We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My son and I stay here every time we're in Ohakune. Scott and Dara are great hosts. They provide a friendly personal service that we keeps us going back. I love getting back to the unit after a full days skiing, have a soak in the spa pool then chill out with my son.

Room Tip: We now pay a bit extra and stay in the units, the backpacker rooms are great value for backpackers b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked the Family Unit as we had 3 adults, a teenager, and as toddler. Bedding was fine with a queen below and 6 bunks upstairs - however the stairs to go up were very steep and there was no way to block out the noise from downstairs, so not really ideal if you want to put the kids to bed and then stay up and watch tv etc. Also the laundry adjoined the unit and there was a lot of noise from the machines.
A bit pricey for 1 night, but it was ski season and it was certainly very handily located to the Turoa skifield (not so good for Whakapapa though).
Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with a drain and he was there immediately to fix it.

Room Tip: Unit 7 has the laundry attached which was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here on weekend of 26/07/14. we rented 4 bunk-bed backpacker. Size of the room is reasonable. but wat can u ask for $34/night/person. Linen was slightly dirty but cant complain after all the rates are cheap and being a backpacker you cant expect 5 star service. But Dara was really amazing. She guided us on different activities to do. Thanks once again. Definitely gonna come back.

Room Tip: carry extra bedsheet if you are clean freak and extra blanket as it gets toooo cold. Also carry an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Velvon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

THe Alpine Motel was a great place for our23golf ladies to stay.Scott and Dara gave us a very good deal and were very good to us.Good clean warm units and beds and central ,quiet location.Would recommend a stay here .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked Alpine Motel via a Grab One deal and it came with a mountain bike adventure. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room. They are relatively recently refurbished and well appointed. Kitchen, bathroom and two beds. Team were friendly and helpful and breakfast was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our lodgings were clean and modern. Located conveniently in Ohakune, 2 minutes away from the supermarket, several fantastic restaurants and the petrol station. The staff are friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. We enjoyed our stay at the Alpine Motel in Ohakune and we hope to be back in future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yunnycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a fantastic stay in this very quiet, very clean motel. The hosts are very helpful and friendly, looking forward to our next holiday in Ohakune.
PS The Thai Restaurant "Lemongrass" located directly in the Motel is absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ohakune hotels
65.1 mi away
LKNZ Lodge
LKNZ Lodge
#5 of 22 in Ohakune
120 reviews
65.8 mi away
Station Lodge
Station Lodge
#3 of 22 in Ohakune
190 reviews
65.8 mi away
Rimu Park Lodge
Rimu Park Lodge
#17 of 22 in Ohakune
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
65.9 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
65.5 mi away
The Peaks Motor Inn
The Peaks Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Ohakune
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune

Address: 7 Miro Street, Ohakune, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range: £26 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Motel, Lodge & Sassi's Restaurant is located right in the heart of Ohakune township only a minutes stroll to bars, cafes, shops, banks, supermarket, picture theatre and the information centre....We have a wide range of accommodation to suit everyone,5 studio units / 1 one bedroomed unit / 3 chalets that sleep upto 10 persons / a four bedroomed Town house that sleeps upto 14 persons, and a backpackers lodge made up of 2, 3 and 4 berth rooms.Our units are modern, warm and comfortable with good heating, electric blankets, Sky satellite TV, telephone, Wireless internet, and most have kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing