We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would have been 4 star if was hot water”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Orewa Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orewa Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would have been 4 star if was hot water”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Good location right next to Orewa town centre.
Our two bedroom unit was tidy and contained everything expected in terms of furnishings.
Big negative was that there was no hot water from the shower or taps. Temperature would not go above lukewarm, making for uncomfortable showers. Did not warm up at all by the time we left in the morning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank 737brycer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jontyorewa, General Manager at Orewa Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
We find the hot water issue a little strange as this suite has been full all of March and no one has raised this with us. All of our units have individual hot water systems so very unlikely to happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    21
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wellington, nz
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

stayed here for two nights just been to attend a wedding. from first contact with the owner it was great. big clean tidy rooms, good shower pressure, sky tv, suprisingy good coffee and friendly owners. will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We (3 adults + 10 & 7 yr old kids) stayed here for 1 night and 2 bedroom unit was a good size. Location was great - easy to find; kids swam in sea over road; supermarket and fish & chip shop were within walking distance. Only negatives - we were disappointed spa is only available at weekends even though motel was full mid week and free wifi lasted about 15 mins and then we had to pay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyofnapiernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were looking for some self contained accommodation in Orewa at a reasonable price, and found it at Orewa Motor Lodge. It is very centrally located with only a very short walk to the beach, cafes and all other shops. Facilities are clean and tidy and the units are comfortable. Orewa is a great location especially for families, and Orewa Motor Lodge provides great value for families.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom unit which was well set out with two sliding door entrances in to the bedroom. It was a nice quiet seaside stay with the beach just across the road if you want to walk along the beach or swim. Then there was the added atmosphere of hearing birds (tuis) just outside our back door in the trees there. The small table and chairs right outside the front entrance were an invite to sit there and soak up the sun.....lovely. The Motor Lodge is just across the road from a Supermarket and all the shops at Orewa Beach so you can walk there easily. The owners were away during our stay there and another capable couple were taking care of the place during their absence. We would recommend this Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We arrived in Orewa ,choose the site by location to restaurants, etc, and asked to see the room.
Absolutely newly refurbished ,even the most comfortable new bed, and fully equipped kitchen.
In fact we remarked that it would be perfect for a longer stay as it was more that a motel room.
Phillip, the owner ,was very helpful , pointing out the location of the bank, bars, we "needed"
Great value for money, but more than that, very very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right as you enter look onto a garden with bar b q so you can leave curtains open So t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in a comfortable two-bedroom suite, and when the owner heard that we had one less child travelling with us than planned, he adjusted the price down, though we had been happy to pay full price.

Although the road is very close to the main street of Orewa, it was surprisingly quiet, and was of course close to the beach and shops. The only slight grumble we had was with the TV - words and pictures seemed slightly out of sync.

After a nice chat about the day when we left, the owners called us a few minutes later to say that the cleaners had found something we had left behind, so we were able to come back and pick it up. That's the sort of service that makes all the difference, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jontyorewa, Owner at Orewa Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.6 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
11.7 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
13.3 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Albany Oak Motel
Albany Oak Motel
#1 of 3 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.9 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orewa Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orewa Motor Lodge

Property: Orewa Motor Lodge
Address: 290 Hibiscus Coast Highway | Orewa Beach, Orewa 0931, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Orewa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orewa Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orewa Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orewa Hotel Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing