We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tongariro Crossing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tongariro Crossing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a wonderful time at this hotel - perhaps because it was November and there didn't appear too many guests around. We slept like logs, the room was of good size but above all, we were made to feel welcome and were treated as honoured guests. When we returned from doing the crossing, the cover had already been removed from the indoor swimming pool so we could exercise our weary limbs in the tepid water, which helped recovery no end. The only problem I had was getting wifi to work - it would not connect in our room but did work downstairs. The breakfasts and take away lunch for our trip was excellent.

Room Tip: We had room 203 which had a lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeemerBoyF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    93
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
158
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

The food and service worth the visit. Exceptional, outstanding.
I spend 1-3 nights a week, 40 weeks a year in Hotel/Motel accommodation with my work all over the North Island, so have seen many hotel rooms. The room we stayed in was clean and had a good shower but small, dimly lit, dated furnishings, and very noisy! Previous customer comments are so true. The bed and pillows in the room we stayed in need replacing too. I can sleep just about anywhere, but not on Sat night. At NZ$215 per night, which we understood to be a discount price, and needed to be paid in May to secure room, seems over priced for the accommodation offered. Attention to detail on booking is also required. On check out there was no record of my payment, which was done in May, and initially the problem was left with me to solve. About an hour after we left we were rung and staff had found my payment, which I appreciated. Suggest on check in staff double check their records before customers check out so customers are not faced with the hotel mistakes. Reduce the room rate to better reflect the accommodation provided. If I need to use ear plugs, certainly don't expect to pay $215 a night.
Five star for food and beverage.
One star for room
Highly recommend customers take written confirmation of your booking and payment.
Stay only if you can sleep with noise.
The ambience and theme is excellent and in keeping with mountain setting, but understand it is top in price for what you get in the room, and may give you a sleepless night too. We were not offered a quieter aspect of the building, so can't say if there is one? It would be worth asking for a quiet room if this is important to you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Our hotel was full of wedding guests having a fabulous time so we do apologise that other guests were celebrating later than you on this occasion. It is part of our wedding planning process to discuss with the wedding planners which guests are likely to be more sensitive to noise so we are able to allocate accordingly. Unfortunately you were not identified on this list.

Weddings do promote a festive environment within the hotel. It is for this precise reason that a condition of our venue hire is for the hotel to be filled with wedding guests or guests attending the same event. It is not possible to stay when a wedding is taking place without being a guest or being made aware of the occasion prior to making a reservation.

A very rare error was made when processing this reviewers deposit which was very quickly resolved by the office member on duty. Bringing written confirmation of reservations is not required and unnecessary printing is not supported by our Environmental Policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunterville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have just stayed here as my brothers wedding reception was in the Matterhorn restaurant. Our room was a disabled access room as there was a muck up with our booking. The room was large, spacious and rustic and very nice. There were only three things I think that let it down. The first thing is the room was lacking light, second was that since it was a disabled acsess shower, the water went everywhere!!! We were stuck mopping up water all morning. The thrid thing was that our room was right above the Matterhorn restaurant so it was very noisy. We went down to the restaurant for breakfast and it was lovely exept they kept running out of stuff. Over all we had a lovely time and I would go back.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near or above the Matterhorn restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljpz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are unaware of the error with your reservation or the room allocated. The room allocated does have an open shower which allows for wheelchair access. This is in addition to many other positives. Please feel free to request an alternative suite in the future.

Additional demand was placed on the breakfast buffet which was prepped for hotel guests only when a large number of outside guests attended. We happily accommodated the increase in numbers and the chef did his absolute best to meet the many appetites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for a wedding, staff great and friendly, rooms warm and comfortable, great beds. The downside was the noise, it felt like the band was playing in our room, you can hear neighbouring rooms talking and flushing toilet. Breakfast food was of good quality and tasty however they ran out of food constantly and plates were cold so food got cold very quickly, no trolleys for taking bags to room made it difficult and frustrating. If staying here make sure you find out if there is a function on in the Matterhorn restaurant and get a room at the other end of the hotel! I would go back as ambience is lovely, but would definitely go at a quieter time, it's not cheap so don't want to pay to stay somewhere if you can't sleep!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at opposite end of hotel to the Matterhorn restaurant, otherwise you will get no slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRICIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management p, Manager at Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
We do have a luggage trolley and we are also able to assist with luggage so there is certainly no need to feel frustrated settling in or packing up.

The band noise experienced was from the band playing at the Wedding this reviewer was attending. We will advise if there is a function in the Matterhorn so there is no need to ask specifically. We do not have bands play on a regular basis.

Many guests attended breakfast very close to closing time. Confusion mostly relating to portion size from the buffet did have our breakfast chef working particularly hard to meet unexpected demand and appetites. We happily accommodated a large number of guests from outside the hotel which did place added stress to a buffet prepared for hotel guests only. We are really pleased that everyone was happy with the quality of the food prepared and that the majority of guests were patient whilst the chef catered for the friends and family who joined the group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

On the 30th of August 2013, my fiance and I were married here.

we booked the matterhorn restaurant during the middle of high season about 6 months in advance. we were introduced to Nicola and later Carrie. Nicola was our primary contact and made a very large, very complex event incredibly simple for us. at all times, she was clear, concise and upfront about what the powderhorn could and could not do, and why that was.

she worked with us to make our plans a reality, when she found a better way of doing something she told us, when she could save us a bit of coin or streamline things a bit she told us.

this led to the event going perfectly on the day, before and during the event we also dealt with Carrie, who was just as good to work with as Nicola. Carrie put out several small fires for us over the course of the evening while Nicola was busy supervising her staff - and what excellent staff they were!

overall, excellent food, beautiful venue and great people.

we are extremely happy that the powderhorn helped us start our married life with such a hiss and a roar!

- Alex and Laura

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just returned home from our third stay at The Powderhorn and loved every minute of it.

The staff are so friendly, they remember us each year and give us the same room.

Rooms are great, breakfasts amazing, warm bar by the fire, nice restaurant, and a large indoor pool that is as hot as any bath I've ever had at home. Yum!

The ski shop guys are awesome and gave us a great deal on ski hire.

Next August, we hope to be back again.

Room Tip: We always ask for 3rd floor, never hear the bar, once a week a bit of chatter from the nearby nightc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlenAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our family, most especially my wife and I, will remember the kindness and helpfulness of all the staff of this wonderful hotel, but in particular that of Carrie. Carrie and her equally incredible colleague Tracey -- both of whom work the front desk, made our stay unforgettable and wonderful.

Here's one example.

Our son became ill late at night, and we asked Carrie if there was a pharmacist open that late. Of course there wasn't. Upon learning of our son's symptoms, which called for a cold remedy, Carrie drove to her own home and returned promptly with an unopened supply of just what we needed.

She gave it to us.

There isn't a parent alive who doesn't know the stress of wanting to meet the needs of a sick child and being powerless. Our son slept -- nay, slept comfortably -- that night because of Carrie, and without taking you dear reader through the challenges we'd faced in our travels before then, this simple, un-asked-for act of kindness on Carrie's part meant more to us than we can express.

I don't have the words to recommend this hotel enough, for these and other kindnesses of Carrie and Tracey. All the staff were great and friendly. These two representatives of this great hotel are special.

Bless yourself by staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilaandKoyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
15.5 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
15.6 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
15.9 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu

Property: Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Address: 194 Mangawhero Terrace | PO Box 222, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining all the facilities of an boutique hotel with the ambiance of a an alpine lodge, the Powderhorn Chateau is situated in Ohakune at the doorstep of the spectacular Tongariro National Park. This stunning alpine wonderland is one of only a handful of sites throughout the world to be given dual natural and cultural World Heritage status by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Hotel Ohakune
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Ohakune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing