We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Winning Formula”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
491jenny
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Winning Formula”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at the Snomad Chalet for during the July school holidays.

I was looking for an easy way to take my boys skiing. Snomad provided one stop shopping – a package that provided accommodation, shuttle transport up and down the mountain, and ski passes/lessons/hire.

The Snomad Chalet is really comfortable, clean and warm. There was plenty of space for everyone and lots of things to do in the evening – nice big screen TV and great selection of DVDs, free WiFi, pool table and lots of board games. In the evening one of my boys was kept busy playing pool with another young lad staying there, while my teenager and I joined a scrabble game.

Getting to the mountain next day was a breeze in the 4WD shuttle (I was glad of that – I saw a few cars sliding around a bit on the road up the mountain). We were also very glad to have John’s assistance with getting our gear sorted and finding our lesson.

This was the first time skiing for my boys and I am grateful to John for helping make it so successful. In fact I feel like we have found a winning formula here. I am sure we will be back and we would not change a thing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It was all great but if I can only pick one thing I'd say the friendly atmosphere in the chalet
Liked least: Not applicable!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Thanks very much for coming, it really was a pleasure to have you come stay, we're so glad you had a good time and we hope to see you all again in the future. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieRodi...
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Parents and two boys (6, 8) stayed a week here. Short walk to town, spacious, warm, homely environment. Heaps of activities for after skiing or mountain closed days (puzzles, pool table, darts, DVDs, games...), three different living areas, comfy beds, and a fantastic welcoming host who is there to help. Definitely coming back! Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thanks very much for coming, it is always so nice to have such a wonderful family come and stay. We look forward to seeing you all again soon. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyArc...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly Chalet”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent amenities and a great place to say. Thanks John for the best snomad holiday ever.
We stayed for 4 nights and shared the place with a great family with younger kids. Plenty of room to spread out as well. The Pool table was a hit with our family.
The place is warm and cosy, with a log fire always tended to by our Host.
Our teenagers are hard to please but after the first sight of snow and a warm bed they couldn't stop raving about the place. They had a ball.
Breakfast is good ( and upgrade to a cooked breakfast and you will have energy all day. )
John's a great guide for all snow activities up the mountain and his 4WD Van is awesome.
We will check in here again when we next " Go to the snow in NZ's North "
Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaTrix50
Jerrabomberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place, wonderful host”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for two nights as part of a Pathfinder Nth Island NZ tour. A perfect base for exploring the area whatever the season. The Chalet was great views, cosy beds, a well stocked kitchen, nice bathrooms, pot belly stove, big laundry, pool table, DVDs, books and much more. John, our host and driver is fun, friendly and makes all the difference.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannonfr...
Palmerston north
1 review
“Best place to stay in ohakune!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Super comfy, toasty warm when we arrived with the fire going plus heaters on in all the bedrooms, free wifi, great selections of games and movies to watch for a night in. Amazing hot water pressure in the bathrooms! Very close to town. Perfect for any group or family,
Love my stay there every time :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
We like to make sure you're well looked after, come see us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philthy42
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Like a home away from home!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I love the Snomad Chalet, it's cozy, warm, clean and comfy, with everything you could want after a hard day on the snow, or chillaxing in Ohakune.
with Wi-fi, a pool table, a huge collection of dvds and games, and a drying room for your snow gear. Awesome instantly hot showers (gas: nice!)
The service is personal, friendly and top notch!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Thanks very much, we do our best to make you as comfy as possible, come back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
971ained
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have asked for better!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After looking everywhere to find a place to stay in ohakune we finally stumbled across this little gem! John was more than helpful and accommodated our every needs. The amenities were amazing, two lounges, warm, comfortable beds for everyone, food left in the fridge such as milk, cereal etc that we were allowed to help ourselves too. The house was extremely warm and cosy, john taught us how to use the fire and there were heaters in every room which we made use of. For a big group like us, john made up extra beds for us which was extremely accommodating. Great speaker system for music, tv, DVDs, books, dart board, pool table and brochures which came in handy when deciding what to do for the day or what to eat for dinner. 5 star rating, the owners were more than easy to work with and will definitely be back :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Thanks very much, it was a pleasure to have such a friendly, courteous group come & stay. You're all welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing