We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waves Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Whangaparaoa Lodge(Whangaparaoa)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gulf Harbour Lodge(Whangaparaoa)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Albany Oak Motel(Albany)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snells Beach Motel(Snells Beach)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
83
67
20
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
67
20
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathone nightbedroom suiteshort walkbeautiful beachsky tvoff street parkingcooked breakfastgreat sleepnicely furnished and comfortablebeach accessking sizecorner roomfree wifia stones throwground floorfew steps
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This a great motel with a capital G...great location... a few steps from the beautiful beach at Orewa..great rooms with every need catered for, very comfy beds, big baths, very well equiped Kichenette.... plus complimentary chocolate cookies each day !! the little touch that make you remember !!...very helpful owners...the place to stay in Orewa.

Room Tip: We had the room 19...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Spouse and self stayed here for two nights while attending a conference in Orewa. As we live in Auckland we could have chosen any motel in Orewa by driving to view. We didn't, we booked at Waves because it was the #1 motel on TA and, we believe, should be so.

We found the ground floor studio very clean and most certainly more than adequate for our two nights. Cooked b/fast was delivered promptly at the requested time following our first night and was excellent. Bathroom with its large shower, was really good as were towels. The unit was disappointingly small to the degree that watching the large-screen wall-mounted TV could have been a problem as one would be unable to be seated far enough away - unless one was in or on the bed. Being at a conference left no opportunity to watch TV see we have no first-hand experience at short-distance-viewing here.

When traveling we tend to be almost self-sufficient for continental breakfasts but here we had one simple gripe for our second morning stay. There are no b&b plates in the kitchen inventory which means toast buttered, and marmy spread, on tissues. Saucers? - there are only two.
Dinner plates? - they are huge, though no doubt extremely serviceable but not on the small dresser-top. This is not a complaint and not at all adverse, merely an observation which management may wish to pick up on.

Our thanks to the proprietors for having us at their place. Overall we enjoyed our brief stay and would happily stay again though would choose a larger unit.

Room Tip: Book an upstairs unit if you are able.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great place to stay, nice walk along the beachfront to the township, or less than a 100m to the beach at North end of Orewa. Even though our room fronted the main road we heard no road noise. Traffic has decreased since the new road north through the tunnel was built. Owners very friendly, room very clean and well laid out. Excellent bathroom.

We used as a base for a trip to Tiritiri matangi, and will be happy to stay again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Any seemed good
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamahereKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Booked this at short notice for only one night and wished we had booked for longer.

The rooms were excellent, clean tidy and well looked after. The bathrooms were modern and large with a shower that worked properly.
We had a deal that included breakfast and this was cooked to order and delivered to you room at the agreed time with a smile.
I would thoughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gelly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here for a hot rod event this weekend. The motel was really close to the beach. Very friendly staff and very accomodating. The room was perfect, a great size and very clean. I would highly recommend staying at this motel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxy1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews