We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limitations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This is some way from what most people would think of as a boutique hotel; much more a cross between a motel and a B & B. Rooms comfortable and well-apportioned. Food really not very good, eat in village (though note limited opportunities and need to book best place). Packages offered not well-organised.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brancacci186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

The 1st time we stayed here was on a special offer accommodation/Tongariro Crossing. We'd had a couple of bad experiences doing specials like that in the past but this was nothing like the others. We weren't treated any differently for having gotten a special rate. Chris the owner remembered us on our return and he and his wife made our family who were visiting from abroad most welcome. The living area is just so cozy and we will definitely return for a winter visit just to have a beer in front of the open fire. The rooms are clean and tidy and well kitted if you are not self-catering. It's not too far a walk from town and a dip in the spa is a must.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samwisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had a lovely time here. Very warm, comfy and clean.- We also took fully advantage of the spa and sauna. The hosts (and there beautiful dog) are very friendly and welcoming. Also the breakfast (particually the pancakes) and pizza were fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ztoombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel was warm and friendly and very convenient for a skiing weekend. The hosts were great and the breakfast excellent. The units are large enough to comfortably fit a family of 4.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawkesBayDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

If you plan to go on the Tongariro Crossing, the packages this Hotel offers are an excellent choice. The place is located in a quiet street a bit off the highway. It is a 2-minute drive away from the centre of Ohakune, but gives a pleasant impression of privacy and seclusion. The owners (and their puppy) are pleasant and helpful. Our room had two levels, and I guess that is the case with most rooms here, with tea facilities, fridge, and bathroom on the first floor, and the bed and TV on the second. The room was very cosy, and nice. The only possible issue I can point out is an old bathroom, but it worked just fine and fulfilled its functions properly (what more can you want from a bathroom?).
In Ohakune a SPA is a physical necessity as it helps relieve sore muscles and this Hotel offers one along with a sauna. The common room is pleasantly decorated and cosy. And the food the hosts make is outstanding. The breakfast helps you gather the strength for a day of walking/skiing and is pleasant in all respects. The dinner is exquisite and offers a number of original dishes created by the hosts.
To cut a long story short, the stay was enjoyable, the Crossing package exceptional for its value, and the place nice and cosy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OxanaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We did a Tongoriro crossing package and it was brilliant. The breakfasts were huge and delicious, the dinner was lovely, and the overall stay was comfortable. The hosts went out of their way and gave us loads of tips. Is it 5 star, no, but it is perfect for what we were after and we felt it was excellent value. Didn't hear any road noise - there was some noise from the rooms next door but not enough to keep us awake. Would recommend and we will go back! Thanks again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelforages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This place was ok, but the way they market themselves - even the name - give the impression it's far better than it is.

They need to upgrade this place urgently - it's very dated.

Also, in summer the lack of air flow which would be a blessing in mid-winter is a curse - we basically didn't sleep a wink due to the excessive heat upstairs.

The upsides: was clean and owner was helpful and relatively chatty.

Having said that, we wouldn't stay here again unless it was renovated...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OutdoorFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
16.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,732 reviews
1.4 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
17 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.8 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
204 reviews
17.3 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel

Address: 3 Karo Street, Ohakune, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range: £63 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing