We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
Review of Moontide Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orewa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moontide Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Orewa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had an overnight stop in Owera and stayed here - it was absolutely lovely. Neil was a very friendly and informative host and our room had a beautiful large bathroom and sun room. The bed was extremely comfortable. We also had use of the lounge where there were beautiful views over the Hauraki Golf. The drive to town was only a couple of minutes down the road, where there was a great selection of restaurants. We were very happy to have found Moontide Lodge, as other options in town offered far less value for money. Thank you so much for a great stay.

Cushla and Peter, Sydney

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cushie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moontide L, Manager at Moontide Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. You were a delight to host, such happy and energetic travellers, we wish you all the best, safe travels .... Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Could have been great. Late check in at 4pm lousy.Told on arrival "no drinking or eating in room". Rooms clean but deck off living space was dirty and mouldy. No fridge, no TV. Breakfast too basic. Orewa great but a few minutes drive away. Hosts helpful and pleasant. Tariff too high for what we got.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moontide L, Manager at Moontide Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2015

We tried our best to make your stay a happy one. We bent over backwards for you and your husband but sensed your demeanour from the moment you arrived. This is first we have heard about the list of disappointments you have. We wish you well in your future travels...... Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a lovely stay in this B&B. We had the room with the private balcony and a nice sun room just off the bedroom. The room was spacious and the views were lovely. The views are even better in the dining area and sitting room. Neil invited us to put any perishables into the refrigerator and provided lots of information about what there was to see and do in the area. He also took us over to Tiritiri island in his power boat which was a wonderful trip! I saw another reviewer mention the steep drive which we also had a bit of a time getting used to, but once we had the hang of the drive it was no problem. We would very much recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauitutu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moontide L, Manager at Moontide Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for such a positive review ! Great to meet such positive and energetic guests, it makes it all worthwhile, "happy and safe travels" ...... Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Thanks for a lovely stay. The room was spotless and views breathtaking. A great location from which to explore Orewa and surrounds. Our hosts were very helpful and personable. Highly recommended for an enjoyable high class stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The previous reviewers are spot on - this is a B& B like no other. For a European, as I am, used to small, often unremarkable accommodation, this property takes you to a whole new level of experience. With majestic views over Hatfields beach and across the bay to the Whangaparaoa peninsula from its exclusive clifftop position, the size and appointment of the bedrooms, lounge, dining room and extensive balcony area make you feel like you are in a private boutique hotel. The owners were entirely charming, helpful and informative in every way, who go the extra mile to ensure your stay matches your individual needs. This was a jewel in the crown of our NZ holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a great place to stay with immaculate and spacious rooms looking directly into the sunrise over a perfect beach. Your hosts are very helpful - the trip to Devonport and ferry to Auckland is well recommended - and the breakfast superb. Although there is no kettle in the room you are made welcome to use the kitchen for drinks at any time. The approach takes some getting used to with a slope sideways as well as upwards but Neil is willing to drive the car for you if you are hesitant. One of the most comfortable places we stayed.

Room Tip: Our room had a separate bathroom across a corridor but there was no problem whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keranwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moontide L, Manager at Moontide Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your great review, The Coromandel Room has a separate bathroom it is a exclusive private bathroom only for that rooms use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ask for the Coromandel room, the view is fantastic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeromem38330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.8 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
174 reviews
1.7 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
142 reviews
6 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
1.4 mi away
Orewa Motor Lodge
Orewa Motor Lodge
#4 of 8 in Orewa
55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchor Lodge Motel
Anchor Lodge Motel
#7 of 8 in Orewa
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moontide Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moontide Lodge

Address: 19 Ocean View Road, Hatfields Beach, Orewa, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Orewa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Orewa
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing