We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a bed for the night”
Review of Four Seasons Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orewa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Four Seasons Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Thank goodness it was for one night. Room was shabby and wallpaper peeling as well as the paint. Very tired looking furniture and overall in poor condition. A bit overpriced for what was offered, and would definitely seek alternate accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have just arrived back from Orewa from one of the worst experiences I have EVER had.
Guy was pleasant enough on check in, eventually,went to use bathroom and there was long black hair all over bathroom floor. which was tiled. Totally gross, but just
wiped it up with loo roll and noticed after prepping some food in kitchen the rest of floor in unit also really unclean, hair and bits and pieces of stuff on the carpet everywhere.
Went to office to ask to borrow the vacuum, in no way made any complaint - and the Asian Basil of the motel world went off at me, growing more and more aggressive and hostile every minute saying "you make trouble, you make trouble, no other guest complain, you wrong'. Went back to the unit and I vacuumed entire place, as I was, he appeared at the door, gesturing and yelling at us, I told him he was in the wrong business and he was making a fool of himself, I had only asked to BORROW the vacuum, and was doing the cleaning myself, shouldn't have been a big deal. My partner had to stand in the doorway to stop him coming in to threaten me. He then said he would refund our money which was a surprise, but we took the option gladly. As we were driving off he stood there menacingly outside the unit glaring at us like we were some kind of low-life thieves. I tell you now, do not stay here, I thought the other reviews about this place were a bit OTT but I was wrong, they are rude, disgracefully behaved and aggressive, on top of that the place is where the 90s went to die, the room was filthy - I am not kidding - and it is in desperate need of new management who understand hospitality. You have been warned.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sonny J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We arrived in Orewa and began looking for a motel. It was the night before a car rally so the town was very busy. We managed to find a vacancy here after some searching. The room was quiet and the bed fairly comfortable but the furnishings were very downmarket and tired. For what was being offered it was expensive and not one of our best buys! Out of 20 or so stays we enjoyed in NZ this was well and truly in the bottom quartile.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any rooms that are better than the one we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David190343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Only place with a vacancy left for two of us on a Tuesday night. Price was fine, no complaints there. Room was OK with a few friendly bugs, could have done with an airing. Oddly enough, one of the two double beds had a notice asking that we didn't disturb it.
Friendly welcome and helpful advice from the owner on the phone. Less so when we arrived.
Must be better options in town.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AncientMariner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Like previous T A reporters stated, this place needs a clean-up. We booked this motel based on the web info but were surprised at the state of the room. Cobwebs, wall paper peeling of the wall etc. We could not find another place in town so we were stuck. The worst was that we booked two stays here, one coming from Waitomo and one night from Kaitaia. No other motels could be found. So, Motel owners...... Clean it up !!

Room Tip: I do not give many places such a rating, so look out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank René R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We put our wedding guests here by mistake, we thought we were booking another motel.
our guests were horrified. stained carpets, smelly rooms, dirty and old/run down.
1. The male owner walked into the rooms without knocking.
2. When they asked about laundry facilities he grabbed a ladies washing bag and looked through her dirty washing before she realised what was happening and in shock grabbed it back off him.
3. I booked 5 rooms, the owner took money out of our visa without notice a month prior to the stay. i called to question him, he yelled at me!! we did get it back but what a battle.
4. He told us our last arriving guest (who was flying in at 10.30) that if he didnt pick up his key at 10 he would be locked out and we would be charged the room, and no, we could NOT pick up the key for him!
5. He threatened to kick all of the guests out at 1.30am because they arrived back at the motel at an unreasonable hour (they were at a wedding!)
6. He prowled around keeping an eye on everyone.
7. Spa unit??? YUK!! an old bath in a smelly unit thats seen better days!
8. Couldnt speak very good english so conversing was very difficult

there is more but i think i have got my views across, i recommend you dont stay here.

Room Tip: Go to another motel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katipokatipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We were stuck for somewhere to stay after coming from Auckland as everywhere else was booked. I can't believe that it was $160 a room. I should have looked at it before paying. It was terrible. Wallpaper falling off the walls, hard beds that stank, traffic noise and the owner walking around at all hours above me. There were cobwebs everywhere. This place needs to be cleaned up.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonFunlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orewa hotels
0.3 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#6 of 8 in Orewa
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anchor Lodge Motel
Anchor Lodge Motel
#7 of 8 in Orewa
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
0.3 mi away
Orewa Motor Lodge
Orewa Motor Lodge
#4 of 8 in Orewa
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Motel

Address: 384 Hibiscus Coast Highway, Orewa, Auckland 0931, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Orewa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing