We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edgewater Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whangaparaoa Lodge(Whangaparaoa)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gulf Harbour Lodge(Whangaparaoa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Reviews (68)
    Filter reviews
    68 results
    Traveller rating
    12
    32
    10
    7
    7
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    12
    32
    10
    7
    7
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbeach frontthe water's edgebit datedshopping centrelawnstrolldesk
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    47 - 52 of 68 reviews
    Reviewed 14 January 2013

    Stayed 2 nights here. Check in/check out easy. Managers very friendly and helpful. I had been told when I booked that the property was old but clean, and this is exactly what it is. It reminded us of the beach baches we stayed in when we where kids. Location-- couldn't have been better,
    on the beach, easy walk to shops. Our unit was the closest to the road which may be a problem for some, but really the noise was totally acceptable. Next time however, I will book a unit on the beachfront.

    • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank sandra_j_leong
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 December 2012

    Stayed one night with kids, in family room. Right on the beach, couldnt get any closer, so much better to be on that side of the road when you have kids. Close walking distance to all the nice boutique shops of Orewa including a supermarket. Motel was very clean, all basic amenities including bath, microwave all the kitchen stuff. Very comfortable, no wifi thats ok, as we got sim card at airport and could access cheap internet on phone. Playground, gorgeous tree to climb (probably shouldnt!) a small patio with table and chairs. Old, but very clean and well maintained. Great manager too. Great price too!

    Room Tip: Also beachfront units available, right on the beach front.
    • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Anksie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 August 2012

    Don,t be fooled by lush looking reception area, from there it all goes downhill very quickly, a beach side unit from the 70's that is so badly maintained and basic that even a whole bottle of wine and a few beers could not detract from the awfulness of this place,the walls are so thin I could hear the next unit occupants "breathing"! , a TV set from the earlier days that had poor reception and no Olympic coverage, a heater from a garage sale that had a melted base, not to mention peeling wallpaper, corroded fittings in the shower and a brown stain with accompanying water mark above the bed.Literally everything is cheap and 3rd world.The toilet flushed eventually and the exit pipe was exposed.Covering up the the whole fracas was the best part a whole can of air spray disguising god no's what.
    Undrinkable tea.... It goes on....... For $150 dollars it is a joke and would not rate one star despite the amazing situation, the owners should be ashamed to present this in its current state, and I take into account the location to the beach.Couldnt
    get out of there quick enough.

    Stayed: August 2012
    2  Thank Allan M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 April 2012

    So very happy we stayed at this motel. It can be quite daunting when there are so many other motels/hotels vying for your custom. The female manager was so friendly and really made you feel welcome. That's a great feeling when you have spent a long day travelling and exploring with 2 young children. It is a fantastic location and was very reasonable priced. Yes this motel is a little 'shabby' around the edges, but it was very, very clean, well equipped and had that wonderful beach bach, homely feel. It was perfect for our needs. The unit we stayed in was one of the 'off the beach front'. Our unit was situated at the end, closer to the beach not the road, which worked great for us. The double bed was very comfortable and the other bed, which was a fold out couch, wasn't as comfortable but adequate. It is a short 5 minute walk into the town centre of Orewa and food selection is unlimited!! I can't really fault this motel, but do realise not everyone is able to look past a shabby décor, so that is the only fault I can find.

    • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank RareJem
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 March 2012

    Stayed here on March 21st and 22nd, 2012. Friendly hosts, clean room, awesome location. Hospitality was tops! Will stay here again next year.

    • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Tracey B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews