We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable but choose your room carefully” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peaks Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Peaks Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable but choose your room carefully”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We took the 2 room unit, at only $5 more than the studios. The apartment was modern, light and very clean with patio doors to the rear giving good privacy. The kitchenette was well furnished with cooker, microwave and fridge. The lounge area had a two seater settee and tv as well as dining table and four chairs. The ensuite had a shower over a low step-in bath that was easy to use. The separate bedroom had a single and large comfortable double. Interestingly there was no private spa in our room (room 8), whereas there are in other rooms, and we were therefore left wondering whether the price differential was really justified. A couple of minor niggles: only 30 minutes free internet, and one of the two outdoor spas for use by guests was out of action whilst during our visit the other did not work properly. That said, the accommodation was roomy, well spec'd and in a quiet location providing good value for money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AandAKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thanks very much for your review, and glad you enjoyed the overall experience.
Regarding the points raised:
Any requests at time of booking (such as spa baths) are of course allocated accordingly. Having said that, when guests actually see both options (spa rooms or garden/terraces) in summer they invariably select the garden option. Actually we regard No. 8 as one of our best rooms as it is the only one bedroom unit with both a terrace out onto the lawn and a view of Mt Ruapehu.
Price is based on the larger size of a one bedroom over a studio.
In summer we only operate one large spa pool as demand for 38 degree spa pools is vastly reduced. (Last week - Feb - the air temp here reached 32 degrees) It is fully operational, as it has been all summer: our spas have underwater jets rather than air blown bubbles which can reduce the water temperature too much in this alpine climate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    74
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
90
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Absolutely enjoyed our recent holiday at Ohakune. We stayed at The Peaks Motor Inn. Owners James and Jenny are great hosts, really friendly, couldn't do enough for us to ensure our stay was comfortable and provided lots of recommendations on local activities.
National Park area is stunning and very relaxed with no crowds in the summer......kiwis don't realise what a great place this is to visit over summer. We hope to be back again soon!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Errol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thanks for your review, we really appreciate it.
You're right: with the forests of the Tongariro National Park within view of the motel, this place is absolute paradise in summer. Foreign tourists and enlightened people like you are starting to discover it.
PS Next summer the lifts on our Turoa skifield will finally operate through summer, allowing access to the only glacier in the North Island. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolga, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Loved the whole experience of Ohakune.
The Peaks was a fabulous place to stay, the hosts were very friendly and helpful. Room was light, airy and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Kitchen was very well equiped enabling us to cook our own meal one night. We had two nights in this delightful spot and could easily has stayed another two, there is so much to do in the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thanks! Yes, guests often comment that they wish they had allowed more time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here after Xmas as apart of a Wellington to Auckland trip.

Arrived during a downpour and got soaked getting from the car to the inside, took a while to get checked in due to a phone call(about 15 mins), but place looked very lodge like and lovely.

Room was very clean, didn't have a shape knife to cut anything with. Broken chair at the dining room that looked like someone tried to hide it(wood chips on the ground) and around the very lovely spa bath there were quite a few cracked tiles around the tap.

Bedroom had one single and a double in it which was perfect. Couch wasn't exactly comfortable but after a long day of driving we didn't really care

Enough room for the toddler to run around, and grounds for walking him around as well.

Very quiet rooms, limited free wifi

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberbob2097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thanks for letting us know about the knife, I have just replaced it.
Regarding the broken chair leg, we always appreciate those who tell us about breakages. While we do replace/repair a lot, the emphasis is on cleaning so some get missed.
It's always disappointing to find breakages or have items stolen and, as you have discovered, unfair to other guests.
Unreported breakages and thefts not only inconvenience us but, as you have discovered,sometimes the next guest too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We loved The Peaks Motel, and as a couple, we recommend it highly as a base to explore the area.
Host Jenny was on hand to give us a very warm welcome and receptIon, and plenty of useful tips for restaurants, shops, local walks and drives.
Room very spacious and clean with comprehensive facilities, including useful cooking equipment. Beds very comfortable, giving a good night's sleep.
Patio doors opened easily, on to a spacious grassy area. The only problem for us was that, being on the ground floor we were advised to keep windows closed securely at night. Good for security, but not so good news for us who normally enjoy fresh air from open windows at night. The room became very stuffy, and the air-con did help. This was our only problem in otherwise excellent accommodation, and most people might well be happy with closed windows anyway.
The following morning, after a short walk along the delightful river over the road, we drove up the nearby ski road towards Mt Rupehu, to above the tree line. Stunning views and well worth the 20 minutes or so getting there.
All in all, The Peaks is brilliant. Everything you could want included in the reasonable price, and especially the warm hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyke_in_Exile_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thanks for writing such a comprehensive review: I couldn't have done better myself!
Just a note on the windows being closed at night: we're wondering if you are thinking of another motel? We have never told guests to keep windows closed at night as we have never had any security problems and don't feel it is necessary here, ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were en route so only stayed one night. The room was spacious, well equipped and a pleasure to stay in. The hosts were helpful and the stroll along the river is beautiful. The town and views are very pleasant and the we enjoyed a quiet and relaxed visit. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Yes Ohakune is becoming better known as a good place to stop off en route,being halfway between Auckland and Wellington.
Having said that we also often hear tourists say " IF only we had known more about Ohakune we would have allowed longer in our trip to stay here...."
Glad you could make it and thanks very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Extremely helpful hosts who posted off our forgotten hard drive to us straight away.
The space is comfortable clean and well equipped.
There is laundry on site and internet access.
Beautiful walk along the river opposite motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilburnhealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
And thanks to you also, for such a prompt review.
I trust the modem got to you before you left the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.6 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
16.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
16.5 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peaks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peaks Motor Inn

Property: The Peaks Motor Inn
Address: 128 Mangawhero Terrace | Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaks Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peaks is the perfect base for visiting Mt Ruapehu summer or winter, with a great location on the main road to Turoa ski area, halfway between town and the Junction. The property features 23 Studio & 1-Bedroom Units, 2 Outdoor Spa Pools Sauna, Gym, Guest Laundry and a Drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Peaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing