We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, Great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hobbit Motorlodge
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big rooms, Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for one night during our travels after a long walk that day across the mountains. We were greeted by a member of staff who was very friendly and welcoming. She provided us good advice as to where to eat in the town.

The place has a communal spa bath on the premises, however we never got the time to go in it unfortunately. The rooms were very spacious, clean and had comfortable beds.

Ohakune was a nice little town with some nice little places to eat. We would definitely stay at the Hobbit motorlodge again if we came back here again.

Room Tip: From what I saw, most rooms are similar. You have a parking space right outside your door and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    22
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
25
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here for a running event in Ohakune, in a studio. nice and clean, no frills and was everything that it was advertised as. Friendly owner and felt we got value for money.
There is a spa bath too but you need to book it on a form outside reception.
A bit out out of main town but not far from the Powderhorn pub/hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and well presented.

Great service from the hosts, they stored our motorbikes overnight in their garage and even offered to pick us up in Ohakune if it was raining when we wanted to walk back.

A nice spot :-)

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Youngone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were in NZ for a week and had planned our trip to Ohakune to ski at Ruhapehu. As luck would have it, our one day of ski was cancelled with gale force winds on the mountai. However, our host directed us to loads of great places and attractions locally. She was also kind enough to offer us a few board games and cards for our night in the terrible weather. We cooked in the apartment such was large and airy - very ski lodge feel! There was a happy cat to pat on our way out the next day and all in all it was a lovely trip especially with the disappointment if no ski. Would go back again to try another few days of ski another time.

Room Tip: We chose the cheapest and it was still great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drazaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Well, my son was disappointed the doors weren't round and the 2 berth bunkroom was definitely 'Sam & Frodo' rather than 'Gandalf & Aragorn' -sized.

That said, we got exactly what we expected. Service was pleasant and unobtrusive, facilities were very clean and, courtesy of a vintage wall panel heater, warm. Shared facility bunkroom dorms can be noisy at times -not here. The internal block wall construction ensured each of the 2 or 4 berth rooms were well insulated for noise and warmth:) but also unfortunately from the wifi network :(. The in-room tv was viewable from the top bunk. The drying room for damp gear was really handy.

This was great value for money and suited a quick 3 days snowboarding stay for my son and I. The common areas are small, so I'm not sure I'd want to go with a big group unless we were planning on socialising at the nearby Powderhorn then just coming back to sleep. My 95kg frame probably took the cushioning rating of the foam mattress to its limit, so a drink or two before bed may have helped the sleep quality!

Location is great. I would definitely stay here again. If the value rating went beyond excellent, I'd give it more!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClicSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHobbitMotorlodge, Manager at The Hobbit Motorlodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay in our backpacker accommodation. The rooms are very cosy, the retro heaters aren't the latest models but they do work well. Since receiving your review we have addressed the poor Wi-Fi coverage in parts of the backpacker lodge by installing a booster, which we're happy to say has resolved the problem. We hope to see you again next year if not before, this region is beautiful in summer and worthy of exploration, with plenty of great walks and cycle tracks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were thrilled to be upgraded to a suite with a spa bath and full kitchen. The bathroom was gorgeous, immaculate and the water pressure was out of this world! Toiletries were provided. The recycling bin the room was a really nice touch. I had a great sleep in the comfy bed. The motor lodge is very close to the centre of Ohakune and the host gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner (Cypress Tree - lovely!). We had a warm and friendly greeting from the host, Leigh. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoll12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Upgraded to a superior spa room so had a luxurious spa bath and separate shower. Beautiful bathroom, separate bedroom, full kitchen, lounge and dining table. Great view of mountains. 2 extra beds in lounge area. All clean, spacious and comfortable.
Really lovely stay. Thank you very much for the upgrade :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29Jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.4 mi away
Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hobbit Motorlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hobbit Motorlodge

Property: The Hobbit Motorlodge
Address: 80 Goldfinch Street, Ohakune 4660, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hobbit Motorlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hobbit Motorlodge is nestled below the Turoa skifield of Mt Ruapehu. The site enjoys close proximity to the central business area whilst still offering a peaceful tree surrounded alpine escape. We offer premium rooms ranging from large spacious studios with kitchenette to two bedroom suites with full kitchen facilities. We also offer comfortable dormitory rooms for travellers in our lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Hobbit Motorlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobbit Motorlodge Ohakune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing