We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great deal!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Pros: Lovely hosts, good food, cosy lounge and dining area. Comfy bed and clean bathroom.

Cons: Broken window (glass) downstairs, décor

Enjoyed our stay here overall, but our room was a bit tired.
It was an awesome grabone deal though, so well worth the amount paid.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loopylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Many thanks for your review.
Look forward to having you stay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    30
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A wonderful motel run by the an amazing and friendly couple who where so welcoming and knowledgeable . Very cozy clean and comfortable . The meals where also well presented and delicious more than what I had expected since our stay was a Garb One package deal at a budget price but of exceptional quality and high standard .The spa was heaven after our trek on the Tongariro Crossing and the comfortable lounge area with a bar made it a perfect place to relax before dinner and afterwards to sit around and enjoy the evening with the other guests .Overall its excellent and would find it hard to believe anyone finding fault with the establishment .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Codiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A lovely motel owned / operated by friendly , helpful and knowledgeable proprietors . Accommodation as part of Grabone " Tongariro Crossing " was clean , comfortable and noise free . Having access to the spa after the crossing was a real bonus. Great choice for breakfast as part of the package

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samjayAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Like many others we stayed here using a grab one voucher to do the Tongariro crossing. Like the other comments I would agree that this place is clean and comfortable and overall a very friendly and well-run place to stay. I would recommend staying here as we did to do the crossing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We used a grab one voucher with a room upgrade which was worthwhile getting. Our rooms were spacious and clean but could do with an upgrade and some sound proofing. There is a busy road outside so a pair of ear plugs are useful but was feeling pretty tied after the walk and so traffic noise wasn't too annoying.
Chris was a cheerful, informative host. The meals - especially breakfast - were excellent and the sandwich made for the walk was very tasty. My husband enjoyed the spa and we liked the atmosphere of mixing with other walkers. It was excellent value for money andI would recommend a stay here if you do the crossing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here using a grab one voucher It was certainly great value The rooms were quiet and roomy although the decor was a bit tired The breakfast s were excellent with hot and cold choices Would recommend the pancakes . The managers were very friendly and helpful and we had a great weekend .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rosemary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel room was a spacious and comfortable 2 floor loft, very clean but has very thin walls, could here the guests next door talking and having a shower. Chris the owner was quite helpful and friendly. Just a 5-10 minute walk to the 'big carrot' and downtown for a few good restaurants and pubs. We had a beautiful view out our window of Mt Rupehedu.
Would definitely stay here again but for longer so that the Tongariro Alpine Crossing could be tramped.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie499270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Many thanks for nice comment. Great having you stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
1.4 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
17.0 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
1.3 mi away
Station Lodge
Station Lodge
#3 of 21 in Ohakune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel

Property: Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Address: 3 Karo Street, Ohakune, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing