlife to provide a quiet environment. Hosts organised shuttle up to Turoa skifield _ pick-up and return to the door. Communal dining area and lounge (with big TV) very good for children and adults - get to know your fellow guests .Good breakfasts .I will use this Lodge again this winter.
Tony G

Room Tip: This is a ski lodge not a city hotel. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. School holidays can be sometimes a little noisy & very busy but mostly people enjoy mixing with other guests, young & old alike. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we will welcome your return anytime.

Tasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here with my partner and some friends over Mardi Gras weekend and will definitely be returning! The lodge was spotlessly clean and tidy, the rooms were cute and comfortable, the free breakfast was great and the cooked breakfasts were so good and so cheap!! The hosts were just amazing and so friendly and welcoming even though we arrived really late Friday night. There's a spa which is a necessary during the snow season and yet the place is so affordable! I'm definitely recommending to all my friends and family whenever they head down to Ohakune. We'll be back as soon as the mountain opens!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
What a wonderful review to kick off the ski season with. Thank you. We are so glad you liked being at daKune Lodge.

Tasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The perfect base for the Tongariro Crossing (bus picked up/set down from the door!) Visiting in summer, the Lodge was very quiet, which suited me well. The view from the balcony is superb, the communal living and dining areas are very pleasant, breakfast excellent and plentiful and the optional evening meal highly recommended. The room was perfect, the bed very comfortable. I loved the hot tub. The hosts are really friendly, helpful and informative. The place is kept beautifully, inside and out. In my two months in New Zealand, this was the least I paid for accommodation and among the best I experienced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your input. We do try to make our home & Lodge welcoming but it is really heartening when we get comments such as yours. Thanks again! Tasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our mountain biking group stayed at Dakune. Host was friendly and helpful despite the cancellations of some other members and he even disposed of our trash for us from our previous location. It was comfortable and good value. I would stay there again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We aim to please! Sometimes things do change at short notice, and if we can sort it out, then there is no problem. All I can say is the members that didn't make it missed out, but maybe they will come some other time as you gave us such a great review. Tasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent facilities. Very friendly hosts. We changed numbers attending, the dates, the intended length of stay a number of times - all accommodated without a fuss. We would definitely recommend this establishment

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We try to be as helpful as we can and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come again anytime. Tasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Dakune with my mum, while we were driving from North to South of NZ during a summer holiday. Delightful place- peaceful, quiet, clean, wonderful wooden decor. The host family was really friendly and welcome. Had a pleasant chat with them when we arrived and during breakfast. Highly recommend!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yashka3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas C, Owner at Dakune Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
I'm really pleased you thought so highly of our Lodge and us. We try to go the extra mile to make sure our guests get the most out of their stay.
Thank you for your review.

Tasha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
15.8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
0.6 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Station Lodge
Station Lodge
#3 of 21 in Ohakune
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ohakune TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
LKNZ Lodge
LKNZ Lodge
#6 of 21 in Ohakune
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakune Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakune Lodge

Property: Dakune Lodge
Address: 42 Park Avenue, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a hectic day exploring the wonders of the Tongariro National Park or the Wanganui river, enjoy a BBQ on the deck or relax in front of the open log fire. Soothe your aches and pains in the Spa or Sauna and forget the rest of the world as you reminisce over your adventures through our spectacular scenery.At daKune Lodge you are welcome to join us with our eclectic mix of kids, cats and dogs – There's never a dull moment! There's nothing we can't try to do to make your stay an experience you won't forget!“Arrive as Strangers - Leave as Friends!” ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing