We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuis in the tree outside”
Review of Orewa Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orewa Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom unit which was well set out with two sliding door entrances in to the bedroom. It was a nice quiet seaside stay with the beach just across the road if you want to walk along the beach or swim. Then there was the added atmosphere of hearing birds (tuis) just outside our back door in the trees there. The small table and chairs right outside the front entrance were an invite to sit there and soak up the sun.....lovely. The Motor Lodge is just across the road from a Supermarket and all the shops at Orewa Beach so you can walk there easily. The owners were away during our stay there and another capable couple were taking care of the place during their absence. We would recommend this Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We arrived in Orewa ,choose the site by location to restaurants, etc, and asked to see the room.
Absolutely newly refurbished ,even the most comfortable new bed, and fully equipped kitchen.
In fact we remarked that it would be perfect for a longer stay as it was more that a motel room.
Phillip, the owner ,was very helpful , pointing out the location of the bank, bars, we "needed"
Great value for money, but more than that, very very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right as you enter look onto a garden with bar b q so you can leave curtains open So t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in a comfortable two-bedroom suite, and when the owner heard that we had one less child travelling with us than planned, he adjusted the price down, though we had been happy to pay full price.

Although the road is very close to the main street of Orewa, it was surprisingly quiet, and was of course close to the beach and shops. The only slight grumble we had was with the TV - words and pictures seemed slightly out of sync.

After a nice chat about the day when we left, the owners called us a few minutes later to say that the cleaners had found something we had left behind, so we were able to come back and pick it up. That's the sort of service that makes all the difference, thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jontyorewa, Owner at Orewa Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Very handy to town. Great just to park the car and to walk around from there. All kind of food outlets very close. The unity was very cosy and nice. The heater was more then enough for what our friends thought cold

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed one night in a nice, clean, well-equipped studio. The TV was wall mounted which made it impossible to watch from the sofa so had to be seen from the bed.
Location was wonderful, just opposite the beautiful beach and very close to the shops and restaurants. You don't notice the road as there is no noise. The patio garden was a nice touch.

The bathroom had the dreaded (seeming NZ standard) wall mounted shower head but was very clean.

We would stay again if visiting Orewa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angels1five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jontyorewa, Owner at Orewa Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you for your comments.
The tv is on a pull out swivel bracket, sorry you didn't find how this works.
We are in the process of changing all shower heads to wall slides.
We are please you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We just stayed the one night while catching up with family. Very clean accommodation and great location. So close to the beach, the shops and great restaurants. Only downside really was that there was four adults and one child, and the toilet had no handle or lock!!!! Also we were given just four towels. On the plus side though, it was very quiet and the beds comfortable and warm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50plusInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Hi Phill

Orewa Motor lodge sets the benchmark on all aspects, excellent accommodation, cleanliness,
accessibility to shops, restaurants and beach. and to all points of the compass. Phill and Karene give their all to their guests, great folk. So good my wife and I stayed three nights. If you play golf talk to Phill, has even spare set of clubs. Thanks again Phill and Karene you made our stay most enjoyable.
Gil and Pauline Ben-Ari UK

Room Tip: Nothing to choose from, they are all First Class :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpitfireBigginHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.6 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#6 of 8 in Orewa
65 reviews
14.3 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
0.3 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchor Lodge Motel
Anchor Lodge Motel
#7 of 8 in Orewa
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orewa Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orewa Motor Lodge

Address: 290 Hibiscus Coast Highway | Orewa Beach, Orewa, Auckland 0931, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Orewa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Price Range: £96 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orewa Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Orewa Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orewa Hotel Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing