We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hobbit Motorlodge
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Horrible experience!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Shocking. After booking a 2 berth bunk-room in the morning we were told in the afternoon that we had actually booked a 4 berth bunk-room and we had to share it with other people! The lady at the hotel treated us in the most hostile way and said she had explained it was a 4 berth which was not true as she clearly said '2 singles'. She went on and said we were accusing her of being a lier and insulted my English skills by saying that this was a 'lost in translation' situation. The worst thing was when the manager or whoever he was came out of his office and literally said to the lady "give them the refund and make sure they get out of here as soon as they can".....as if we were rubbish??? Now I'm checking their website and can prove I was right. The price we paid is the price they have listed for the 2 berth bunk-room. They obviously made a mistake and/or tried to fill their empty beds and then blame us. I really hope this doesn't happen to other travellers. Simply unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Solicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHobbitMotorlodge, Manager at The Hobbit Motorlodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
These are the facts:
You arrived Saturday morning on the way to Turoa skifield. On arrival you were told that we only had a few beds available in a couple of rooms that already had people in them. I said I could sell you 2 single beds in a 4 bed bunkroom.
I offered to show you the room, you then went out to the car and returned to pay for the 2 beds saying you didn't need to see it.
The price is for individual beds. At no stage did I say you had a 2 berth bunkroom, nor that you had it to yourself. We could have sold those beds several times over during the course of the day which is normal for a busy weekend on the mountain. To reiterate you had already been advised that the bunkrooms were shared, at the beginning of our conversation, no mistake was made on our part.
On your return from the mountain your partner came to check in and again I said that you were in a shared room which was a surprise to him. As he wasn't present in the morning he got you from the car and you came into the office and immediately accused me of misleading you, saying I told you that you had a room to yourselves. The next morning I asked the guest who was present at the time if she recalled what was said, she quoted back that I offered 2 beds in a 4 bed bunkroom.
You were very aggressive in your approach, and you continued to challenge my integrity and honesty. You demanded a full refund which you were given, and yes, then told to leave the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    22
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
25
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A pleasant stay. I had an upstairs room. On a clear day you would have a great view of the mountain. Room comfortable and spacious. Brilliant water pressure in the shower! Handy to the centre of Ohakune. Host very helpful.

Room Tip: Upstairs was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights hoping to climb mt doom. The room is very clean and the bed very comfortable. Internet broke down and the host was very apologetic about it. I was able to cook a freaBecause the weather was really bad, the host very kindly suggested alternatives walks that I could do and these are good recommendations. There was a supermarket nearby and I was able to make my own dinners in the very well equipped kitchen.

Room Tip: I was given a studio which is spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiceGirlC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Our host was very friendly and was very kind to upgrade our room. There were three of us and our stay was extremely comfortable. Great cooking facilities and very comfortable beds. We woke up the next day feeling very well rested. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wreckoftheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Booked the motel for 2 nights appr. one week in advance and requested a quiet room.
No problem at check-in but when we returned after dinner appr. 20- 25 road workers had checked in and were all over the place. This also included their huge machines - we actually looked directly into 6 or 7 of them when we looked out of our window.
HOWEVER this was not the worst. The worst was that between 5.30 and 6.00 in the morning they left the motel - and this gave a lot of noise including that 3 of them blow the horn in their machine.
When we asked whether they would come back the second night the answer was no. When we told them that this has ruined our sleep we were told that they would claim to the company - with whom the motel apparantly had an agreement - since these workers seem to be more noisy than others.
HOWEVER this was of no help to us who felt disappointed that we have had no information up front even though we asked for "a quiet room".
Therefore we stongly recommend other travellers to include the contract with the road workers company in their considerations.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHobbitMotorlodge, Manager at The Hobbit Motorlodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
The group that you refer to comprised of 14 workers, and their vehicles were parked off-site on a neighbouring property. This group have been coming to this motel for over a decade, and apart from the presence of their vehicles and the noise from their early departure, they are quiet, respectful and well behaved.
We apologised to you for your interrupted sleep at the time, and passed on your comments to their supervisor.
We make every attempt to ensure that all guests stays are comfortable, we understand your second night was more peaceful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We only stayed overnight, but what a positive impression. On arrival, the owners could not have been more helpful or friendly. They immediately offered their advice on things to do, and how we could make the most of our stay. As for the room, it was great. It was light, airy and clean. If we had any quibble, it was a small and poorly positioned tv. However, we were later told that a big upgrade is in progress, so the minor quibble will disappear. If going back to Ohakune, we will have this as number one on the list.

Oh, and a good location that is in walking distance to the town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkMark1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at The Hobbit Motorlodge last night on our drive back from Auckland to Wellington. If you're dong that drive it's perfectly placed between the two cities.

I was initially a tad reluctant to book accommodation as we were only going to be there for such a short stay. Once I phoned Leigh though, I was really impressed with her care and her approach to customer service. She gave us great directions and short cuts. Requested that we called when we were a couple or hours away (Te Kuiti). We phoned ahead to say we would be late and Leigh stayed up for us to let us in. This level of service blew us away.

We got in at 10:40pm and left at 5:30am the next morning. We only wished we could have stayed longer. We fully intend to stay again and have already told friends and family to visit.

Thanks so much, Ric

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a car park outside just $119. To get value just stay longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicT85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHobbitMotorlodge, Manager at The Hobbit Motorlodge, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thanks very much Ric. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment so favourably on your brief time with us and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
0.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
16.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,564 reviews
16.5 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
0.4 mi away
Alpine Motel and Lodge Ohakune
0.5 mi away
LKNZ Lodge
LKNZ Lodge
#6 of 21 in Ohakune
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hobbit Motorlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hobbit Motorlodge

Property: The Hobbit Motorlodge
Address: 80 Goldfinch Street, Ohakune 4660, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hobbit Motorlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hobbit Motorlodge is nestled below the Turoa skifield of Mt Ruapehu. The site enjoys close proximity to the central business area whilst still offering a peaceful tree surrounded alpine escape. We offer premium rooms ranging from large spacious studios with kitchenette to two bedroom suites with full kitchen facilities. We also offer comfortable dormitory rooms for travellers in our lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hobbit Motorlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobbit Motorlodge Ohakune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing