We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Character & Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Full of Character & Comfort”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I was on my first every ski trip and wanted to stay in a nice cabin type place to fit the romanticised image that I had in my mind about a ski trip. Powderhorn fit the bill perfectly.

The hotel itself really looks the part, and the rooms have that ski cabin feel about them. Beds are comfy and the rooms are very spacious with all the usual amenities.

Staff are super friendly and the food in the attached restaurant is pretty decent too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    95
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
163
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Had a good trip here with my wife. A couple of downsides the building is not very soundproof, we went during school holidays so lots of kids running around etc. on the plus side the hotel staff were very accommodating and offered a new room and a complementary breakfast.

Great base to get to the mountain and I did really enjoy my stay. Next time I would probably not go during school holidays. Very clean rooms and unique as it was all wooden like a log cabin, I liked that aspect of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girvatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We visited in February taking advantage of a Grab One deal when we were completing the Tongariro crossing. Presumably due to the time of year the hotel was very quiet - which was fine by us as it is evident that hotel management are aware of potential noise issues. That said after the Tongariro Crossing I would probably sleep through the loudest bar night during ski season!

I imagine the hotel would be even more impressive in the winter months given the wooden lodge nature of it. In addition the breakfast room was an impressive bar area which I would like to visit at the height of the ski-season as it looks like it would have a fantastic atmosphere.

The heated pool was a perfect facility to soak the aching muscles particularly when you can order drinks to be brought to you!

Slight noise from the local railway line but service seemed infrequent and the hotel can't do much about that so we didn't see it as an issue.

I tend to avoid restaurants in hotels as in my experience they can be quite poor but all meals were very good with friendly and attentive table service.

All in all a very good weekend away with a pleasant hotel and dining experience. Would visit again the next time I come for skiing in winter or for the Tongariro in summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

The building is stunning, the staff we're friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the Materhorn Restauant which was delicious.
The only down side which seems to be a common complaint, is that the building is very noisy. We could hear our neighbours full concersations. BUT... this is to be expected from a completely wooden building. It has enough charm to outweigh this.
I don't think this place would be ideal if you had kids.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsEstherRadcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I popped down to the snow for a quick two night visit. We requested "our" room as it has become a bit of a tradition. We didn't realise but the first time we stayed they upgraded us to the honeymoon suite. We loved it so much we requested it for our second and third visits. Once again, our request was met and we were made to feel like we'd come home.
As usual, the food at the keg was awesome, and the guys and gals behind the bar were so much fun.
Special mention to the bar man who kept us topped up with the most delicious cocktails - they tasted like lemon cheesecake YUM!
No doubt we will see you again at some stage during next ski season.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twebster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our family of 4 enjoyed 2 adjoining rooms at Powderhorn Chateau and the rooms were very cosy, warm and spacious. Despite the walls being very thin, the hotel had a lovely atmosphere with it's beautiful wooden beams and walls and amazingly confortable beds and duvets. Great bath tubs for aprez ski soaking too! The heated pool is really great and quite special. Both the Powderkeg and Matterhorn restaraunts were excellent (and I am very picky gluten free/dairy free). Bonus was excellent espresso at breakfast! Great spot away from the madness of Ohakune.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having seen this property on previous trips to the area, I was pleased to finally stay. Unfortunately being able to hear our neighbours walk, talk, and flush the toilet was disappointing. Otherwise the pool is great, and good location to the mountain.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SD_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
15.5 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,544 reviews
15.6 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
430 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.6 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
191 reviews
15.9 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu

Property: Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Address: 194 Mangawhero Terrace | PO Box 222, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining all the facilities of an boutique hotel with the ambiance of a an alpine lodge, the Powderhorn Chateau is situated in Ohakune at the doorstep of the spectacular Tongariro National Park. This stunning alpine wonderland is one of only a handful of sites throughout the world to be given dual natural and cultural World Heritage status by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Hotel Ohakune
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Ohakune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing