We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cleaning needs attention.”
Review of Orewa Beachcomber

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Orewa Beachcomber
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Certificate of Excellence
Gore, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, cleaning needs attention.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent a night in this motel in an upstairs room overlooking the beach. Lovely location and an easy walk to the shops. Very friendly host.
The room was tidy and there were cut flowers in a vase but some areas desperately need a good clean.
There is a huge spa bath with shower above, older people would struggle to get in and out as it's very high.
The window tracks were full of gunk and the Venetian blinds above the kitchen and in the bathroom were covered in specks of mould. The ceiling fan had a thick layer of dust on the blades, The bed had no mattress protector and was propped on wooden blocks as the base was cracked and base cover torn. The sliding door lock was quite sloppy and needs attention. An ok stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tapanuikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    42
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
70
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

By chance passing this motel, we fancied the look so enquired and they had a vacancy. Fortunately it was a ground floor apartment which enabled us to easily empty our hired campingcar. We needed to rearrange our luggage for our next day flight back to London. It was superb, double bedroom with loo and shower en suite. Large kitchen with a lounge dining room attached. Lovely decor and extremely comfortable. The young lady owner was delightful. We took a last walk along the opposite Orewa beach, delightful full of nostalgia for our first walk 63 days before on our first day in New Zealand what a welcoming area. Would go back here in a shot.

Room Tip: We usually asked to see a room before we book in. As we had walked past an open apartment towards th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nerissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Across the road from the beach, surf life saving club - great food there - handy location to the shops. Clean, tidy with a guest laundry. Would stay here again. Had a 1 bedroom unit with a kitchen and a nice big bathroom ( with heated towel rail)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank suzieq100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We spent our first night in New Zealand in this lovely motel. Everything was just as it should be the owner was very friendly and could not do enough for us. The beach was just across the road and the shops were within walking distance. It was a lovely welcome to New Zealand

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

As we were visiting family we stayed here all together 6 weeks. It felt like a home away from home. We had a unit with a separate bedroom and bathroom. The room is very tidy and clean.
Richard has been very helpful and provided a free newspaper every morning.
The location is perfect. The beautiful beach is just across the road.
The shops and restaurants in Orewa are in walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudjimba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Very friendly manager, Richard who gave us a lovely room with a view of the beach just across the road. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the bed was great.
Very clean and all utensils in working order. The bathroom had a large spa bath. Easy walk to village and bars and restaurants. Excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriJan4748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipu, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights while visiting the area, quite spacious 1 bedroom unit, with single divan in lounge,comfortable chairs to seat on (no lumpy bed settee).

Kitchen with 2 element cook top, clean utensils, and good selection of dishes, plenty of hot water.

Walking distance to shops and supermarket and right across the road from Orewa Surf club, great to view the beach and have a drink/ meal.

Certainly recommend Beachcomber and will stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twotwotango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.9 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
12.0 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
17.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
4.7 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orewa Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orewa Beachcomber

Property: Orewa Beachcomber
Address: 246 Hibiscus Coast Highway, Orewa 0931, New Zealand (Formerly Beachcomber Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Orewa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orewa Beachcomber is only steps from the beach across the road from the Surf Club. Rooms are spacious and modern, each with self contained kitchenette, SKY TV on 32 inch flat screen TVs and free wi-fi. Choose from two bedroom units, perfect for families or travellers requiring more privacy, studio apartments or spa suites al. Sit outside and enjoy the sun all day in overlooking the tropical gardens and get ready to enjoy your new home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Orewa Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing