We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot close to the village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great spot close to the village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel room was a spacious and comfortable 2 floor loft, very clean but has very thin walls, could here the guests next door talking and having a shower. Chris the owner was quite helpful and friendly. Just a 5-10 minute walk to the 'big carrot' and downtown for a few good restaurants and pubs. We had a beautiful view out our window of Mt Rupehedu.
Would definitely stay here again but for longer so that the Tongariro Alpine Crossing could be tramped.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie499270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Many thanks for nice comment. Great having you stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    30
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed on a grabone deal and had a wonderful time. Chris was a great host and the food was excellent. We had some bad weather but were kept totally informed the whole time. For vaue for money we have not had a better break. If you get a chance to go there then we would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Many thanks for your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corry, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Bought the GrabOne - Had to pay extra $70 because single room not available.
Pros- clean, helpful hosts, good meals provided, nice place for meeting fellow trampers.
Cons- 40 minute ride to crossing. Not good sound proofing between rooms, extra $5 for internet (good speed, VOIP capable).
NEXT time I will drive from Taupo (almost 2 hours) or find a closer place to stay on a day the weather will be nice for the crossing and just use a transfer bus( adventurehq, or other) for $30-$45.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaMJ6643EE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Many thanks for your review. Your comments are take on board regarding the sound proofing. Due to the age of the building it is one of the issue that we will address down the track in own ongoing upgrading of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
179 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I got a grab one deal for 2 nights, shuttle to the Togariro crossing, breakfasts, lunch for the crossing, and a chicken dinner. I upgraded this deal to have the Queen executive room for a bit more. The deal was superb and I can't imagine that the hotel is making much money on this deal. The location is good. On the main road into town and only a short walk to Ohakune. Chris has done a really good job of renovating and the lobby is cosy. The big fire in wineter must be lovely. The rooms are very clean. The bed was ok. The biggest problem is that the windows are not double glazed and so the noise from the road traffic outside is quite loud, especially since we had to leave the windows open to cool the room down. Chris adivsed that this is next on the list to do and when that is done and the furniture upgraded a bit then this will be an excellent spot. The cooked brekky was really nice..came with barrista coffee! The sandwhich was really good., The chicken dinner pretty average but really good value given what we paid for the deal. The hot tub was not very inviting. It is in a closed room and so it can be quite hot and steamy. It's an older tob without much in the way of jets. What makes this place great is the enthusiasm that Chris has. We could not walk Tongariro, a consequence of high winds, and so Chris drove us to the start of the Old Coah trail. This was great and we were very pleased with this alternative plan. WE stayed another few days in the NAtional PArk and waited out the weather so that we could eventually walk Tongariro crossing. I would not return to this p[lace until the double glazing is completed and the beds are upgraded. But for the price, it was a good deal with great hosts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Many thanks for your comments that we shell take onboard as we move forward in the upgrading in the years to come. Great to hear you enjoyed the Old Coach Road walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here on a Grab One voucher as well and enjoyed our stay and the hospitality. The rooms are mezzanine with the bed up top. They do a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning, and we did eat here one night as part of the deal and the food again was very nice.
Chris the host is very friendly and happy to dispense his local knowledge to help you make the most of your visit to Ohakune.
Unfortunately for us also, the weather did not play ball and we were unable to do the Tongariro Crossing, but we did manage to do the Old Coach Road cycle trail which was great. We would stay here again if we tried the crossing another time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosha_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Many thanks for your reviews. Great to have you stay with us and do the crossing. Look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We also had the GrabOne voucher for the Tongariro Crossing but unfortunately did not get to do the crossing due to terrible weather. The owners are very friendly and know plenty about the area and hotel facilities were great too.

The room was great - while it is slightly older, it is also spotless and has everything you need. The food was tasty and as vegetarians we were well catered for.

We will definitely consider returning when we do the Tongariro again or when we next go skiing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We did the Tongariro alpine crossing & grabbed an awesome deal on GrabOne.

The room was cosy, the service was good & the onthehouse dinner, lunch & breaki too just hit the spot. The facilities were great, & i felt comfortable the whole stay.

Good job team:)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
1.4 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
17.0 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
1.3 mi away
Station Lodge
Station Lodge
#3 of 21 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel

Property: Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Address: 3 Karo Street, Ohakune, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing