We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Ski and Surf - what more do you need?”
Review of Orewa Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Orewa Beachcomber
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“Best of Ski and Surf - what more do you need?”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is the closest motel to Snowplanet, only 10 minutes drive. It suited my needs perfectly. Very friendly hosts with a very warm welcome. Spacious unit, very clean and well appointed. Spa bath was an extra treat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    42
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
71
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

On our way south, Orewa seemed a good point to break our journey. However Motel owners in Orewa seem to have odd, expensive, views of what a room should cost midweek in the off season. Until we tried the Beachcomber that is. Very reasonable rates. We had a very comforable studio room which was clean and spacious. Possibly in need of an update but that shouldn't be a deterrant. Very helpful advice from Richard about where to eat in town, which is just 5 minutes walk away. Would recommend to anyone needing a place for a stopover.

Room Tip: The main road can be busy so a room away from the front might be preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_the_traveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

On our way up to the top of the north island and needed to stay enroute. What a great decision we made to stop at the Beachcomber. Location was great, just opposite the beach, withn easy walking distance of the shops. The unit was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Hosts were so friendly. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda and Ala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We loved Beachcomber hotel. Cannot speak highly enough of the fantastic service we received there. Richard was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. We were only going to stay one night, but stayed three. Rooms are quite dated but very roomy and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We turned up after dark seeking a motel for the night on our way south from the Bay of Islands and heading to the Bay of Plenty the next day. The room was actually a 1 bedroom apartment with cooking equipment, clean and comfortable and well maintained, even although it is an older style motel. Richard was very helpful and friendly and gave us directions to the nearest supermarket, which was in walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms at the eastern end would get the most traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ochlophobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Richard and Patrea were extremely friendly and helpful when booking the room and on arrival. The room we stayed in was huge, clean and comfortable with an amazing view and everything we needed. Great location, straight across the road from the beach and the Surf Club, short stroll to Orewa's many shops and eateries! Definately recommend and will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This is a great place to stay. Richard and Patrea make you feel like family. They gave us advise on what to see and where to stay. They even called and booked us into other hotels to make sure we had a place to stay on our travels. Great people. Great place to stay.

Gerry and Pat Smith
Canada.

Room Tip: This motel is just across the street from the most fantastic beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.9 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
173 reviews
12.0 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#5 of 8 in Orewa
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
13.9 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
121 reviews
15.9 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orewa Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orewa Beachcomber

Property: Orewa Beachcomber
Address: 246 Hibiscus Coast Highway, Orewa 0931, New Zealand (Formerly Beachcomber Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Orewa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orewa Beachcomber is only steps from the beach across the road from the Surf Club. Rooms are spacious and modern, each with self contained kitchenette, SKY TV on 32 inch flat screen TVs and free wi-fi. Choose from two bedroom units, perfect for families or travellers requiring more privacy, studio apartments or spa suites al. Sit outside and enjoy the sun all day in overlooking the tropical gardens and get ready to enjoy your new home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Orewa Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing