We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay for a cycling weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ohakune Court Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay for a cycling weekend”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Reasonably priced, great location for cycling, Mt Ruapehu, and surrounding area. The Manager is a cyclist and joined us on a cycle around the area.
The motel is very accommodating, close to all amenities, has great cooking facilities.
Warm great for all seasons, with the ski season coming up close to Turoa.

Really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Ruapehu have their own driveway entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    66
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
74
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just an over nighter, husband took 5mins to book on his phone though could be cheaper if we called and gave the booking cost so owner says.? Thoughtful hosts turned our heater on before arrival and gave us a room with a bigger bed once he saw how big my husband is.. No view no matter we just needed somewhere warm and clean and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: If you get a price online ring ahead and see if he can better the cost?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonsComs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at Ohakune Court Motel and would highly recommend it to others. After arriving we upgraded to a renovated room with mountain views as the price was very good. The room itself was great - comfy bed, lots of space and a good kitchen area. Free internet was provided, as well as a DVD library, which was useful! Donald, the owner, was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, recommending us walks in the area and even lending us some warm walking gear for when we did the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Court Motel is a great place to stay as you get good value and comfortable accommodation with a helpful owner - if only all motels were like this!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelasthobnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at this motel in April on the way from Taupo to Wellington. Okahune looked more like a ghost town (well after all it is not peak season) and the motel was average. The room had all the required amenities and was clean. Added benefit for the kids was the availability of DVD’s for rental free of charge. Good recommendation for dinner from the host.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaehto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this motel over the Easter long weekend as a base for our cycling up Ruapehu mountain to the Turoa ski field. This is New Zealand's only Hors category climb. It was a good choice, partly because the room we had with a kitchen was well set up and partly because the motel operator is a mad keen cyclist as our men. He helped us with our gear, gave great advice on the rides we were undertaking, and came along for a ride. The room was very well set up, clean and comfortable, with a nice view of the mountain. Ohaukne is a gorgeous little town with a great variety of cafés and restaurants, and a supermarket. Would recommend the stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AAandARTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Apologies for the lateness of this review of our stay in October 2013. It's taken me six months to get through the reviews I want to write, although reminding myself of our great trip is an ongoing pleasure!

We fetched up in Ohakune during wild spring weather (with which we are sadly quite familiar!) and while there, experienced some of the heaviest rain I've ever been in. When you're not at home that's kind of exciting though. Fascinated, we watched water rise around our motel room; a burn across the road burst its banks and took a short cut to the massively oversubscribed local river which was raging along filled with sediment and bits of tree. Sorry to say, some people in the village were evacuated, although I understand the emergency was short-lived.

A little later on in the same day we were walking through a beautiful forest round a lake in dappled sunshine – though the higher walk we wanted to take was impossible because of snow and we’d chosen a forest route that avoided crossing burns.

The owner/manager is welcoming and the information on offer is well chosen; we enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was all we needed, clean and comfortable and there was a chance to get some laundry done too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmandeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This motel is a very good example of what an operator can achieve with a relatively. Basic set of units. Although old, the units have been refurbished. They are well equipped (we had a studio with small kitchen and a mountain view). Our room was spotlessly clean. The operator was friendly and helpful. We didn't use the spa, which I later regretted. When the weather co-operates, the mountain view is spectacular. Ohakune is a great town to stay in over night when travelling between, say, Auckland and Wellington. It is, of course, expensive in the ski season, but relatively reasonable at other times. A good base for Tongariro Crossing and Whanganui river trip (use Canoe Safaris, great operator). There are some nice places to eat in town and a handy little supermarket for the self caterers. Also visit Raetihi (great little cafe there and iconic Ratana church).

Room Tip: Select a mountain view room and one with a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MykieHamiltonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.7 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.4 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
16.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohakune Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohakune Court Motel

Property: Ohakune Court Motel
Address: 101 Goldfinch Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohakune Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohakune Court Motel has 18 self-contained units and most have mountain-views. Our units have ample heating,electric blankets and Sky TV. We offer private spa pool, BBQ, wifi, free DVD library with over 300 dvd's, sunny courtyard where you can relax. We are short a distance to scenic walks and mountain bike tracks. We can assist you with reccomendations on the tracks in our area. In addition, Ohakune Court is within walking distance from the city center where you can find supermarket, bars & restaurants, cafes and cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ohakune Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing