We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, clean, modern and bright”
Review of Waves Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waves Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had unit 6 for one night. It was perfect. Close to the beach and walking distance to the centre of town. Good, free, internet speed and free parking and very clean, modern and bright
Would stay again and recommend. Nice people too!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed there on one night stopover on way to Auckland.
Booked garden view room but were given room overlooking car park. Motel full
so not able to move and as only for one night we put up with it.
Room functional with small kitchen area and just enough crockery etc, microwave, fridge. Air conditioning unit in lounge only.
1 Bedroom which we found small, no window and no air conditioning, so had to leave
door open to get air flow. We were offered a fan when we mentioned it to reception.
The bedroom had a sliding window to the bathroom which we thought very odd, but were told was to give some air flow but would not give much privacy especially if there were more than 2 of us using the room. (it is meant for up to four with sofa bed). The motel has a flat roof and we were woken in the night by heavy rain which thundered on the roof above.
Bathroom good size with spa bath and shower over. Complimentary toiletries.
In all not bad for a night but we wouldn't have wanted to sleep in that bedroom for longer.
No guest information on places to eat etc. which would have been helpful.
Staff pleasant on checking in, but we were not show to our room, just told where it was, and as it was upstairs we had to carry our own suitcases up. Would have been nice to be given some assistance and personally shown to our room.
Good location near the beach.
Suitable for a night or two but would not have liked to stay in this particular room any longer.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms can have sleep disturbance if it rains heavily due to the flat (metal?) roof. Bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Extremely clean and well equipped unit, had every thing we needed the welcome pack was appreciated. Free wi fi , sky TV and Hi Fi enjoyed the spa bath. The Waves hotel was perfect for needs near to the beach and the village. A real gem .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKgatrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had a lovely 2bdm apartment, fantastic spa bath, 1 min walk to the lovely beach- great sand, good for beach soccer. The outside shower at the motel was great for getting rid of all our sand. Small kitchen area that had everything we needed. Reception very pleasant and helpful. Not far to walk to main shops and cafes. I stayed with my 2 sons and we had a lovely break

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was lucky to spend a night here, wonderful place, excellent customer service, friendly and helpful & nice people. Loved the place. Free Wifi was great, bed and whole unit was spotlessly clean. Welcome pack was indepth and helpful. Very quiet and peaceful.The beach was a very short stroll up the road.Would recommend Waves to my friends & family and hope to stay there again if I am ever back in Orewa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I often stay in Orewa and , last summer, decided to try Waves. I thought it very good. Unfortunately, I did not realise that we had the benefit then of two interconnecting suites on that occasion.

On this occasion, we stayed in the standard two bedroom apartment and it was small. Very small. The kitchen/living/ dining room area was tiny with sofa or easy chair seating for only 3 people. The TV was on a mount sticking out from the wall at waist height beside a window. The DVD player was sitting on the floor . There was one small occasional table but nowhere else to write or rest a laptop.

The kitchen was sparse - no dishwasher or oven but there was a dual hob and a microwave. The fridge was Lilliputian and flimsy. The door compartment was the only space large enough for a bottle of bubbly but this broke each time the door opened, sending the shelf (just a piece of wire really) and bottle to the floor.

There were only 3 glasses provided (for 4 people) but the manager did give us more when asked.

There was a small balcony overlooking a service area. The two outdoor chairs were too mouldy to use, clearly not having been cleaned for some months.

Neither bedroom had a wardrobe or chest of drawers. Or mirror.The twin room had a single drawer about 30 cm square. There was a small cupboard in the kitchen but this was not easily accessible from either bedroom. The upshot is that you have to live from your suitcase, although there are no luggage racks provided nor room to use them in any event.

The rooms were clean enough although the daily servicing often overlooked refreshing tea, coffee, toilet paper and the like. To be fair, the manager was happy to provide these things on request.

The location is excellent, just a short walk from the very beautiful Orewa Beach.

In summary, this feels like a property on the decline.Ok accommodation for a short stay or a couple travelling light. For 4 persons, it was overpriced and uncomfortable. I will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 284Blatter284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Not absolute beachfront as some reviews state but about 20meters to white sandy beach. Reception was very helpful when booking as I had my elderly mum with us and she had special needs. Rooms are well appointed with little courtyard areas. Orewa really lacks a decent restaurant! We were directed to the local Thai which was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#6 of 8 in Orewa
65 reviews
6 mi away
Gulf Harbour Lodge
Gulf Harbour Lodge
#2 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
61 reviews
12.7 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
142 reviews
5.5 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Motel

Address: Cnr Hibiscus Coast Highway and Kohu Street, Orewa, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Orewa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Price Range: £81 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waves Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Hotel Orewa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing