We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Compaints”
Review of Waves Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waves Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at 10 motels in NZ & this can be said of all of them: they are owner operated (not chains), spotlessly clean, contain refrigerator, microwave, TV, blow dryer, plenty of hot water & the beds are comfortable, but the rooms are on the small side. Expect to pay 30% more for comparable food & lodging than in the U.S.
The owner warned us there were no decent places to eat in Orewa & boy was he right. We went to a pub with "anchor" in it's name & were served spoiled fish!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelPat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

This was a fantastic place to stay. We called in Sunday evening for a one night stay before heading to the Bay of Islands. When we were shown a room (studio) we knew it was where we wanted to stay. The room was in an immaculate condition, very clean, HUGE bathroom with a spa (and shower with pressure!). Only a short stroll to the shops and very close to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RAIDER29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stopped here on our way back from the top of the North Island and on our way to Rotorua. It's situated just back from a huge beach and around 10/15 minutes walk from the little town centre with the supermarkets/ shops/ restaurants.

We had a studio with a terrace (quite private although the main road did run on the other side of the fence), a bedroom and the large bathroom with a whirlpool bath (very popular in NZ - bit of a timewarp thing!). The room was very comfortable although it did feel a bit dated - can't quite put my finger on why.

However, we slept very well here, ate a a nive little Mexican restaurant in town and walked along the beach, enjoying the sun and the breeze. This is a great little place to stay as you traverse the North Island and the staff were welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Thank you Trip Advisor for pointing us in this direction. Excellent accomodation for last night in NZ prior to flying out of Auckland. Took less than 1 hour to airport. Very high quality furniture and bathroom/ kitchenette equipment. Very comfy bed. We stayed in studio spa room. Were able to look at all our photos on the very new flat screen panasonic TV. Bonus checkout time of 11am enabled us to breakfast and then walk the length of the beach before check out.

Room Tip: Great choice for night prior to Auckland departure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynchmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Stayed one night on route to the Bay of Islands. Lovely place, high quality funishings and a spacious terrace. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fazgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I arrived at the motel at 10pm and all lights were turned out in reception and I was greeted by the motel manager with a "you're very lucky to be staying here tonight, don't you know that all motel shut at 9:30pm!!" If it wasn't for the fact that it was late and there were no other hotels in the area with vacancy I would have taken my business elsewhere!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheWebCeleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We stayed in this Motel on two separate occasions during Jan 2011. The accommodation was very modern, clean and well maintained, with the owners very welcoming . The location of the Motel is right next to the fabulous beach, with the shops and restaurants just a short walk. Inside the Room you have all you need, big bedroom and bathroom, Kitchen, Microwave, Fridge, and hob. I would recommend this motel to anyone staying in Orewa.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coyote69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#6 of 8 in Orewa
66 reviews
6 mi away
Gulf Harbour Lodge
Gulf Harbour Lodge
#2 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
61 reviews
12.7 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
0.9 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
145 reviews
5.5 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Motel

Address: Cnr Hibiscus Coast Highway and Kohu Street, Orewa, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Orewa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Price Range: £78 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waves Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Hotel Orewa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing