We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very comfortable homely accommodation with excellent hosts who are interested in ensuring your stay is as enjoyable as possible. Easy location to find and well situated for local restaurants and attractions. Continental breakfast is very adequate and delivered the evening before. We have stayed here on three occassions and will return when we are in the area.

Room Tip: There are different bedding arrangements so specify what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    41
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
50
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Fabulous accommodation. Very clean, modern, tidy and up to date
Hosts are very friendly and hospitable and go the extra mile
Location is easy to find and close to restaurants and other activities
Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MD2014957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

2nd time staying at the Bella Vista & still say offering a cooked breakfast option would be well received.
The rooms are spotlessly clean & very well appointed. Plenty of shelf space in the bathroom which a number of motels seem to lack. Considering the proximity to the main highway, the room was nice & quiet.
Always a warm & friendly welcome from Heather & no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This accommodation was clean and tidy. A welcoming greeting from the owners was good.
The room had cooking facilities which is handy.
The heater was on thankyou as it was a cold day in Ashburton

Would recommend to travellers and business people having to stop in Ashburton.

Room Tip: Check out the numbers of the units always ask for a up stairs unit where possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was amazed at how quiet my room was at this motel as it is on a very busy road. The double glazing is obviously very efficient. The welcome I received was lovely and the room had been warmed for me, which was much appreciated. My room was spotlessly clean, well appointed and very comfortable. In the morning there was a huge frost and the owner had actually gone out early and scrapped the ice off the windows of the guests' cars. I couldn't believe it and this just confirmed that I chose the right place to stay in Ashburton. I wouldn't even look anywhere else next time (fingers crossed the new owners keep up the high standard).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristchurchJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed with wife and 2 grandchildren. very pleasant Managers ( may be moving on ) Modern 2 separate rooms, needed the heater though. Short drive to everything. Fitted the beer in fridge o.k. and cooked the chips to have with the fresh crayfish we bought on the way. Thanks.

Room Tip: looked around town, looked the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank positive9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvash, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Bella Vista Ashburton. We are pleased that you had a good experience with us and that you found our rooms comfortable and our location convenient. We appreciate you recommending us to other travellers and we look forward to welcoming you back here sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Arlene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

When my family and I arrived for our new life in New Zealand we were lucky enough to be booked into the Bella Vista. We found the motel with ease and were shown to our rooms which were large, clean and extremely comfortable, a fantastic sight after a long flight! In total we stayed for 2 weeks. Evan, Heather and all the staff could not have been more helpful from providing local knowledge to giving the children toys and DVD's.
We made full use of all the facilities, laundry, internet etc. and everything was always immaculate and in full working order.
We personally feel that Evan and Heather went above and beyond with the service they provided, our new start in a new country could not have got off to a smoother start thanks to the Bella Vista and their staff.
We would recommend the Bella Vista to anyone staying in Ash Vegas...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank messy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvash, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Ashburton, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Bella Vista Ashburton. Our team were more than happy to accommodate and assist you for the first couple of weeks of your new life in NZ. We are pleased that you feel we helped to make the transition a memorable one. We know how useful it is to gain as much local information as possible when you move into a new area. We hope you are now well settled into NZ life and are enjoying your decision to move here. Thanks again for your kind review.
Regards,
Arlene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.1 mi away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
18.7 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taylors Motel
Taylors Motel
#1 of 7 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Ashburton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Ashburton

Property: Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
Address: 469 West Street, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Ashburton 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• New Ashburton Motel Opened January 2009• Double glazed for quietness & comfort• 18 Superior units-latest modern design• 1 hour to Christchurch Airport & Mt Hutt Ski Field• Convenient SH1 location - Trailer/boat parks• Broadband - Guest Computer - LCD TVs. Whatever your reason for visiting, Michelle and Paul Clyne look forward to hosting you in Ashburton, with the service you deserve. Allow yourself time to take advantage of all that Ashburton District has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Ashburton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing